Houzz Account Executive Reviews | Glassdoor

Houzz Account Executive Reviews

Updated Mar 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Houzz Chief Executive Officer Adi Tatarko
Adi Tatarko
71 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture, growth opportunity, learned a ton"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Tempe, AZ
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture is amazing, people are friendly, management is amazing and hands on, fully stocked kitchen, and tons of office events

    Cons

    the work itself can be repetitive or boring. You are doing inside sales smiling and dialing every day, all day. This can create burnout and turnover pretty quickly.

    Houzz2019-11-13

    Houzz Response

    December 18, 2019Houzz on Glassdoor

    Thank you so much for the review! I agree wholeheartedly that the culture at Houzz is amazing, and the people are the best I’ve worked with. I’m in the process of relocating from the Orange County office to the Phoenix area to lead the sales team there. If you are up for it, I’d love to take a moment to catch up with you about how we can do better with regard to helping our teams battle potential burnout and thrive. Alex Hays, Regional Sales Manager, Phoenix (alex.hays@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good culture, burn out quickly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food, good culture, fun people

    Cons

    easy to burn out, money fluctuates, lot of pressure from management

    Houzz2020-03-05
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Houzz vs. COVID-19"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Executive 

    I have been working at Houzz full-time

    Pros

    Houzz Core Values- "We're a family, we make things happen, we build a future."

    Cons

    Where we are: The continued spread of COVID-19 presents employers with an array of unprecedented workforce management and public health challenges. This virus is causing significant business disruptions. Employees find comfort in communication that their company has their best interest in mind, "we're a family" after all, right? How we reacted: Copy/Paste emails from our CEO last Friday and again on March 12th were anything but comforting. It was simply robotic. It included external CDC links, FAQ sheet and wash your hands. The follow up email received shortly after this emotionless address was from our channel VP attempting to soften the blow with an opening statement that said the welfare of our employees was important to him. An obvious attempt to keep calm and carry on. Why we are not prepared; September of 2019 it was communicated to our sales channel that working remote is in the works! What exciting news to hear, these felt like encouraging words. Yesterday our CEO put simply, we have teams that are not currently set up for remote work. The teams she was referring to are two revenue generating teams for the company. These teams are deemed superior and valued to the business - the referral money alone for a Sales Rep vs a Support Specialist makes our value obvious. Could you imagine seeing teams all around you head home to "safely" work remote while being asking to continue to work on sales floor with well over 250 people for 8 hours a day midst this pandemic crisis?So let's be real, getting the sales teams ready to work remote was never part of any action plan, not in Q3, Q4 or Q1. So here we are, smiling and dialing until COVID-19 hits someone in this office and leadership is forced to take action. Why I'm upset: This was a huge missed opportunity for Houzz. Good press, happy employees but we aren't prepared. We tout to our customers every day that we are a progressive tech company but here we are with no laptops to send people home with and not enough licenses to operate remote. Trust has been broken, integrity gets an eye roll and there's team animosity. Final thought: We're a family until a pandemic affects our bottom line. Oh and our pod is out of hand sanitizer.

    Houzz2020-03-13

    Houzz Response

    March 18, 2020Houzz on Glassdoor

    This is unprecedented, no doubt about that, and our teams have been working nonstop to ensure the health and welfare of employees as well as business continuity during this challenging time. It was absolutely essential that we have the right tools and systems in place to enable employees who are supporting our customers to be able to work from home effectively-- at scale. This was not possible to do one team at a time, we had to prepare an entire workforce. One day after the communication to you that we were working hard to make this possible, we did. We have offices all over the globe that we need to take care of, and doing so as quickly and as responsibly as possible has been our priority. At a time of considerable disinformation about COVID-19, we also believe it is our responsibility to ensure we provide our employees with credible resources to turn to for accurate information. We will continue to do that. If you have additional questions, please reach out to me directly. Ana Harris-Padley, Head of People (ana.harris@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  4. "Great people, tough job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Executive 

    I have been working at Houzz full-time

    Pros

    Amazing team members and people in the office

    Cons

    Extremely difficult sell with very cold leads

    Houzz2020-02-08
  5. Helpful (5)

    "I wish I had read the reviews before taking the position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The co-workers are great, in a misery loves company type of way. They have an early in early out schedule and I never took my work home with me.

