Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Reviews

Updated May 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
52%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt President, Chief Executive Officer and Director John “Jack” J. Lynch, Jr.
John “Jack” J. Lynch, Jr.
233 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work / life balance is exceptional(in 77 reviews)

  • "People stay with HMH because of the great people they work with(in 69 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management is very competitive, cut-throat(in 57 reviews)

  • "Senior management and leadership of some groups lack flexibility to seize revenue opportunities(in 40 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Houghton Mifflin Harcourt and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      It's a great place to work!!!

      May 6, 2020 - Lead Information Security Analyst in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Senior Management is great as they value your opinions and contributions. Awesome co-workers, who are outgoing and committed to seeing the company succeed. I enjoy the "Bright Spots" videos that are hosted by our CEO. They are very informative and they give an insight on what is going on within the company.

      Cons

      It would be nice to be able to work from home, more than one day a week.

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Work

      Apr 15, 2021 - Account Executive in Virginia Beach, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work with and easy products to sell.

      Cons

      Technology can make you crazy.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work with great coworkers

      Apr 28, 2021 - Product Owner 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great teams to work with Awesome content to work on Benefits are great Encourages employees to take control of their own career Great work/life balance

      Cons

      Sometimes teams can work in their own silos and communication can be lacking

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      One of the Best Publishers

      May 5, 2021 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Solid programs with a good reputation.

      Cons

      They took away a lot of perks making it really hard on the employees.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Wonderful Team, Earnest Leadership, Mission Inspired

      Apr 10, 2021 - Team Leader in Portsmouth, NH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A culture of engagement and devotion to mission, grownups solving problems, doing good while doing well

      Cons

      Heinemann is a wholly owned subsidiary of a public company, which means despite our success we can feel squeezed for resources

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good work culture

      Apr 23, 2021 - Developer in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very good work life balance!

      Cons

      Too many lay offs, almost every year!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Favortism and Discrimination

      Mar 30, 2021 - Learning and Development Specialist in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The Read 180 curriculum is strong and has strong research in helping students read.

      Cons

      My manager/supervisor compared me to another specialist who was her race. I got minimal support and was shamed and belittled in my appearance and dress.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      I think I’ll stay

      Apr 13, 2021 - Order Management Analyst in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I’m now a work from home employee Engagement within department is great

      Cons

      I haven’t come across any, my manager/director is great and so is the VP of my department. They listen to me and give me space to do my job.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      A sinking ship

      Mar 8, 2021 - Human Resources Assistant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Many talented and dedicated people work here. Unfortunately, a lot of them will probably be fired in the next inevitable round of layoffs.

      Cons

      Management just can't seem to figure out how to make money, so cutting staff and selling or eliminating parts of the company is the only way they can think of to keep going. Paying a CEO 4 million dollars a year to run a profitable company is usually a good idea. Paying the CEO of HMH 4 million dollars a year to drive this company into the ground is folly.   Fewer vice presidents would also make a big difference. There are far too many chiefs, and not enough indians at HMH.  At a meeting a few months ago the CEO mentioned that he didn't understand why the stock price was so low. I have a clue for you. A low stock price is how wall street tells you that your company stinks.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Response

      Talent Acquisition Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at HMH. We appreciate your many years of service and your commitment to supporting teachers and students through your work. While the last year has been extraordinary, and HMH has had to make big – but carefully calculated – changes to set our business up for success, we are confident in our strategic plan and committed to a culture that is built on trust. Input is valued on all levels and we appreciate employee feedback on how we can improve. At HMH, we are focused on providing teachers and students with the tools necessary to succeed, and we value the teams that help with that success.

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Becoming ed tech company

      Apr 11, 2021 - Customer Success Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      ELT has a clear vision and roadmap to becoming an ed tech compnay.

      Cons

      The iterative nature of moving from publishing to ed tech company creates an atmosphere of constant change, sometimes without time to evaluate the current process or decision.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,040 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Job Seekers

    Educational Consultant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Inside Sales Account Executive
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt? Share Your Experiences

    or