Hostess Brands Production Reviews | Glassdoor

Hostess Brands Production Reviews

Updated Jan 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
64%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Hostess Brands President and CEO Andrew Callahan
Andrew Callahan
1 Rating
  1. "I Loved It!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Line Worker in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hostess Brands full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1)The staff and other employees are super nice and will help you if you need some help 2) The benifets and salary are great 3) fast pace environment

    Cons

    12 HR shifts exhaust your body faster.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Hostess Brands2020-01-09
  2. "Horrible run!!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hostess Brands full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefit

    Cons

    Horrible management never no hours very unorganized and unprofessional.

    Hostess Brands2018-04-17
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Good pay for very hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Line Worker in Emporia, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hostess Brands full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - most co-workers encouraging and nice as long as they see you trying - frequent breaks with a fully stocked break room with easy to use card system - temp hire or direct hire, you get paid well for a factory job - upper staff is always willing to work with you, encourage tons of questions, and are patient with new comers - All departments leave their doors open and are always happy to see you even if it is to vent about work - considering a lot people give up after the first week, if you stick around and work hard you can easily get a higher up position and pay raise

    Show More

    Cons

    - very physically straining job - on your feet for 12 hours at a time - lots of bending down under belts and machines that can cause back pain - factory is loud and you have to wear earplugs, so it is hard to communicate with co-workers while on the floor when it is most important - training is trial and error, leaving room for painful accidents and unorganized familiarity with variety of stations - 600 employees means you could end up working with someone you've never met and wont know their work experience or whether they have been trained properly - you are obligated to come in and work when on call, making late night parties nerve wracking as you might have to go into work the next day

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Instead of 1 orientation day for new hires, I recommend a second and even third day spent detailing each possible station, process, and job in the factory - The dangerous parts of a machine should be identified before a new hire even approaches a new station, new people could lose a finger trying to imitate what they see seasoned workers do in casual training.

    Hostess Brands2017-02-22
  5. "the most dysfunctional place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hostess Brands full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the pay is good that's it

    Cons

    prejudice and they dog you

    Hostess Brands2017-02-25
  6. "Production Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Supervisor in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hostess Brands full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very little. Company getting bought and sold multiple times, 17 hour work days

    Cons

    Same as above, very misleading and unstable, extremely long work days, no sporting chance given, hardly any support from middle/upper mgmt.

    Advice to Management

    Support your management team. Be more transparent about the realities of the company's position/future.

    Hostess Brands2016-09-06
  7. "New journey begins now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Machine Operator-production in Columbus, GA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hostess Brands

    Pros

    I love having the ability to learn something new everyday.

    Cons

    Work schedule very unstable. Business is not doing well.

    Advice to Management

    Be honest as possible with people.

    Hostess Brands2015-11-16
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Heading back to bankruptcy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Production Supervisor in Indianapolis, IN

    I worked at Hostess Brands for less than a year

    Pros

    There were none to speak of.

    Cons

    Long tireless hours for little compensation.

    Advice to Management

    Get new management

    Hostess Brands2015-12-16
  9. "My experience was interestng. I learned a lot of new skills."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Supervisor in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hostess Brands full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The cross training,salary,benefits and their union.

    Cons

    We worked long hours. I didn't like working on Sunday's

    Advice to Management

    Communicate more with the employees on a daily basis.

    Hostess Brands2014-02-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "I was a machine operator who ran the machinery that wrapped buns, robots that delivered the wrapped product to trays whi"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Machine Operator-production in Denver, CO

    I worked at Hostess Brands full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good pay, good co-workers, benefits.

    Cons

    It was very hard work

    Advice to Management

    none

    Hostess Brands2014-02-11
  11. "Great pay, if you can get it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Baker in Ogden, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Hostess Brands full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay and benefits were great

    Cons

    The company closed their doors.

    Hostess Brands2013-03-14
Found 13 reviews