KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Engaged Employer

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Add a Review

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Educational Consultant Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 of over 1,288 reviews

3.0
1%
Recommend to a Friend
12%
Approve of CEO
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt President, Chief Executive Officer and Director John “Jack” J. Lynch, Jr.
John “Jack” J. Lynch, Jr.
2 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,889

959 Comments

Join the conversation on

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Houghton Mifflin Harcourt and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Finally like my job!

    Dec 27, 2016 - Educational Consultant in Evansville, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Management has been great so far. I had been a teacher for over 20 years, so taking this leap to another career was a tough decision, but I'm so glad I made it. New challenges, great management, growth opportunities, support has been excellent...absolutely no regrets. It has been a long time since I could say I like my job - but I like my job!

    Cons

    The ONLY negative I have is that I think the per diem pay should be higher, and maybe even negotiated based on experience.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Contractor, more than 10 years

    Ed Tech Co.

    Dec 11, 2021 - Educational Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My colleagues were amazing . We worked together always supporting each other, sharing ideas and expertise. My managers were accessible and positive.

    Cons

    I worked for Houghton for close to 20 years and saw many iterations of the company. When I first began they were very teacher centric. Unfortunately, as they acquired more and more companies, they lost focus on what was best for teachers and students and focused more on the bottom line. When they went public everything shifted, and all decisions were made based on income. Employees and clients (teachers and students) were no longer the priority. As for employees, our salaries/rates went down. This is not the way to create a positive environment. They also let go of 3/4 of the strong managers nation wide.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Contractor, more than 1 year

    Working in Publishing is very Stressful

    Mar 28, 2014 - Educational Research Associate in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The location near Union Square was nice during the summer.

    Cons

    At the time there didn't seem to be a clear idea of where the company was headed in the future. It was purchased by a conglomerate and then sold back to the original owners within 5 years leading me to wonder why they had purchased it in the first place. Also many of the people who worked in other departments were unfriendly.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Contractor, more than 10 years

    Great Company

    Jan 9, 2019 - Independent Educational Consultant in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love my job. It offers me an opportunity to work with fabulous colleagues and educators. I am constantly learning new things and being challenged to think. It is a wonderful opportunity to grow. Being an independent contractor allows me to have a flexible schedule if need be.

    Cons

    Being a contractor means that the work is inconsistent, but for me this works.

    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Education Specialist

    Jun 23, 2015 - Educational Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fair salary, pleasant staff, excellent company overall

    Cons

    Not enough assignments Problems with getting payment of services Frequent changes in company organization and presenttion

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Educational Consultant

    Sep 19, 2015 - Educational Consultant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The perks of the job were wonderful and the traveling was very rewarding.

    Cons

    It was very difficult to get honest, timely and critical feedback to improve ones skills and work.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Educational consultant equals lots of travel

    Oct 29, 2014 - Educational Consultant in Detroit, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great product line, and some really good people

    Cons

    Travel was way off balance with no respect for quality of life

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Regional Consultant

    Nov 15, 2016 - Educational Regional Consultant in Carson, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone is very supportive and collaborative.

    Cons

    I am pretty new to the company and don't have any.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Excellent Company

    Jul 20, 2015 - Educational Consultant in Orlando, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Strong market presence.

    Cons

    Travel can be a bit much.

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Director Educational Partnerships

    Oct 9, 2015 - Director of Educational Partnerships in Chesapeake Beach, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company supported my activities well until I was injured on the job.

    Cons

    The company wasn't employee oriented in my estimation. I gave almost a 1/4 century of my life to HMH and they failed too assist me in my time of need

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews

Popular Careers with Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt? Share Your Experiences

or

Company Updates

Logo

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

42 days ago

Company News
We’re excited to announce that we have successfully completed HMH’s sale to Veritas Capital, accelerating our digital transformation and enhancing value for our customers.
Shared image - Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Successfully Completes Sale to Veritas Capital
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Successfully Completes Sale to Veritas Capital
www.hmhco.com

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Photos

+ Add Photo
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt photo of: Volunteer Week 2014 - HMH Austin Employees at Urban Roots
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt photo of: Better Together
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt photo of: HMH Headquarters in Boston
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt photo of: Employee Feedback Sessions at HMH
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt photo of: Employee Volunteers from the Orlando Office
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt photo of: Employee Feedback Sessions at HMH
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt photo of: Employees Meet in NYC Office
See All Photos