Houston Metro Reviews | Glassdoor

Houston Metro Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 49 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Houston Metro CEO George Greanias (no image)
George Greanias
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "Benefits , great employees to work with ( immediate crew )(in 2 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Looking to Move Forward, Just Need the Right Decision Makers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Houston, TX

    I have been working at Houston Metro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are all super collaborative

    Cons

    Change Management within Leadership is lacking.

    Houston Metro2019-08-21
  2. "It takes time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Light Rail Operator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Houston Metro full-time

    Pros

    There are different positions available after you go up in seniority

    Cons

    High turnover rates. Very stressful

    Advice to Management

    Need to build for a better culture. Employees need to feel appreciated

    Houston Metro2019-08-22
  3. "Good stepping stone job, not worth staying though"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bus Operator in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Houston Metro full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of overtime available, paid vacation, sick time

    Cons

    Stagnant uncompetitive hourly rate, split shifts for only 8 hours pay unless your willing to work nights

    Advice to Management

    Drop the tiered pay system and raise our hourly to be competitive with other cities of our population and you will have less turnover

    Houston Metro2019-07-06
  4. "Traction Power Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Traction Power Technician in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Houston Metro full-time

    Pros

    Can't think of one

    Cons

    Supervision needs to be replaced extremely unprofessional. Willing to take to many unsafe chances with live electricity. To many unhinged hot head supervisors. Supervisor picking on subordinate employees.

    Advice to Management

    There need to be some changes. I worked in and around the Electrical Industry for over 15 years and never ever in my life have I seen anything remotely close to this!

    Houston Metro2018-11-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Bus Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Houston Metro full-time

    Pros

    Permanent Job No constant supervision Paid training

    Cons

    Pay could be better Hours are very demanding

    Houston Metro2018-10-17
  6. "Just a job and a paycheck, nothing else."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bus Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Houston Metro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good part about this job is you get to see the neighborhood and all the streets. If you aren't the type that drove around much, Metro's routing will take you to places you have never seen before. Working at Metro will get you to ride the service for free, useful if you travel within the Downtown area. It is very easy to get in if you are looking for bus driver job, others not so much.

    Cons

    As many have said, Metro is a place rampant with favoritism. Some opportunity are afforded to others while not made available to all. If you like driving, then this is a great place for you. For many of my fellow workers, the stars have long vanished from their eyes and they are just punching the clocks. Every couple of months when there is a schedule change, I have seen some people left the company. Whether it is... voluntary or not, I will never know; all I have seen is people coming and going all the time. Since the scheduling is classified by seniority, the most senior drivers get the best routes, great schedule, and good amount of hours while the rest of us faces the brunt of overcrowding routes and traffics scrapping the leftovers with about 40 ~ 41 hours; yet the pay is exactly the same whether you serve 5 passengers or 100 passengers during your work day. However, the 40 full time hour is misleading, often you have to travel to continue driving the bus on route and Metro will not pay you during that travel time. Depending on the scheduling, you might have up to an hour before you start working; that is a lot of time Metro takes from you unfairly. The line "this job is not for everybody" is always thrown about, but this is a poor excuse not to improve working conditions for your workers. The Unions are nothing to write home about either, it seems like they are just in bed with the company because the pay fells way behind the national average. Yet this is an organization that is supposed to treat everybody the same, but the senior drivers gets a special pay bump for themselves; it really shows whose benefit they have on their mind. Houston is the 4th largest city in the US, yet our pay does not reflect that. Metro bleeds driver bad, but it doesn't treat its existing work force any better. The call for overtime are frequently announced over the radio but alas, the overtime spots are only given out to groups of selected individuals. I feel like if Metro could chain us drivers to the steering wheel, they would.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Nothing. It seems they viewed themselves as doing a wonderful job. The Downtown Headquarter is certainly beautifully renovated, but the actual situation is the transit center located right outside; dirty, dilapidated, and in disarray.

    Houston Metro2018-08-20
  7. "BEST COMPANY I'VE EVER WORKED"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RIDE STORE ASSOCIATE in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Houston Metro full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent pay and benefits; exceptional training program

    Cons

    No cons that need metioning

    Houston Metro2018-07-18
  8. Helpful (2)

    "City politics, management disorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Houston Metro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Budget and training unlimited with city sales tax and federal grants. Nice people and free bus and train.

    Cons

    Politics and lack of advancement for minorities and who you know versus what you know. Technical expertise is not rewarded but feared by insecure management.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to people since you serve the public and don’t encourage games and politics. If people are encouraged and mentored properly then advancement benefits everybody.

    Houston Metro2018-06-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "IT Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Houston Metro full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits , great employees to work with ( immediate crew )

    Cons

    understaffed , disorganized, lack of advancement, favoritism on a large scale especially against employees that are black, brown and yellow

    Advice to Management

    end the good ole boy mentality and allow room for advancement . Obvious favoritism across the board . The extreme wrong some do are overlooked while minor incidents of others receive punishment and write ups . Human Resource allows this to continue as well

    Houston Metro2018-06-10
  10. "Metro"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Houston Metro full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people are friendly and nice.

    Cons

    Pay is low for work load.

    Advice to Management

    Some managers need hands on experience.

    Houston Metro2017-12-08
Found 49 reviews