KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Engaged Employer

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Add a Review

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Sep 29, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 92 of over 1,226 reviews

3.4
53%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt President, Chief Executive Officer and Director John “Jack” J. Lynch, Jr.
John “Jack” J. Lynch, Jr.
292 Ratings
Pros
  • "Offers great work - life balance(in 92 reviews)

  • "People stay with HMH because of the great people they work with(in 78 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Lots of meetings about what a great job upper management is doing(in 62 reviews)

  • "find a lifeboat because senior management is always going to put themselves before the people who actually know and understand the work(in 41 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Teachers

    Join the conversation on

    Teachers

    1y

    a 

    West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

    Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

    2,871

    959 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Houghton Mifflin Harcourt and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Inside Sales

      May 15, 2021 - Inside Sales Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company culture, work life balance, benefits, diversity & inclusion

      Cons

      Lower salary compared to competitors

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Love my team & my work!

      Sep 29, 2021 - Learning Experience Designer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      HMH hires awesome employees. People on my team are collaborative, supportive, and work towards a common goal. Work/life balance is great, including unlimited PTO. Our products and services make a difference in students' and teachers' lives.

      Cons

      There is definitely room for improvement in terms of project management and organization, but I think my division is taking steps in the right direction. When people leave or get laid off, they don't seem to hire, so work keeps piling up on those who stay. Lastly, compensation seems low compared to other EdTech companies/similair roles in other industries.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Education focused company

      Sep 6, 2021 - Supply Chain Management in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company with great mission and values. Offers great work - life balance

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Unstable environment

      Sep 13, 2021 - Project Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Not many pros to be honest. Hard work. Long hours. Intense demands. No work/life balance.

      Cons

      They still haven’t figured out how to run a company during COVID.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Okay

      Sep 7, 2021 - Senior Data Analyst in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance. Amazing perks.

      Cons

      No room for growth. Less learning.

      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Good Benefits

      Jun 6, 2021 - Administrative Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible hours and decent work life balance

      Cons

      Very low pay and too top heavy. I didnt get a raise for three years because I was at the top tier of my pay scale. I asked if I could be considered to move to another level up which could easily been done amd my boss laughed and said not happening and would need a different to find another job within the company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work with great coworkers

      Apr 28, 2021 - Product Owner 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great teams to work with Awesome content to work on Benefits are great Encourages employees to take control of their own career Great work/life balance

      Cons

      Sometimes teams can work in their own silos and communication can be lacking

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good work culture

      Apr 23, 2021 - Developer in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very good work life balance!

      Cons

      Too many lay offs, almost every year!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Project Manager

      Feb 17, 2021 - Project Manager in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work /life balance. Lots of options for professional development. C suite members often hold all hands on deck meetings with substance. Excellent people.

      Cons

      Restructuring business means layoffs for mid-level employees.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Very corporate

      Mar 25, 2021 - Designer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work/life balance, nice people as co-workers

      Cons

      Bad management, HR, low salary

      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 92 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt? Share Your Experiences

    or