Houston Northwest Medical Center Reviews | Glassdoor

Houston Northwest Medical Center Reviews

Updated Jun 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 36 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Houston Northwest Medical Center CEO Tim Puthoff
Tim Puthoff
3 Ratings
  1. "RPGST"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - RPGST in South Houston, TX

      I have been working at Houston Northwest Medical Center full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      I enjoy the management and the atmosphere. I’ve been working here for years and now I feel it’s time to change

      Cons

      The hospital was bought by another company and things have changed

      Advice to Management

      I love my management group. They are always considerate of their Employees that work for them. For that I really appreciate it very much

      Houston Northwest Medical Center2019-05-01
    • "Former Tenet employee"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Houston Northwest Medical Center full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Great staff, Great networking job, recently sold to HCA

      Cons

      even though you may work there for years the loyalty is not to you

      Houston Northwest Medical Center2019-06-06
    • "Great place to work however they do not do a good job at allowing employees to balance work and home life"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Houston, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Houston Northwest Medical Center full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The nurses are competent and provide excellent patient care. Some of the higher level staff and management are very friendly and team based

      Cons

      they do not do a good job at allowing employees to balance work and home life. Some managers will take the nurses from patient care to have a meeting and then your work is behind

      Advice to Management

      Learn how to communicate more effectively and provide scheduled meetings while the nurses aren't providing patient care

      Houston Northwest Medical Center2019-05-09
    • "Behavioral Health Technician"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX

      I worked at Houston Northwest Medical Center full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Staff is amazing in generous.

      Cons

      More hours would be lovely .

      Houston Northwest Medical Center2018-12-05
    • "Mammographer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Houston Northwest Medical Center part-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Very caring and knowledgeable staff.

      Cons

      Not much opportunity to advance career.

      Houston Northwest Medical Center2018-10-18
    • Helpful (1)

      "Bad Management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - ER RN in Houston, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Houston Northwest Medical Center full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Vast Amount of Experience learned, co-workers were a bast to work with

      Cons

      worked in Case Management and the Directors bottom line was not about the patients or her employees but how fast can we get the patient out of the hospital

      Houston Northwest Medical Center2018-08-18
    • "N/A"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX

        I worked at Houston Northwest Medical Center full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Excellent staff to work with

        Cons

        Coworker sometime dont like you

        Houston Northwest Medical Center2018-07-11
      • Helpful (1)

        "Pay sucks"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Nurse 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Houston Northwest Medical Center full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        My fellow employees. I love all the employees I work with.

        Cons

        Terrible pay. No room for advancement. No step or tier program for nurses or nurse assistants to gain more pay or growth.

        Advice to Management

        Yearly pay raises

        Houston Northwest Medical Center2018-06-18
      • Helpful (1)

        "Wouldn't be my first choice"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Houston Northwest Medical Center part-time

          Pros

          Friendly staff Self scheduling Computer charting (cerner)

          Cons

          Poor management (3 different managers in 5 years)

          Houston Northwest Medical Center2018-06-10
        • Helpful (1)

          "RN"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Staff RN in Houston, TX
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Houston Northwest Medical Center full-time for more than 5 years

          Pros

          Great Company, made changes once HCA bought Tenet.

          Cons

          Made trauma center and closed our department, resulting in lay off.

          Houston Northwest Medical Center2018-05-27
        Found 36 reviews