Hot Topic Reviews | Glassdoor

Hot Topic Reviews

Updated Jun 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 966 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Hot Topic CEO Steve Vranes
Steve Vranes
120 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Love it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hot Topic full-time

    Pros

    Great company culture and work life balance. I feel very engaged in my role and love working with all the teams at HQ.

    Cons

    Sometimes its cold in the office.

    Hot Topic2019-05-22
  2. "poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great discount and team members

    Cons

    poor management not only in store but above aswell. i made several complaints of harassment from a fellow employee that took several months before taken seriously.

    Hot Topic2019-06-24
  3. "Not what it seems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Greenville, NC

    I worked at Hot Topic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cool people & customers

    Cons

    Upper management very secretive. Doesnt share alot of info with stores

    Hot Topic2019-06-19
  4. "I miss it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Keyholder in El Paso, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great co workers. Awesome training by my managers, I pretty much owe how well I've done in all other fields to this job because my district manager knew how to encourage our goals.

    Cons

    Super low pay, the part time manager was only getting paid .25 more than me. I was part time but often id be put to work 39 hours because everyone kept quitting. It was too hard to manage that with my college schedule so I had to leave.

    Advice to Management

    Don't micro manage, create loyalty because with such low pay that's what's going to keep people there.

    Hot Topic2019-06-12
  5. "Fun Job During College"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Kennesaw, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved working at Hot Topic for the merchandise discounts, the pop culture, and the atmosphere. It was nice working in a store where the customers and I could talk about our favorite bands, anime and clothing styles.

    Cons

    There's a lot of pressure on making your sales goals. They would take away hours based off of your KPIs and give them to the employee with the most sales. This is a terrible system because the associated behind the cashier ultimately gets to determine who gets the sale based off of who helped the customer. Sometimes employees would take the sale for themselves regardless.

    Hot Topic2019-06-10
  6. "Okay job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Practitioner in Poole, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Hot Topic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The children The staff Family feel nursery

    Cons

    Awful pay No benefits made to work bank holidays with no extra pay Don’t get paid enough for how much expected to do

    Advice to Management

    Focus on staff

    Hot Topic2019-06-08
  7. "Great job with caveats"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fashion freedom, listen to music all day, pop culture surroundings.

    Cons

    Overstocking stores. Corporate(the ones above the DMs) are clueless.

    Hot Topic2019-06-07
  8. "Don't do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Order Picker in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None, there are no prod

    Cons

    Horrible management , horrid hours,

    Hot Topic2019-06-07
  9. "Extreme Expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Rogers, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hot Topic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get heath insurance and paid vacation.

    Cons

    The expectations of the company are ridiculously high. As far as the floor set changes and the amount of hrs they give you to complete it, the mini floor set changes mid week, the promos constantly changing, the dated computer systems, the horrible online-to-store ordering system. Also, it's mostly high school kids who want to work here so there is a very high turn over in regards to employees.

    Advice to Management

    You would have to be a superhero to thrive and truly enjoy working at a place like this.

    Hot Topic2019-06-05
  10. "I loved it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pretty lax dress code, Great atmosphere, Understanding management, very nice employee discount! ZERO tolerance for bigotry, it felt like a very safe space for people from all walks of life.

    Cons

    Part time hours can be seriously lacking, consider full time if you need the money.

    Advice to Management

    Breathe, the back room is never going to be finished and that's ok.

    Hot Topic2019-06-04
Found 966 reviews