KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Houston Methodist

Engaged Employer

Houston Methodist

Add a Review

Houston Methodist Employee Reviews about "medical center"

Updated Dec 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 42 of over 1K reviews

4.3
88%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "They have great benefits as well(in 109 reviews)

  • "good benefits from working here(in 51 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low pay compared to the rest of the medical center(in 24 reviews)

  • "long hours, constant beeping noise(in 17 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Houston Methodist and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "medical center"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      RN

      Dec 20, 2020 - Registered Nurse in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, good company to work for

      Cons

      Parking in the medical center and traffic

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Good place to work

      Nov 24, 2020 - Uaa in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good place to work in the medical center

      Cons

      There is no cons for methodist

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Excellent place to work

      Oct 30, 2020 - Registered Nurse in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture and people who care

      Cons

      Low pay compared to the rest of the medical center

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Terrible

      Dec 26, 2019 - IMU/ICU RN Registered Nurse in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fellow nursing staff are easy to get along with. Patients are not terrible.

      Cons

      1. Heavy workload, management does not care. 2. Shockingly and Incredibly rude management. (Why I left) They do not care about anyone but themselves and will block you for applying to other units. Petty. Promotion is based on social relationships and not on experience/minimum requirements 3. Worst company I have ever worked for. 4. Pay is lower than most of the medical center. 5. Lied to me during the interview process. 6. The work environment was so hostile that the $10,000 sign on bonus was not even worth it. 7. Highest staff turnover in the entire hospital 8. Toxic. Everyone is unhappy.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      11 years, multiple promotions, plenty of pay increases, love it here!

      Oct 5, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      What sets Houston Methodist apart from other organizations is the culture. The I CARE values of Integrity, Compassion, Accountability, Respect and Excellence permeate everything we do. We do strive to be the best - the best employer, the best patient care provider, the best patient experience provider - and sometimes that push for excellence is overwhelming to new people. But for those of us who thrive an setting and achieving high expectations, it is incredibly rewarding. I started as a non-management employee and have worked my way up through a few promotions. My salary has increased proportionate with the new challenges I have taken on and my benefits continue to grow with tenure. The benefits package is so rich for tenured employees it is hard to even consider making a change. Good pay, good benefits, a flexible schedule, opportunities for growth - what is not to love? Oh yeah - $millions in investment of extra PTO when we flooded in May - what other company does that? None that I know of!

      Cons

      If you want a job where you can just show up and exist, but not contribute with passion and expertise, you will not survive here. Parking in the med center is a known challenge not just for Methodist, and is a tradeoff you have to live with to work in the world's most innovative medical center. But parking is free, which is better than a lot of companies in the Houston area's condensed business centers.

      Continue reading
      27 people found this review helpful

      Houston Methodist Response

      Houston Methodist Representative

      Thank you for your review! Houston Methodist dedicates itself to service excellence and leading medicine. Our success is driven by our I-CARE platform and is embraced and practiced by all employees.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Review

      Aug 12, 2019 - Postdoctoral Fellow 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Less stressful and convenient in medical center

      Cons

      Very unbearable weather in Houston

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Work life balance

      May 17, 2019 - Patient Care Assistant in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working as a PCA at HMH medical center location is great. The upper management takes into consideration if you have a family or have to pursue your dreams such as going to school

      Cons

      They are always short staffed

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      Dec 5, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits and bonuses. Competitive salaries.

      Cons

      Parking is awful at the medical center location.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great job

      Mar 19, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Bonuses, room for moving up, opportunities for education

      Cons

      Texas Medical Center Parking is not the best, very congested

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Medical Records PRN

      Apr 13, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wonderful staff and management. They have many incentives with working with this organization. They also pay very well and they also included bonuses. There are many events and actives for staff and their families.

      Cons

      The only con i can say there is, is the commute. It is in the Texas Medical Center where parking and driving can be really difficult. But they do have a plan in place but the commute can still be a headache at times.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 42 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Houston Methodist Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Houston Methodist? Share Your Experiences

    or