Hotel Irvine Reviews | Glassdoor

Hotel Irvine Reviews

Updated Sep 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
62%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Hotel Irvine President Scott Hermes (no image)
Scott Hermes
1 Rating
  1. "Great place to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hotel Irvine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You are empowered to drive change and create efficiency. Any idea that has a clear return on investment, will be explored and implemented.

    Cons

    Expectations are high with any Irvine Company division. That is not a bad thing! But may not be for everyone.

    Continue reading
    Hotel Irvine2017-12-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Don’t do it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hospitality Manager in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hotel Irvine full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lunch is free, if you like leftover previously frozen banquet food

    Cons

    Very Hostile working environment. HR is useless in regards to abusive directors. Complaints don’t get handled, they get you picked on and humiliated In Front of your coworkers. Public humiliation is used as a motivator. Seriously don’t work here.

    Continue reading
    Hotel Irvine2019-09-27
  3. "Hotel Irvine is a great place to start a Hospitality Career if you're willing to put in endless hours."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Experience Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hotel Irvine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great career development. Good room for growth. Great work environment. Organized. Overtime opportunities. Great managers. Great benefits. Great values/culture.

    Cons

    Hectic hours. Short staffed Disconnect with upper management. Low wages for amount of work. Work/life balance is tough to maintain with this job.

    Hotel Irvine2019-06-04
  4. "Pool Attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Hotel Irvine part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly Environment! Learned a lot about the hotel industry.

    Cons

    Easily bored on the job - not that many pool customers at a business hotel

    Hotel Irvine2019-02-13
  5. "DO NOT WORK HERE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Hotel Irvine part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good coworkers I suppose. Decent money

    Cons

    Everything else. Management is incompetent. You will work 8 hours, five days a week as a part timer and will not make enough money to reflect that. No benefits. No empathy No money. As a server, you’ll barely break $100 a day ever after working hard and b in busy for an 8 hour shift. Management doesn’t have your back or even care about anything other than the appearance of looking good. Every department is understaffed and underprepared. People are quitting everyday. This hotel is losing thousands of dollars and it will honestly be surprising if they’re still in business in a year. I don’t even want to list this on my resume because anyone who steps foot on this property can see how embarrassingly terrible this place is run. Your boss won’t know your name or even what is required of you as your job.

    Continue reading
    Hotel Irvine2018-09-03
  6. "Steer clear of this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Hotel Irvine full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Guest spaces are beautiful, free food

    Cons

    Work spaces are claustrophobic, pay is low, mixed messages from management, insensitive to employee needs, quick to fire, employees were routinely trapped in service elevators due to lack of maintenance

    Continue reading
    Hotel Irvine2018-04-05
  7. "Communication is Key"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Agent in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Hotel Irvine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great group of people who enjoy working together. Responsive management team that is open to suggestions.

    Cons

    Poor communication between departments. Chains of command make solving certain issues a big deal.

    Hotel Irvine2018-02-26
  8. "Great opportunity to work hard and develop your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hotel Irvine full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The Irvine Company (Hotel Irvine) has great benefits and takes care of their employees. I feel like I am given opportunities to learn and grow in my career. If you prove your value, management is willing to give you more chances to grow and will want to invest in you and your career. They empower their employees to take the HI Standards and apply them in their own personal way to make guests happy. I enjoy the team that I work with and have created positive personal relationships with few. Everyone likes what they are doing and you can see the passion brought out in those individuals. I know that as long as I give my all to my team and company, they will do the same for me. In order to be successful you have to have a "sink or swim" type of mentality and can't expect to float by.

    Cons

    Commute (45 mins each way) Can sometimes have too many people working on one project which complicates things. Need to understand what company you are applying to work for. The Irvine Company has high expectations and is always improving to stay ahead of the competition. No one will do well in this environment if your standards and the company's standards aren't aligned. Middle management might have too high of goals, just from the stress that I've seen. The turnover is pretty substantial but I think this comes from the lack of effort and unwillingness to learn and change which makes some people leave.

    Continue reading
    Hotel Irvine2018-01-08
  9. "Building Strong Career Skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hotel Irvine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working here provides a vast amount of skills and knowledge to add to your resume. Each individual that I have the pleasure to work with; has dramatically and positively grown within their position. Every day we are learning new life skills and growing more knowledgeable of the business field. Our Directors and Managers are experienced and adaptive to the ever changing business world.

    Cons

    Prepare to work hard to build your foundation and excel in your career.

    Continue reading
    Hotel Irvine2017-11-30
  10. "Promote from within- amazing growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hotel Irvine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free Meals Employee Discounts Great Pay Amazing support Management is always willing to help Team bonding events Promote from within

    Cons

    Traffic- Near the 405 and Airport Parking under trees Hotel is 24 hours so depending on the position you may have random shifts.

    Continue reading
    Hotel Irvine2017-11-30
Found 27 reviews