Hotel Chocolat Reviews | Glassdoor

Hotel Chocolat Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 112 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Hotel Chocolat CEO Angus Thirlwell
Angus Thirlwell
68 Ratings
Pros
  • "As well as the 50% off staff discount, staff also frequently receive vouchers and bonuses(in 17 reviews)

  • "Great pros: 50% Discount, Considerate Business, Lots of good quality products(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lack of communication from head office to shop floors(in 10 reviews)

  • "Hard to find work/life balance, chaotic workplace (referring to behind scenes), at times a very negative atmosphere(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Hotel Chocolat

    Pros

    They see you as a person and not just a worker.

    Cons

    People took managements kindness for granted

    Advice to Management

    Good work!

    Hotel Chocolat2014-04-24
  2. "Decent job but real issues with management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Garden City, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Hotel Chocolat part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    if you like chocolate, you get a decent discount. its not that difficult of a job in general

    Cons

    the management did not listen to complaints. the HR department was one person who was friends with the store manager. made talking about issues difficult.

    Advice to Management

    get new managers

    Hotel Chocolat2013-04-09
  3. "Hotel Choclat"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hotel Chocolat part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    really good management, a pleasure to work for

    Cons

    hours can be sparse, could just be my store

    Hotel Chocolat2019-08-14
  4. "The place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Inverness, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hotel Chocolat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Listened to. You feel a part of the company. Great work life balance. Progression and training. Exciting prospects.

    Cons

    No con's at all. Great company to be a part of.

    Hotel Chocolat2019-08-15
  5. "Used to be a lot better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hotel Chocolat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Generally nice customers Staff discount

    Cons

    Has changed a lot over the years with expansion, sadly employee satisfaction and retention has become a lot less of a priority with perks being cut, pay not fantastic and general care lacking. If working in retail there are many more favorable places to work these days.

    Hotel Chocolat2019-08-05
  6. "shop supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shop Supervisor in Hong Kong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hotel Chocolat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best job ever. If are in to chocolat. Dream job

    Cons

    depands on the manager you get. but mangement is awsome

    Hotel Chocolat2019-07-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Shop Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hotel Chocolat part-time

    Pros

    They have Good benefit packages

    Cons

    Lack of communication from head office to shop floors

    Hotel Chocolat2019-06-26
  8. "More of a passion than a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor in Guildford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hotel Chocolat part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic quality product... more sharing your passion than selling Lucky to have a fantastic team in our store Fab staff discount A company with strong ethics Proud to work here!

    Cons

    Umm I’ve put on quite a bit of weight?!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing

    Hotel Chocolat2019-06-27
  9. "Not bad for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hotel Chocolat part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, £10 an hour is good for students.

    Cons

    Management needs improvement. Not very clear on instructing people, rules alter depends on managers mood.

    Advice to Management

    Please give more training to staff and be more specific on rules.

    Hotel Chocolat2019-07-05
  10. "Great part time career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Maidstone, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hotel Chocolat part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Head office seems to really care about their employees. As well as the 50% off staff discount, staff also frequently receive vouchers and bonuses. - I was hired on a zero hours contract so hours were flexible. - Opportunities for career progression. I was originally hired as a Christmas temp and was offered a larger position. My manager at the time started out as a Christmas temp. - Smaller teams make for better...

    Show More

    Cons

    Some of the listed pros can conversely be cons: - The zero hours contract can be rather exploitative from my perspective, but this is applicable to many retail jobs. - Obviously smaller teams can be beneficial but in my second posting to the branch in Exeter, there was a really cliquey atmosphere. Disappointing as my first job in Maidstone was wonderful, and the team their really supportive.

    Advice to Management

    Reconsider your use of zero hour contracts. If you truly care about your employees, don't participate in unfair hiring practises

    Hotel Chocolat2019-06-19
Found 112 reviews