Hotjar Reviews | Glassdoor

Hotjar Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
96%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Hotjar CEO David Darmanin
David Darmanin
17 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Hands down the best company and team I've ever worked with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hotjar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Where do I even start? This is the happiest, most productive I've ever been at a company. The team is composed of some of the most intelligent people I've ever known and everyone is committed to delivering the highest quality work. The culture is outstanding. I've never worked somewhere where I've felt as much trust as I do from my teammates and leads here at Hotjar. There is zero micro management. I have... the complete freedom to get work my work down how and when I want. If I need to take a long break to take care of my kids, there's nothing but encouragement. And the PERKS! My goodness. €200/mo. for a working space allowance (pays for my internet at home, Apple Music, Pandora, and healthy snacks). €200/mo. for wellbeing. €1000 a year for personal development, €2000 a year holiday budget, and a €4000 office budget. 8 WEEKS OF HOLIDAYS!!! I can't tell you how much flexibility that creates to take care of things in my personal life. I can take a half or full day here and there to take care of my budgeting and tasks around the house. Honestly I could go on and on. Working for Hotjar has been the best professional experience of my life 👍🏼

    Show More

    Cons

    None. Absolutely, positively, 100% none. (I would have just said none, but turns out Glassdoor has a 5 word minimum even for the cons section)

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up and thank you!

    Hotjar2018-10-04
  2. "Concept Does not Scale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Devops Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hotjar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Perks, remote work location.

    Cons

    CEO has no idea of the future and the Marketshare he wants to get in the analytics market. Don't think this company will reach a peak growth. Typical European working attitude.

    Hotjar2019-06-14

    Hotjar Response

    July 4, 2019

    David here – CEO of Hotjar. It's a pity you had to use false information for this review. Everyone who joined the Hotjar team in Devops is still working for the business. The fact that you talk about 'marketshare' and 'analytics market' shows that you are not aware of how we run the business and our goals... which makes me question whether you actually worked for us at all... or perhaps you did so for a short time some years ago. Regardless I will still address your points :) 1. The Future I'm proud to say that I am a CEO that has no idea what the future will look like. Any CEO that claims to is fooling themselves / others. Instead, at Hotjar we're focused on 1. obsessing over our users (so we truly understand their challenges and goals) and 2. building a team and org that can adapt and respond quickly to change. 2. Marketshare / Peak Growth Why does the business world have to obsessed with fighting / winning and dominating / destroying. While we keep track of Hotjar's use and popularity we're more focused on putting our dent in the universe. We don't have to own the universe :) I highly recommend you read the chapter 'Happy Pacifists' in the book 'It Doesn't Have to Be Crazy at Work'... which is written by a US entrepreneur who runs a US company called Basecamp. 3. Analytics Market Hotjar is more than just an 'analytics tool'... Hotjar answers questions about your users that traditional web analytics can’t. We do this with both Behavioral Analytics and User Feedback. There are currently more than 24,000 companies that pay on a monthly basis for the insights Hotjar delivers. I'm quite sure that’s barely a blip of the overall market and we're fine with that. We’re doing our best to serve our customers well and that’s what matters. Doubling, tripling, quadrupling our market share doesn’t matter. 4. 'Typical European working attitude' We don't consider ourselves to be European – our team of 80 comes from 20 countries around the world. I also don't think it's healthy to stereotype in this way. I guess if you feel this way and based on the comments above, Hotjar is def not the right fit for you. Anyone who wants to learn more about our values and how we run the business can read this article on our blog: https://www.hotjar.com/blog/company-values

    Show Less
  3. Helpful (7)

    "A dream company to work for but know what you're getting into!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hotjar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * I actually enjoy the work that I get to do every day. Now I'm not some crazy person that LOVES to work and never has bad days, but overall I really do enjoy the work that I get to do and the impact it makes on the company. * And on that note, it is great to actually see how each team's work and individual's work actually influences how Hotjar grows. Everything and every one matters. This is not a place where... you can just coast by, there is a lot of hard work involved but it is important work. * Work/Life balance used to be a joke to me, but the culture at Hotjar really emphasizes how important it is to balance. Not only do we have a large number of vacation days, but the leadership team will "shame" those who HAVEN'T taken all their vacation days. I've been able to travel and visit places that I never thought I would on my vacation time! * I feel like I'm surrounded my geniuses and they are all happy to help. It's nice being around inspiring people and learning and developing your career with them. * There is plenty of career development opportunities. I get the opportunity to try new things, pick up new skills, or take a new path altogether. Whether you want to become a leader or develop your current skills, there is always opportunity.

    Show More

    Cons

    * Being based in the US means being a contractor is hard. I pay for my own insurance and contribute to my own retirement, which isn't what I've been used to as a W2. Of course I was aware of this from the very start and in my situation, the compensation and the perks outweigh this negative. * Remote life is not for everyone. It can be lonely, you can get stir crazy, and truly takes dicipline.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to hire smart but also make sure to weed out those that can't keep up. With such a high-velocity company, it only takes a handful of mediocre performers to slow down a whole department.

