Hostway Reviews | Glassdoor

Hostway Reviews

Updated January 25, 2017
81 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

2.6
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Emil Sayegh
4 Ratings

81 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Free food once a week, semi-flexible work hours, plenty of vacation time, low stress work environment (in 13 reviews)

  • You can learn a lot and get involved in many different projects if you make connections with the right people (in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • I would love to brag about where I work but no one has heard of us unless you are in the industry (in 3 reviews)

  • Absolutely no vision or communicated strategy by C-Level to staff (in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (3)

    "Sales"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales
    Current Employee - Sales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hostway full-time

    Pros

    -Great company to work for if you have a strong work ethic and refuse to lose mentality.
    -Your opinion matters.
    -Leadership will fight for you
    -Family type environment
    -Taco Fridays
    -Flexibility

    Cons

    -multiple internal systems can make the job efficiency challenging
    Advise:
    -Don't come here if you expect things to be given to you.
    -expect to do more than what you are hired for.
    -be willing to go the extra mile to get the job done.

    Hostway Response

    Dec 29, 2016 – Hostway

    Thanks for sharing your experience, and we're glad that you've had a positive experience working at Hostway. We too enjoy Tacos on Fridays and lunch twice a month. Internal systems can be challenging ... More


  2. "Good place to get some experience"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX

    I worked at Hostway full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great people, relaxed environment, good pay.

    Cons

    Hosting, cloud and managed, is a tough industry, and the company needed to figure out where they feel they can best compete. They were all over the place, and there was no clear vision as to who the company was and what market they were going after. This caused turnover at the highest level. That was almost 2 years ago, so I'm hopeful it's been figured out now.

    Hostway Response

    Jan 26, 2017 – Hostway

    Thank you so much for your review. Things have certainly changed from two years ago. We have a new CEO, new leadership and Hostway has a clear path with our 2017 Vision. We are experiencing very ... More


  3. Helpful (2)

    "Once upon a time, this was a top technology company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Hostway full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    * Gain valuable experience
    * work with knowledgeable individuals
    * work from home
    * flexible working days
    * a few good people still working there

    Cons

    * Senior Management is clueless as to the direction of the business
    * hidden agenda's by Senior Management
    * long working days
    * no education benefits, you have to pretty much train yourself
    * crappy hardware given to employees

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the senior leaders who polluted the vision and direction of the company. Rather than hire technically sound individuals, a hiring spree of senior directors was done which eventually lead to a massive turnover then layoffs. My recommendation is to stop the layoffs and try to salvage employee moral and reinvest in existing products to make them marketable.

    I wish you the best of luck.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "We Fire People before Christmas"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in San Antonio, TX
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Some good people work here.

    Cons

    No opportunity for growth, we only promote from outside the company.

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within, hiring friends isn't working out.

    Hostway Response

    Dec 27, 2016 – Hostway

    Thank you for your review. If you wish to speak about this further, please contact a member of our HR department.


  6. Helpful (4)

    "New CEO is BAD for the company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hostway full-time

    Pros

    I enjoyed doing what I did and had great peers to work with day to day. Flexibility in my schedule was important and helpful.

    Cons

    New CEO has a bad temper and abusive. I left his former company due to his unhealthy behavior toward myself and all employees. He will treat you less than a human and not blink an eye.

    Advice to Management

    Should of done your homework before hiring the new CEO unless you really don't care about your employees. I left to avoid the stress that led to health problems in the past.

    Hostway Response

    Dec 12, 2016 – Marketing Campaign Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. Hostway has a really great work-life balance. Since Glassdoor reviews are anonymous, if you’d like to speak more about concerns you have, please email us at ... More


  7. Helpful (4)

    "Uncertain Outlook"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hostway (Less than a year)

    Pros

    There is enthusiasm throughout the company

    Cons

    Poor communication between departments and lack of feedback from department heads

    Hostway Response

    Oct 7, 2016 – Marketing Campaign Manager

    We really appreciate your valuable insight. Clear, consistent communication from employee to employee, and especially from leaders to employees, should always be one of our top priorities. We’ll pass ... More


  8. Helpful (7)

    "Company is positioning for bankruptcy"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    None anymore. Company has laid off critical employees that have been around since the begining

    Cons

    Everything. Company has gone completely top heavy with "executives". Little John is doing what investment firms do. Company will not be around in 5 years.

    Advice to Management

    I fear it is to late to save the company

    Hostway Response

    Oct 21, 2016 – Marketing Campaign Manager

    We appreciate your feedback and review. We take current and former employee reviews seriously and will pass your feedback on to our leadership team.


  9. Helpful (8)

    "Don't do it!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hostway full-time

    Pros

    There are a few great people.

    Cons

    The make false promises and never do what they say they will. They will do anything for a sale including living to a customer. The managers are the worst. The employees are great people but management ruins everything. They can not explain how your commission works and will let you go in the blink of an eye if you question their methods to much.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the bad seeds in your management levels asap.

    Hostway Response

    Oct 21, 2016 – Marketing Campaign Manager

    We always want to put our employees and customers first. Keeping an open dialogue is the best way to make improvements. We really appreciate your feedback.


  10. Helpful (3)

    "Not what it seems"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hostway full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Most coworkers are really nice people. At least in the San Antonio office. There is so much potential, but the sales managers stand in the way of progress.

    Cons

    Sales managers are extremely unethical. I have worked around sales reps for many years and there is usually some small sense of walking the line, but the sales managers at hostway blatantly live in he wrong side of what's right for the customer and the company.

    Advice to Management

    You need to realize there is such a thing as bad revenue. Not every sale that you can make will be good for the customers or company. Focus on the technologies that you understand and can execute on properly and abandon the sinking ship technologies. Just because you have poured a lot of money into a project does not mean you should continue throwing good money after bad.

    Hostway Response

    Oct 21, 2016 – Marketing Campaign Manager

    Thank you for your feedback and review. We will pass this information on to our leadership team. Since Glassdoor reviews are anonymous, if you’d like to speak more about concerns you have, please ... More


  11. Helpful (4)

    "Going downhill"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Reasonable level of autonomy
    Lots of good people to work with (outside management)

    Cons

    No career development, lack of leadership skills, lack of structure.

    Managers and executives are often shipped in from other companies. They try to make changes, they cannot get them done, they leave. Slowly Hostway has been left with the dregs who cannot be employed anywhere else. They have no idea what they're doing.

    Constant cuts to operations have left the company unable to support its customer base. Pretty much issues are left to bounce around until the complaining customer takes their business elsewhere, hence resolving the problem! Customer reviews, like the reviews here, are absolutely atrocious. They're always getting slammed on Facebook, and righty so. Hostway employees have been pushing the reviews up by rating them 5 star. And reflect a company with deep-deep problems.

    Nobody knows how most of the systems work, because we laid off the people who made them.

    They look to be streamlining the business in order to sell it on (it's owned by a venture capitalist company at the moment). However I doubt they'll find a buyer before all the customers leave, as it's certainly not a customer focuses streamlining.

    Advice to Management

    Change the management. The company is ill, and it's getting more ill every day.

    Invest in operations. Look after the customers first, instead of trying to make the company look attractive (on paper) so the investors can cash out.

    Hostway Response

    Oct 7, 2016 – Marketing Campaign Manager

    Thank you very much. This is really insightful feedback. We’re excited to have our new CEO on board and are looking forward to the renewed focus on customer service he’s bringing with him. We’re ... More



Showing 81 of 81 reviews
Reset Filters