Hostess Brands "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Hostess Brands Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Oct 23, 2015

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
32%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Hostess Brands CEO Andrew Callahan
Andrew Callahan
3 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management had no business running a company(in 12 reviews)

  • "early mornings, weather changes, long hours(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "My experience was interestng. I learned a lot of new skills."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Supervisor in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hostess Brands full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The cross training,salary,benefits and their union.

    Cons

    We worked long hours. I didn't like working on Sunday's

    Advice to Management

    Communicate more with the employees on a daily basis.

    Hostess Brands2014-02-25
  2. "Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operator in Emporia, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hostess Brands full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefits, if you're tough enough overall not a bad job to have. But if you can't handle long hours and hard work don't even try. You gotta have thick skin and common sense for this job.

    Cons

    As a machine operator it's often all eyes on you. You have to be able to take harsh criticism and keep your focus at the same time. Most of the time supers have no idea how much work you are actually doing and like to bust your balls because they don't understand.

    Advice to Management

    Don't bite the hands that runs the plant.

    Hostess Brands2015-10-23
  3. "was sales manager."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Anonymous Freelancer in Rushville, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Hostess Brands for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay weekly, liked most of the people I worked with.

    Cons

    long hours, no increase in pay for 6yrs, just cuts.

    Hostess Brands2015-06-29
  4. "Hostess Brands"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hostess Brands full-time

    Pros

    Nice to work for a brand name that my friends and family recognize, wages and/or salaries are competitive, nice benefits and vacation and time off packages

    Cons

    Too many rehires from previous owners that are set in their ways, long hours, extra days and overtime wear down workers, emphasis on business rather than people

    Advice to Management

    Make sure EVERYONE is on board with the new business plan and model, and make sure to not over work employees, it would be better to hire more people and have them work less hours

    Hostess Brands2015-04-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "it was a great company to work I miss it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Route Sales Representative in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hostess Brands full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    working with people, able to move around all the time.

    Cons

    early mornings, weather changes, long hours.

    Advice to Management

    listening more to sales reps ideas.

    Hostess Brands2014-03-18
  6. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Route Sales Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hostess Brands full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay for what we did

    Cons

    Very hard work and long hours

    Hostess Brands2012-12-19
  7. "satisfying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Sales Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hostess Brands full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    steady work all the time

    Cons

    many long hours and days

    Hostess Brands2012-10-23
  8. "work life of a salesman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Route Sales Representative in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hostess Brands full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people to work with. The pay is fairly good. The benefits (for now) are alright. Immediate supervision is decent.

    Cons

    Long hours and dealing with a lot of people who maybe shouldn't have been placed in a position of authority. Second bankruptcy for the company since I've been with them. Doesn't look like we'll survive this one.

    Advice to Management

    Get the bankruptcy situation resolved. Whichever way it goes is preferable to going months on end not knowing if the doors will be locked the next day you come in.

    Hostess Brands2012-08-13
  9. "Machine Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
     

    I worked at Hostess Brands

    Pros

    If you look to work long hours .... this is the place

    Cons

    Rotating schedule throughout the day

    Hostess Brands2012-08-07
  10. "It was rewarding ,if you were able to work for yourself without supervision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Route Salesman 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hostess Brands

    Pros

    Being your own boss ,being able to choose your own hours to some degree.The amount of money you make is dependant on how hard you try .The money I made for not having a college degree was phenominal!

    Cons

    The worst part is the long hours and not being free to have days off whenever you needed.And sometimes the weater conditions were very challenging

    Hostess Brands2011-04-18
Found 11 reviews