    Hotjar2018-10-04
  4. Helpful (17)

    "Lead Hero (US)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Lead in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hotjar

    Pros

    There are so many things I love about working at Hotjar and here are some: 1. The entire team is onboard with what the mission is and we all work extremely hard to make sure everything we do gets us closer to our goal. Working in this type of environment has really brought out the best in me and it pushes me to learn more and do more because others are doing the same. 2. This goes hand in hand with our culture.... We are all different in our own way but at the same time, we all have these values that bring us all together. We are a bunch of learners, out of the box thinkers who appreciate and celebrate our differences. When we get together in our meetups it feels like family and that says a lot because we are remote. 3.Speaking of remote, it's great not having to commute but it's much more than that. We are afforded the luxury of saying goodbye to our kids before we send them off to school without feeling like "you're going to be late". We have the ability to work from the comfort of wherever we want to be and if that places, for some reason, doesn't work out, we can always go somewhere else :) 4. There are no managers, we just have leaders. It's all about being transparent and honest and this really works well when you're not necessarily reporting to someone. Instead, that someone is your leader and they want to see you succeed. If you're looking to grow at a company, Hotjar is the place for you because they genuinely want to make you the best so that you can invest the best back at Hotjar. 5. I love traveling and I am a bit limited because I have a family but Hotjar allows me to go experience new things. I would have never planned a trip to Malta or Utah but with Hotjar, anything is possible.

    Show More

    Cons

    At the moment, I am still searching for cons...

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the fantastic work and thank you so much!

    Hotjar2017-02-17
  5. Helpful (7)

    "100% Remote company that is doing it right"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hotjar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A progressive fast moving web analytics start up that treats it's employees right. Fantastic growth potential. One of the first things I noticed when starting at Hotjar is how challenged I felt by the collective intelligence and vision of my colleagues. This is an elite group of employees and it shows in their hiring process. Personal freedom is a big plus. The flexible work schedule and ability to work from... anywhere makes this role even more attractive. Some colleagues have embraced their inner "digital nomad" and move around the globe regularly just because they can. Perks include a personal development/training budget, a sizable home office budget, quarterly team meet ups in remote locations, company wide meet ups in remote locations (our last two were in Park City and Malta

    Show More

    Cons

    Hotjar is still a young company and depending on where you reside, you may need to be open to working as a contractor until they are set up in your part of the world. However they are working on improving this.

    Advice to Management

    Don't lose the start up progressive mentality you've pioneered as this company scales. It's special.

    Hotjar2016-12-19
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Hotjar Hero in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hotjar

    Pros

    * Great company culture (transparent, genuine) * Awesome benefits (twice yearly meetups, home office budget) * Company is growing quickly * Remote work

    Cons

    * I'm racking my brain...and can't come up with much.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, be transparent, continue to treat people well.

    Hotjar2016-12-19
  7. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hotjar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The hiring process is great, the concept of doing a task and allowing you to be fully involved with the team gives you a very good idea of the company before you actually join. In general, awesome company to work for, you know that the company really takes care of the employees and on top of that the product is great and overall the company has a very bright future ahead. The team is very diverse with a very open... culture and high level of expertise.

    Show More

    Cons

    Can't really think of anything that's a con per se. One thing to think about is that working remotely might take some getting used to if you've never tried it before but it can open a world of amazing possibilities.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Hotjar2019-01-29
  8. Helpful (3)

    "A great company that listens to and implements feedback"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Stack Developer in Newcastle, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hotjar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hotjar really listen to feedback and implement it to improve the company. This isn't just the leadership either; it genuinely feels like everyone in the company will take suggestions on board and see how we can make the company better for our customers and the rest of the team. The company puts a lot of effort into supporting working remotely. Because working remotely is a core part of who we are, Hotjar... doesn't reduce pay or other perks. I talk to my colleagues more as a remote worker than I ever did while working in an office!

    Show More

    Cons

    While having the freedom to sort your own expenses is good, the process for tracking it takes some getting used to at first. You'll definitely need to put it in your calendar as a weekly process!

    Advice to Management

    Keep learning, keep taking on feedback and keep doing a great job!

    Hotjar2018-10-15
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome colleagues and super-interesting technical challenges."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hotjar full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Everyone at Hotjar always strives to better themselves, the product, and the company.

    Cons

    Since we're very selective about our hires there's sometimes an issue to find enough great people to help us realize our vision.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the culture strong (already doing great work there)!

    Hotjar2018-10-06
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hotjar full-time

    Pros

    Great team of people and very inclusive atmosphere.

    Cons

    Interview process takes some time to complete but worth it at the end.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing :)

    Hotjar2018-05-23

    Hotjar Response

    May 25, 2018VP of Operations

    Thanks for the review and feedback! It means a lot.

Found 22 reviews