KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Engaged Employer

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Add a Review

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Reviews

Updated May 17, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,172 of over 1,289 reviews

3.4
57%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt President, Chief Executive Officer and Director John “Jack” J. Lynch, Jr.
John “Jack” J. Lynch, Jr.
304 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,892

960 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Houghton Mifflin Harcourt and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year
    Featured Review

    Great Company

    Oct 11, 2021 - Senior IP Analyst in Evanston, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are several reasons to work for HMH; here are a few; HMH allows employees to work from home or in the office. The work that HMH is doing to help each student feel seen while using HMH textbooks. HMH is working very hard to be inclusive, not only for the student's benefits but also for their employees.

    Cons

    Most of your team may be in a different state; not seeing a physical person may be a downside for some people, especially super social people.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A great place to work

    Jun 15, 2021 - Managing Editor in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I had a very good experience working at HMH.

    Cons

    I did not experience any downsides during my employment.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Environment for Learning

    May 17, 2022 - Prepress Technician in Orlando, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice place to work, helpful colleagues, great environment

    Cons

    Limited room for personal growth

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Solid employer

    May 5, 2022 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work life balance, competitive salary and benefits

    Cons

    Talent development is lacking overall.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Overall would recommend

    Apr 7, 2022 - Inside Sales Account Executive in Geneva, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Remote work is great, teammates are great, love what I do

    Cons

    Not a lot of opportunity to move up, raises are scarce, easy to feel not valued by company. They are definitely all about the money.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Hopeful we were headed in the right direction, but we're not . . .

    Apr 8, 2022 - Instructional Coach 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Unlimited Vacation - although, it's a double-edged sword because, as we were told, "nothing is guaranteed" and they put a huge hold on dates for the entire summer season even though we all just worked an entire school year. Flexibility with your calendar/schedule - although, again, that seems to be changing as we do not seem to "own" our calendars anymore Remote and in-person opportunities - but they are leaning away from in-person

    Cons

    They spread everyone thin. Between laying off a significant number of people, not rehiring to fill vacated positions, and asking content and program experts to become "jacks of all trades" instead of content or program experts (which is what we preach and were hired to do), it's been exhausting to work here for the past couple years. Pay is below average, they took away our bonuses, and merit pay is not based on merit, as people experience lower salary increases at higher performance reviews. There is a poor work-life balance in our division (we work well beyond 7.5 hour work days, are told to do professional development on our own time, managers and directors reach out while you're on vacation) Input from entry-level and even mid-level managers does not seem to matter to senior leadership. We change our direction/focus frequently which leads to lots of frustration and feeling far behind and unable to catch up for those of us constantly in the field.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great company to work for

    Apr 16, 2022 - Sales Enablement Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Solid history and plan for growth. I had fantastic managers.

    Cons

    None to share at this time.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Depends on the department

    Apr 11, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great corporate values, committed to diversity and inclusion

    Cons

    (Non-executive) leadership can demonstrate toxic positivity and top-down decision-making

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Too much instability

    Mar 12, 2022 - Director in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing coworkers. Good pay. Flexible work conditions

    Cons

    Too much change, oftentimes without systems and procedures in place ready to handle. Employees live in constant fear of layoffs which strike often and without any relationship to job performance or contribution to bottom line

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Ok

    May 3, 2022 - Human Resources in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people I worked with and the work I was able to do.

    Cons

    Never stable financially, not progressive

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,172 Reviews

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Reviews FAQs

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt has an overall rating of 3.4 out of 5, based on over 1,289 reviews left anonymously by employees. 57% of employees would recommend working at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt to a friend and 44% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.2 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

57% of Houghton Mifflin Harcourt employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Houghton Mifflin Harcourt 3.7 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.6 for culture and values and 3.0 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt to be work life balance, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be senior leadership, career development, management.

Popular Careers with Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt? Share Your Experiences

or

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Careers

Cover image for Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

For more than 185 years, we have inspired all learners to activate curiosity, elevate potential, and find their moments of brilliance and...More

  • Diversity
  • Social Impact
  • Benefits
  • Leadership
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Company Updates

Logo

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

1 days ago

How can technology better the lives of teachers and students? At HMH, we’re proud to do work that helps answer this question.
Shared image - https://districtadministration.com/great-resignation-gives-ed-tech-talent-boost/
https://districtadministration.com/great-resignation-gives-ed-tech-talent-boost/
districtadministration.com

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Photos

+ Add Photo
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt photo of: Volunteer Week 2014 - HMH Austin Employees at Urban Roots
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt photo of: Better Together
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt photo of: HMH Headquarters in Boston
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt photo of: Employee Feedback Sessions at HMH
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt photo of: Employee Volunteers from the Orlando Office
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt photo of: Employee Feedback Sessions at HMH
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt photo of: Employees Meet in NYC Office
See All Photos