Housing Authority of the City of Austin Reviews

Updated Aug 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
56%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Housing Authority of the City of Austin President and CEO Michael Gerber
Michael Gerber
2 Ratings
  1. "Great atmosphere with a diverse staff and many women in leadership roles"

    5.0
    Current Contractor - Full Stack Developer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Housing Authority of the City of Austin for more than a year

    Pros

    An open-door policy for all of management and operations, which allows for any concerns or new ideas to be communicated. IT Management is always open for innovative ideas to improve current technologies and stay current with the latest trends and best practices.

    Cons

    Contractors do not have access to the gym and do not have access to the office on non-regular workdays.

    Housing Authority of the City of Austin2019-08-03
  2. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - MIS Support Specialist in Austin, TX
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Housing Authority of the City of Austin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefit My boss was down to earth Awesome co workers

    Cons

    No overtime. Downtown traffic was a disaster.

    Continue reading
    Housing Authority of the City of Austin2019-04-05
  3. "Intern"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Housing Authority of the City of Austin

    Pros

    Best Company, work environment, and benefits

    Cons

    I do not feel any cons for HACA

    Housing Authority of the City of Austin2018-03-05
  4. "Career Coordinator"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Career Coordinator in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Housing Authority of the City of Austin full-time

    Pros

    Great environment. Meaningful work. Great benefits

    Cons

    Very political which can sometimes make it difficult

    Continue reading
    Housing Authority of the City of Austin2017-08-29
  5. "IT Support Intern"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at Housing Authority of the City of Austin

    Pros

    Excellent opportunity to help the city, and to learn how to deal with people in a professional capacity

    Cons

    Communication was a bit lacking in certain areas

    Housing Authority of the City of Austin2017-06-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Need more employees"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Housing Authority of the City of Austin

    Pros

    Organized, fast paced, tenants, nice hours , gym on site

    Cons

    Too much work for little pay,not enough training, some employees are rude, need more employees to lessen the case load , no overtime

    Continue reading
    Housing Authority of the City of Austin2016-06-09
  7. "haca"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Housing Authority of the City of Austin

    Pros

    Excellent Mission, Decent Pay, Great Benefits

    Cons

    Severely Over-worked...constantly burnt out - have not one ounce of energy at day's end - serious lack of communication, thought to be a robot w/out a life, must not mix/mingle w/co-workers, very depressing, and stressful.

    Continue reading
    Housing Authority of the City of Austin2016-05-13
  8. "Nice company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Admissions Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Housing Authority of the City of Austin

    Pros

    Great company benefits and pay

    Cons

    Lack support from upper management

    Continue reading
    Housing Authority of the City of Austin2014-12-03
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Hard as hell"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Housing Authority of the City of Austin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The residents are amazing. A lot of freedom to create events and programming. It's rewarding to see people get GEDs and go to college and do well.

    Cons

    Management is terrible. Lack of vision, guidance. Overworked- I had three properties and over 500 residents that could contact me for anything at any moment. Very stressful.

    Continue reading
    Housing Authority of the City of Austin2014-04-04

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews