Hostess Brands Reviews | Glassdoor

Hostess Brands Reviews

Updated Sep 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
28%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Hostess Brands CEO Andrew Callahan
Andrew Callahan
2 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management had no business running a company(in 12 reviews)

  • "early mornings, weather changes, long hours(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Bakery outlet manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Hostess Brands

    Pros

    Overall a very good job. Day went by fast and pay and benefits were good.

    Cons

    Company filed for bankruptsy and closed all divisions of company and sold off all there brands.

    Hostess Brands2015-10-06
  2. "QA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Quality Control Technician in Columbus, GA
    Recommends

    I worked at Hostess Brands full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company to work with

    Cons

    12 shift 5 to 7 days a week

    Advice to Management

    Be organize

    Hostess Brands2019-09-22
  3. "it was good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Trainer 

    I worked at Hostess Brands full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    liked it ok there it was good

    Cons

    ok there always a happy place

    Hostess Brands2019-09-13
  4. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Intern 

    I have been working at Hostess Brands part-time

    Pros

    Learned a lot as an intern, I was given tasks that challenged me and expanded my understanding.

    Cons

    I don't like the manufacturing environment.

    Hostess Brands2019-09-12
  5. "Not always the sweetest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Columbus, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hostess Brands full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun to work at a place where everyone knows your product.

    Cons

    Cultural battle between the Old Hostess this is the way we've always done it and management style in this century.

    Advice to Management

    You need to adapt to workplace and market changes.

    Hostess Brands2019-08-03
  6. "High turn over is common"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Director 

    I worked at Hostess Brands full-time

    Pros

    Great Brand... Seasoned, smart team

    Cons

    Beat Down management by owner

    Hostess Brands2019-08-14
  7. "Horrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Feeder Packer in Columbus, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hostess Brands full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pay is good, that's it

    Cons

    Treat you like crap very blatantly

    Hostess Brands2019-05-09
  8. "Turn away now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scale Operator in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hostess Brands full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay is good every two weeks once hired in if with temp every week

    Cons

    Bad management,racist mandatory five days 12 hour shifts no life so if you dont have alot of kids maybe one thwn you can do this job and if your kids are teenagers but if you have little babies this is not the job for you!

    Advice to Management

    Listen more to the people we are the ones making your product so it can sell start show us appreciation

    Hostess Brands2019-03-06
  9. "Lack of Advancement Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hostess Brands full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Benefits - Colleagues - Startup culture - Ability to work from home (depending on job/department)

    Cons

    - Toxic work environment - Inability to advance in career - Lack of diversity in company

    Advice to Management

    The company is one that should spark joy in not just its consumers, but also its employees. However this is not the case, typically, within the corporate office. Gossip runs wild and often leads to a feeling of a toxic environment. I would recommend that higher ups not partake in these gossip exchanges, and instead help de-escalate them vs. current culture of helping perpetuate the gossip exchanges. There... aren't many women who are higher up in the company. It leads to a feeling, as a woman, that you cannot move up past a manager within the company. Only one SVP is a woman vs. 10 SVPs that are men, and no women are C-level or on the board of directors. Hire/promote more women. It will help draw women to the company and help the brand grow into the best company it could be. When events do happen, lots of involvement happens: like luncheons, halloween contests, cook-offs. However, these events are few and far between. I think it would be a great idea to have more events to help with company morale. I think a lot of the time it gets overlooked by how much time and effort everyone is putting in to ensure the organization can be lean (corporate had 120 employees when I left), but its hard work to make sure you're not only doing your job, but also able to pick up pieces that may not be directly your job, as well. These events show your employees you care and help boost morale a lot more than you know and help breed life into the company moving forward.

    Show More
    Hostess Brands2019-02-26
  10. "Sick days"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Machine Operator in Southbridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Hostess Brands full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None until they investigate and see how the bosses are

    Cons

    If ur sick they take ur vacation hours mandatory. No sick hours available

    Advice to Management

    Go investigate southbridge superior cake products they mistreat Spanish employees only whites have it made there! There is no set schedule is what ever the manager decides in the morning. Horrible company. They need to be investigated! Asap

    Hostess Brands2019-03-15
Found 191 reviews