Hospice of Michigan Reviews | Glassdoor

Hospice of Michigan Reviews

Updated Sep 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
36%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Hospice of Michigan President CEO and Director Dottie Deremo (no image)
Dottie Deremo
19 Ratings
  1. "Caring organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hospice of Michigan full-time

    Pros

    Longevity of staff, caring attitudes and passion for excellence in hospice care.

    Cons

    Difficulty standardizing processes and sharing information across multiple branches

    Hospice of Michigan2018-07-21
  2. "Guidelines Not Clear"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communications in Southfield, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hospice of Michigan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great mission - Wonderful services - Good community reputation

    Cons

    - Terrible pay and raise practices - Guidelines were not clear, fair, or equitable

    Continue reading
    Hospice of Michigan2019-09-25
  3. "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - On Call RN in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hospice of Michigan full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Ok pay. On your own most of the time.

    Cons

    Worked for smaller local hospice as on call nurse. No problems. Bought out by Hospice of Michigan. Very large increase in undertreated patients. Put on call nurse in no win situation. Led to complaints. Management not interested in details. Fired. Hospice of Michigan refused to pay me for over $ 6,000 in accrued/ earned paid time off. May be part of their business plan. Severely undertreated patient symptoms- inexcusable.

    Continue reading
    Hospice of Michigan2019-06-27
  4. "Move on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Referral Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hospice of Michigan full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    work from home, decent benefits

    Cons

    very top heavy with management that offers NO support. ZERO work life balance

    Hospice of Michigan2019-05-29
  5. Helpful (1)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hospice of Michigan full-time

    Pros

    Pay was competitive for the area, insurance was ok.

    Cons

    Nurses were abused and overworked, time off unavailable, management not supportive at all. It's sad when the aides feel sorry for the nurses but that's how it was. If I ever am in need of hospice services for a family member I will RUN to the nearest competitor.

    Continue reading
    Hospice of Michigan2018-07-25
  6. "aide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Hospice of Michigan full-time

    Pros

    the hospice program is a great service to patients and families

    Cons

    very little room for advancement

    Hospice of Michigan2018-02-17
  7. "Did not agree with some of their practices since they are non profit."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounts Payable Analyst in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hospice of Michigan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    In 2001 - 2003 I started full time after working as a temp. Beautiful building. Excellent location. Alot of events to bring awareness to Hospice care.

    Cons

    Extremely heavy work flow. You have to be extremely well organized. I havent worked here since the early 2000's so hopefully it is better organized.

    Continue reading
    Hospice of Michigan2018-02-12
  8. "Job review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Supervisor in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Hospice of Michigan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Offers sign on bonuses for many jobs

    Cons

    Company in reorganization state after affiliation

    Continue reading
    Hospice of Michigan2018-01-02
  9. "HR Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Supervisor in Southfield, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hospice of Michigan full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Passionate people work at this organization.

    Cons

    Not much con that I can think of with this organization. Maybe better pay?

    Continue reading
    Hospice of Michigan2017-12-15
  10. "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hospice of Michigan full-time

    Pros

    None to give. The executive team is filthy.

    Cons

    If you’re a major donor to this organization ask for statements. Corrupt organization going through many lawsuits.

    Continue reading
    Hospice of Michigan2018-01-19
Found 31 reviews