Hot Topic Reviews | Glassdoor

Hot Topic Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 964 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Hot Topic CEO Steve Vranes
Steve Vranes
119 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Love it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hot Topic full-time

    Pros

    Great company culture and work life balance. I feel very engaged in my role and love working with all the teams at HQ.

    Cons

    Sometimes its cold in the office.

    Hot Topic2019-05-22
  2. "I loved it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pretty lax dress code, Great atmosphere, Understanding management, very nice employee discount! ZERO tolerance for bigotry, it felt like a very safe space for people from all walks of life.

    Cons

    Part time hours can be seriously lacking, consider full time if you need the money.

    Advice to Management

    Breathe, the back room is never going to be finished and that's ok.

    Hot Topic2019-06-04
  3. "Pick and packer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I used a scanner gun

    Cons

    How to pick and pack

    Hot Topic2019-05-20
  4. "Amazing Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hot Topic full-time

    Pros

    You get to work with awesome people and employees are truly valued here. The benefits are great, in addition to some really cool perks like yoga and massages. We also give back and donate our time to our foundations, including Feeding America.

    Cons

    Too much good food around here = bad for your diet!

    Hot Topic2019-05-08
  5. "LOVE IT THERE!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management. Best manager I have ever had. Coworkers are all nice and the customers most of the time were amazing.

    Cons

    For me, the travel time from where I live to there is hard, because of pay.

    Advice to Management

    The management is the best. 10/10

    Hot Topic2019-04-16
  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Store Manager 

      I have been working at Hot Topic full-time

      Pros

      Fun environment with a unique customer base

      Cons

      Sales drive makes us seem like we work on commission

      Hot Topic2019-04-14
    • "Fun Experience-Building Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Keyholder in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Hot Topic full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Great music Great customers Great friends Exceptional work/life balance Very understanding of time needed off

      Cons

      A lot is expected of a few employees

      Advice to Management

      Incentivize employees to do more. It adds stress to management when their workers don't do anything. If the part time employees had more incentives to work harder everyone would be happier

      Hot Topic2019-03-11
    • Helpful (1)

      "My favorite SIDE job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Floor Team Member in Hilo, HI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Hot Topic part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Extremely fun environment, Friendliest staff for all 8 years of retail experience I have, 40% Employee discount, Listen to fun music not normally played on the radio.

      Cons

      Very low hours available, hard to get an interview (20 people a day will ask if hiring,) Expect no more than $200 max on a two week paycheck unless working the holidays.

      Advice to Management

      Check employees socks for hiding merchandise and prevent more internal theft.

      Hot Topic2019-02-26
    • "Best job I've had"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Sales Associate 
      Recommends

      I have been working at Hot Topic part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Atmosphere is fun There's always something to do Awesome promotions all the time Great discount Room for growth

      Cons

      Doesn't always have the hours to give out

      Hot Topic2019-02-25
    • "It was a great starter job!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Ventura, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Hot Topic part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      I was a seasonal sales associate. The discounts were good, the environment was fun, and everyone was great to work with. The manager also kept excellent communication with his employees. Definitely recommend if you need a first job.

      Cons

      Not any cons I can remember.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the great work!

      Hot Topic2019-02-08
    Found 964 reviews