Houchens Reviews | Glassdoor

Houchens Reviews

Updated 6 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 45 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Jimmie Gipson
28 Ratings
  1. "Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bowling Green, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Houchens full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work community and family

    Cons

    There are no cons for working for Houchens

    Advice to Management

    They do a great job no advice

    Houchens2018-10-18
  2. "Ok Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Houchens full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    ESOP plan and relaxed environment

    Cons

    Low pay, takes years before you even get any benefits from the esop plan, hardly any vacation time, and they still do paper checks weekly which is an inconvenience to many. Not much room for advancement in any position as well.

    Houchens2019-08-06
  3. "My honest opinion."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Former Employee in Bowling Green, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Houchens full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great job. Benefits ok. I really loved doing the line of fork that I did. Whick was a forklift operator.

    Cons

    The pay rate is not good for someone who's ten plus years experienced. Not a friendly staff to work with.

    Houchens2019-07-09
  4. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Houchens full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for, ESOP

    Cons

    Could have better salary

    Advice to Management

    Well worth it !

    Houchens2019-05-09
  5. "Discrimination at its finest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fordyce, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Houchens part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They are flexible with scheduling

    Cons

    Horrible pay, favortisim, racist enough to get away with it

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees fairly, allow fair raises, stop condoning theft, enforce employee confidentiality

    Houchens2019-05-24
  6. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Part Time Cashier 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Houchens part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a laid back environment.

    Cons

    There are some aggressive and rude customers.

    Advice to Management

    limit amount of lottery tickets 1 person can purchase each transaction

    Houchens2019-02-13
  7. "Meat cutter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Houchens full-time

    Pros

    Stability is always a plus

    Cons

    No employee discount. No paid sick leave.

    Houchens2018-11-17
  8. "Unhappy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Houchens full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great relationships with other associates.

    Cons

    Stores are so outdated & falling apart.

    Advice to Management

    Get out if you have a chance.

    Houchens2018-10-27
  9. "Great Starter Company for College Grads or Senior Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Houchens full-time

    Pros

    This company has a great ESOP retirement program. The employees are really good people and you can really get some positive training here if your in management.

    Cons

    Employees under management really don't get the rewards or pay that is deserved. Senior management expects massive work for less pay then competitors. They isn't much room to grow in the company.

    Advice to Management

    Take a step back and remember that the base level employees matter as well. You have to keep the good employees rewarded to keep them interested in the company.

    Houchens2018-06-21
  10. "Marketing / Ad Corrdinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Bowling Green, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Houchens full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    ESOP stock plan and the people

    Cons

    The deadlines for some projects

    Houchens2018-05-15
Found 45 reviews