House of Blues Reviews | Glassdoor

House of Blues Reviews

Updated May 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 145 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Ron Bension
49 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 11 reviews)

  • "Great company, great hours and great people I love working here(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Was 10x better before Live Nation took over(in 10 reviews)

  • "long hours, no regular lunch breaks(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stagehand in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at House of Blues part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and interesting work

    Cons

    have not found any yet

    House of Blues2019-05-28
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Assistant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at House of Blues part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Free Concert tickets - Comfortable work environment - Diverse

    Cons

    - Sold out shows you're not allowed to request tickets

    House of Blues2019-03-11
  3. "not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Door Host 

      I worked at House of Blues part-time

      Pros

      different every day, fast paced

      Cons

      bad management, wierd hours sometimes

      Advice to Management

      get a new GM

      House of Blues2019-03-21
    • "Generally good experience as a host at foundation room"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Hostess in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at House of Blues part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      VIP access to concerts Hours are manageable and flexible

      Cons

      Lack of hosts means not a lot of coverage available if you need to call out

      Advice to Management

      Better communication between managers and employees

      House of Blues2019-03-06
    • "Don’t do it"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Security/Door Host 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at House of Blues part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good Music and great people

      Cons

      Management Director of Security Pay

      Advice to Management

      Go take a class on how to treat and talk to employees.

      House of Blues2019-03-26
    • "Good opportunity"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Intern in Myrtle Beach, SC

        I worked at House of Blues part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        fun and upbeat company with good incentives

        Cons

        long hours and not a lot of benefits

        House of Blues2019-02-05
      • "Love them!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Server in Lake Buena Vista, FL
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at House of Blues part-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        I have worked for HOB for almost ten years now, in that time allot of changes have been made. Some good some not so good. The good are of course the music perks! Discount on food. Working on Disney property you also get Disney 3rd party benefits and those are pretty great! Most of the management is great. It was my 2nd home for a long time and you really do feel like the people you work with are your family.

        Cons

        Money goes up or down, health care benefits have gone way down, not all management was good at boosting moral.

        Advice to Management

        You take the good with the bad. I love working with you all!

        House of Blues2019-02-03
      • "Fun Atmosphere, but that's it"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Server 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at House of Blues part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great camaraderie amongst staff, it is a fun place to work, you feel like a family

        Cons

        So much corporate red tape. They're super tough about keeping part-time employees part-time, very stingy pay (raises came in 25 cent increments) Profit is much more important than staff success/job-satisfaction and it shows in corporate's initiatives

        House of Blues2019-01-26
      • Helpful (1)

        "No Good Money (Foundation Room)"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Bartender in Chicago, IL
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at House of Blues part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        You get to watch shows for free depending on the location in the venue you work. You meet cool people that have big dream and goal bigger than their position.

        Cons

        I was bamboozled into thinking working in the foundation room was where I’ll meet celebrities and make good money. Only to find out it’s a lot of dry nights and so many private events. It’s no real money as a bartender/server in the room. They show favoritism to the white employees plus make sure they’re good financially. The black employees get talked down to and treated unfairly. They do not care that you don’t make...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Hire better quality managers that can actually give great directions plus treat everyone fairly. Your turnover rate will stay the same until you make sure your employees are happy and compensated well!

        House of Blues2019-01-17
      • "Avoid"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Production Manager in San Diego, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at House of Blues full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great Bands and dome true Die-hard music lovers.

        Cons

        High employee turn over due to lack of leadership and resentful petty internal fights. True lack of direction for the venue with no sense of loyalty.

        House of Blues2019-01-14
      Found 145 reviews