KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Engaged Employer

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Add a Review

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Content Specialist Reviews

Updated May 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 1,241 reviews

4.4
95%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt President, Chief Executive Officer and Director John “Jack” J. Lynch, Jr.
John “Jack” J. Lynch, Jr.
4 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,873

959 Comments

Join the conversation on

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Houghton Mifflin Harcourt and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Contractor

    Great company. Just bought out by harperCollins

    May 7, 2021 - CONTENT WRITER/MEDIA ASSOCIATE 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Quality work, flexibility, responsive bosses

    Cons

    Lack of communication, low pay

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good Place to Work if You Love Layoffs

    Dec 1, 2020 - Content Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My co-workers were awesome. This is the only place I have ever worked where I like my whole team.

    Cons

    Job security is non-existent there. I only worked there a few years and in those few years there were more layoffs than years I worked there. Even after the layoff that got me, they had more and almost my whole team was wiped out. So if you like the idea of getting laid off at any minute, by all means work here.

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Response

    Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for your years of service and feedback. These are very difficult times; we understand the frustration that can come with difficult decisions we had to make. As you know, HMH’s goal is to do everything possible to assure that we get through this pandemic stronger than better than before so thousands of students and teacher can rely on us as we move to a Digital First Strategy.

  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Good

    May 17, 2021 - Content Specialist in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Really Great People to work with.

    Cons

    It is a massive company and can often take a lot to get an answer to something.

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good supervisor

    Oct 7, 2020 - Content Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good leaders, good atmosphere, quality

    Cons

    none at this time of year

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Goal-oriented team leaders who care about work/life balance.

    May 27, 2020 - Content Specialist in Geneva, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Decent bonus structure -Flexible work hours -Occasional work-from-home opportunities -Caring community who does a lot of great things for the communities they serve -Helpful, through HR Department

    Cons

    -Can be strict with working from home -Not the best employee-issued equipment; some of it is very old -Some offices are in need of updating, especially Geneva, IL -Compensation disparities -Lack of career path in several roles

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Response

    Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks so much for your pretty great review and your 3+ years of service to HMH. We appreciate your positive feedback as well as your honesty on areas where you see room for improvement. We are working hard to make HMH a best in class workplace and we wish you every future success!

  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Shrinking Pains

    Dec 8, 2020 - Content Specialist in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Many great people and great products

    Cons

    Going through a lot of change right now

    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great people focused on results in learning

    Oct 2, 2020 - Content Specialist in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People truly care for their colleagues

    Cons

    Large company with slow progress

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    HMH is a great place to work! The products are make a difference!

    Feb 5, 2018 - Associate Customer Content Specialist in North East, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Management at all levels really care about employee feedback towards making positive change in operations.

    Cons

    Raises are minimal, but you are valued in non monetary ways.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Company

    Jun 29, 2015 - Content Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - work from home on non-travel days (for my role as a Content Specialist) - plenty of healthcare options - 401k matching - everyone is a professional - a lot of support - great pay - opportunities for growth and taking on different roles - company continues to grow and acquire other businesses

    Cons

    - ton of accounts and passwords

    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great People at a Good Company

    Aug 6, 2015 - Associate Content Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Take time to train you in your new role with opportunities to observe and collaborate with senior members. Will not put you in a position where you feel unprepared in front of a customer.

    Cons

    Working from home can feel isolated at times. Takes time to get all accounts set up, which can be frustrating as you attempt to navigate your first couple weeks. Travel may be too much for some to handle.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

Popular Careers with Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt? Share Your Experiences

or