Hornbacher's Reviews | Glassdoor

Hornbacher's Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Sam Duncan
8 Ratings
  1. "I loved working there but needed to quit for back surgery which was successful."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Fargo, ND
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hornbacher's part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Loved meeting and helping people.t

    Cons

    Being a little tougher on the ones goofing around.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Hornbacher's2019-04-28
  2. "Lovely"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Manager in Fargo, ND
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hornbacher's full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    I love working at Hornbacher’s. We are a team and everyone works together.

    Cons

    Only thing that sucks sometimes would be the rollover of new employees

    Advice to Management

    No advice

    Hornbacher's2018-12-24
  3. "Online Shopper"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online Shopper in Grand Forks, ND
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hornbacher's part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Very reliable group to work with

    Cons

    Almost need another part time shopper.

    Advice to Management

    Good work

    Hornbacher's2018-05-08
  4. "Upper Management Doesn't Care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista Trainer in Moorhead, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hornbacher's part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I love the general environment, and the managers seem to generally care about the employees, especially in my department.

    Cons

    Upper management does not care about their Caribous within their stores. Our department is an afterthought and it is difficult to get the hours we need to serve our customers. Expectations for our store have recently been raised and there is no pay to compensate for it.

    Advice to Management

    Give your stand alone Caribous the hours they need. Listen to your employees. If there are repairs that need to be done, get maintenance to complete them, not your baristas.

    Hornbacher's2018-03-26
  5. "Nice Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Hornbacher's part-time

      Pros

      Flexible scheduling, nice management, great atmosphere

      Cons

      Can get a little hectic sometimes

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing good work!

      Hornbacher's2018-02-06
    • "Great First Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Cashier in Fargo, ND
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Hornbacher's part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Higher than minimum wage, good coworkers, easy job

      Cons

      Supervisors over correct employees if they are having a bad day. Training is a joke with the rate of new hires and management have a very difficult time communicating.

      Advice to Management

      Only intervene when necessary. Don't write up employees just because you feel like it, and don't misconstrue what employees say so you can write them up.

      Hornbacher's2017-08-17
    • "Lead bakery merchandiser"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Lead Bakery Merchandiser in Fargo, ND
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Hornbacher's full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Worked with some really great people!

      Cons

      No appreciation, raises are insulting, reviews are several months late.

      Advice to Management

      Quit worring so much about the bottom line. Pay attention to your employees. Hire managers that actually know something about the department they are running!

      Hornbacher's2017-06-11
    • "Starting Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Hornbacher's

        Pros

        Decent pay, Flex hours, and Easy work

        Cons

        Poor supervisors, Boring work, andUnnecessary training

        Hornbacher's2017-03-02
      • "Meat cutter part time"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Meat Clerk in Fargo, ND
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at Hornbacher's

        Pros

        Some of employees were great to work with, friendly .

        Cons

        Dept. not kept clean, people dont know their job very well, just not a very good place to work. Pay not very good or getting raises. If you can work else ware I would think about it.

        Advice to Management

        Think about not hiring sub standard asst. store Mgr and dept mgrs for stores . So that they might know more about how to keep good employees then run them off.

        Hornbacher's2016-12-19
      • "Practice what you preach"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Hornbacher's

        Pros

        Product discounts on store brand items Somewhat flexible schedule

        Cons

        Poor management- Do not spend much time with employees or listening to comments No possibility of advancement Extremely understaffed/ Stress level for pay is horrible Poor pay. On average, male employees make $1.00 more per hour than female employees.

        Advice to Management

        Listen to your employees, and follow their advice. They are the ones on the floor listening to the customers on a daily basis

        Hornbacher's2016-12-12
      Found 33 reviews