KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Hortonworks

Part of Cloudera
Is this your company?

Hortonworks

Add a Review

Hortonworks Reviews

Updated Dec 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 287 of over 301 reviews

3.8
68%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Hortonworks CEO Rob Bearden
Rob Bearden
176 Ratings
Pros
  • "One of the best open source companies to work with(in 42 reviews)

  • "Plenty of opportunity to enhance/pick up skills in big data(in 24 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "work life balance and maneuverability(in 16 reviews)

  • "Some growing pains being experienced(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Hortonworks and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company to work

      Jan 1, 2019 - Senior Consultant in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pioneers in the big data world - so you get to learn the technology before anyone else could. Great colleagues - if you are working in a bigger team but mostly you will be engaging with clients. Insurance is free.

      Cons

      Not many cons. Lot of your work style depends on client whom you work with, But If you are not happy with a client you can move to other one easily.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      Dec 15, 2020 - Senior Software Developer in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, Pay, Bonus, Flexibility, Culture

      Cons

      Some people, some projects, senior management

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Meh

      Oct 13, 2020 - Project Manager in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They were great back in the day

      Cons

      Cloudera owns them now. Sigh....

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Pleasant experience

      Apr 27, 2020 - Premier Support Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Loads of opportunities to learn new technology

      Cons

      high work pressure as custober base is growing but employees headcount is same

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Great technology and position--still big issues to fix

      Aug 16, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interesting and exciting technology that is poised at the forefront of a wave of expansion. Definitely on the cutting edge and far from being commoditised. Also, there are many talented employees working at Hortonworks, including many of the core engineering group that originally developed Hadoop at Yahoo. In this respect, it's THE place to be.

      Cons

      At first I thought it was just the normal growing pains of transitioning from start-up to a public company that is striving to serve enterprise customers. Now I'm beginning to think what's happening here is insidious and will bring the company down if someone doesn't act in a timely manner. Here's the scenario: leadership at the very top exhibits an explosive burst of temper down the management food chain. Then the top few levels of leadership begin pointing fingers of blame at one another. This causes massive fragmentation and in-fighting--just at the time when we should all be pulling together to accomplish something that none of us can accomplish alone. This must stop or the company will be paralysed, unable to move forward. The culture of blame and infighting is extremely dangerous and damaging. I love the technology and I'm excited about the opportunity, but in a basic SWOT analysis--what I've described here is our greatest weakness and our biggest threat. I hope executive leadership and the board can fix this.

      Continue reading
      27 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Cutting edge technology, everything open source, great people and culture

      Aug 2, 2014 - Member Technical Staff in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nothing proprietary. Whatever you write goes back to open source. There is no where you can get to work with so many open source committers/contributors including several of the inventors of Hadoop and YARN. Although not a small company in overall size, it is still a fairly small engineering org in HQ. The teams working on several different open source projects are very small, so you get a chance to make a big impact. Pre-IPO company stocks give you a lot of hope and enthusiasm to make this company successful. 100% insurance premium for family, unlimited vacation, lunch, snacks, valet parking, on-site massage, regular team events and company picnic - all these have become very common in almost all startup companies and they are here too :)

      Cons

      The senior executive or management team seems to be quite aloof. Surprisingly we don't get to see them at all, specifically the CEO.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Hortonworks Response

      Manager of Recruiting

      Thank you for your comments and we are striving to slow down a bit. The executive leadership is adding up frequent flyer miles at a rapid pace! We hope you were able to attend and enjoy the company picnic at Great American. We will strive to bring more real time updates to the team.

    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      So much potential, but it's a mess

      Dec 13, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The technology is exciting, the people are very bright, for the most part. Good benefits/salary and ability to work remotely.

      Cons

      As others have said, this is a frat house. It's run by VMWare boys who stick together and more are added all the time as others leave or are pushed out. Misogyny is rampant and culturally acceptable, bordering on outright sexual harrassment problems including with higher ups. HR does not deal with it and are actually part of the problem. Women are mansplained to no end, have work lifted from them, are not on the board or in many leadership roles. Add to that no performance reviews thus far (although supposedly this is going to happen), no raises, a terrible habit of pushing people out of the company, execs who seem to just want to cash out while stock tanks, and it looks less and less appealing all the time. There's a major attrition problem due to all this.

      Continue reading
      42 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing opportunity!

      Jan 8, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company with a great and vast opportunity in front of us. Everyone wants to talk to us! Executive team is smart, innovative, open to new ideas. Its great to be part of a winning team. As a senior person, I make decisions fast and have the full support of the executive team. I love the camaraderie at the top of the company and fit right in. A real tech startup (but public) with a laser focus on winning. It's a great combo. As a female leader in the company, I have all the respect and autonomy I need to get the job done. I haven't felt this great about a company in many years. I love the hard charging, frank and honest talk, fairness and results oriented atmosphere. No time for anything but get it done, and do it now. Would highly recommend working here.

      Cons

      There is so much to do, and never enough time. We have a sense of urgency, so trying to keep up can be challenging.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Misleading, they don't care about their employees

      Jun 16, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lunches are catered tues-thurs, unlimited PTO

      Cons

      Prior to going public they did a reverse split on the stock, moving my option strike price from about 7.50 a share to $15 a share, and from 8000 options to 4000. Not sure if you have looked at the price recently, but at the time of this review it is at $10.42 a share, so my options are worth nothing. And I got in pre IPO. The company does not care about it's employees, the reverse split only affected lower level employees as the execs all got in when the price was less than $1 a share, so even after the split they still have a strike price of under $2 a share and stand to make a great deal of cash, whereas the low level employees have options with a strike price of $15-$20, which makes them worthless. And the CEO is the least tech-savvy person in the world, not sure what makes him qualified to run the company; he still uses a blackberry from 2007.

      32 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Smartest company I've ever worked for across the board in all disciplines

      Aug 21, 2014 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Quickly growing market in very large market space with technology that is accepted as the next big thing. The company has doubled in size in the last 6 months, is well capitalized, has a top notch management that is focusing the company on the right priorities to be the major provider in this space. Despite the ridiculous hiring pace, their process insures both capability and cultural fit. I've never seen a stronger group of people assembled at one company and I've worked for some really good ones in the past. From what I've seen this is a very healthy culture and everyone goes out of their way to help you. Minimal politics. Management knows how to scale a profitable open source company. Great Benefits.

      Cons

      Through tremendous growth comes some growing pains. Infrastructure seems to be keeping pace with growth so far. Hiring ahead of the market. A lot missionary work still to be done.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 287 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Hortonworks Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Hortonworks? Share Your Experiences

    or