    Cons

    So many, what was explained during the interview process was a lot different then the day to day of the job. Be prepared to make 85-100 dials a day to accounts that have been called repetitively. There's no real do not call list, so if a business owner asks to be on one, you close the account so they can be called by someone else in a few months. Dials are of the upmost importance here and I cannot stress that enough. Several people there are calling the same number 10x a day, calling numbers they know are disconnected and just overall having miserable days to hit that number, regardless of talk time. Although I asked several times throughout my tenure, still couldn't tell you what it would take to get a promotion from AE2 to AE3, not really sure if the managers know either. There are tons of inconsistencies from one manager to the next. As soon as you go from training or their 'greenhouzz' to the sales floor the overall message is 'forget everything you learned in training it gets better over here' except it doesn't.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2020-02-13

    Houzz Response

    February 14, 2020Houzz on Glassdoor

    I’m sorry to hear your experience with us was not a better one. Sales positions do require a great deal of time on the phone, and it is admittedly not for everyone. In the past couple years, we have put in place a strong program for career pathing across the company, to help our teams grow with us and advance their careers. I do want to make one thing very clear. Houzz follows all regulatory requirements for the Do Not Call list and always has. If you saw anything contradictory to that, please get in touch with me. Alex Hays, Regional Sales Manager, Phoenix (alexander.hays@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  6. "Houzzer for life."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Houzz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really could not ask for better.

    Cons

    Desk moves, cumbersome technology in some areas.

    Houzz2019-10-10
  7. "Fun work environment and good stepping stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really fun work environment, great benefits, free food, fun contests and outside of work activities, nice office space

    Cons

    Pay is less than ideal, the office can have a LOT of drama and cattiness

    Continue reading
    Houzz2019-10-07
  8. Helpful (10)

    "the Houzz is burning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Executive 

    I have been working at Houzz full-time

    Pros

    free food, cute furniture?

    Cons

    don't work here,terrible management, no path to move forward

    Houzz2019-09-27
  9. "Best. Career. Move. Ever."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Houzz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing management and leadership (I truly believe my boss cares about my career AND my overall well being). No micro management. Realistic sales goals. Comfortable environment. The best training you could ask for (And if you apply it...It works!) Incredible bonus structure. You can absolutely make over $80K if you work hard and can close. Best benefits anyone could ask for.

    Cons

    They give you a good amount of PTO, but it would be nice to have a little more, especially if you have health issues. The option for top performers to work remotely once in a while.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2019-09-23

    Houzz Response

    September 30, 2019Houzz on Glassdoor

    Thank you for the incredible review! We’ve put a lot of effort into creating a comprehensive training program and environment to help people get started on the right foot at Houzz, and your experience is truly a testament to that system. Kudos to all your hard work! I am so glad to hear you are thriving here. If you have more to share, please feel free to reach out any time. Kristen Heimstra, Director of Sales, New Business (kristen.heimstra@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (22)

    "Overpromise Underdeliver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some people are great The peripheral stuff: free food, coffee, catered breakfast on Monday, catered lunch on Friday, casual dress code, workout Wednesdays, can leave at 3pm, they got that good ice.

    Cons

    Over promise under deliver, it’s the same whether you’re an employee or an advertiser. There’s no accountability from upper management who brought in a team of senior account executives promising the world. Most of these people have left, and there were some really talented salespeople among the group. Despite the failure of this no one at the top is held accountable, yet these talented people were. Half of the floor is on blueprint(performance plan) and like 20% of the floor actually hits their quarterly quota. They even had to lower quotas by 25-33% to try to create a winning culture. What growth company lowers goals? They’re hiring a ton and might as well turn the doors into those revolving ones like hotels have. The churn among AEs is absurdly high, management doesn’t seem to care about this, but hey “We’re a Family.” They give you the leads, which sounds great until you realize they’re terribly vetted. A total crapshoot unless you the top performer who spends her time hanging around the sales planning team. Sales planning is useless, leads come in from profiles created on Houzz which can include accident lawyers or escorts, it’s not hard to vet this garbage. Have fun making 100 dials/day to the same 400 prospects. They want one call closes so bad and offer same day incentives for signing right now by negotiating prices down just to sign up a pro, not holding any value to the product. Once a pro gets off that call and does research of their own they won’t take another call from a Houzz rep. Basically shut down the co-op program, which should really be a focus to bring in growth of national brands and help small businesses launch their online exposure. Product is terrible, It won’t work for the majority of pros. The reason most renew is because they’re auto-renewed without notice for another 12 month term, without an early termination clause now. This isn’t really communicated on the front end and they most likely aren’t reading the fine print on their contract. Check out the BBB reviews, these reviews paint a really good picture of the pros experience. CEO is uninspiring, gives the same quarterly speech to show what she thinks is transparency. They’re conflicted trying to IPO, focus only on bringing new pros into a saturated platform without growing the actual user base who will bring business to those paying pros. Their revenue is based on selling marketing but they can’t effectively market their own company. When have you seen or heard a commercial for Houzz? I’m sure you’ve heard them for Home Advisor or Angie’s List. I mean, for a growing company you’ve been touting 40million users for over 2 years, where the homeowner growth???

    Continue reading
    Houzz2019-10-05

    Houzz Response

    October 28, 2019Houzz on Glassdoor

    There’s a lot to unpack here, so I will focus on a few points. I’m glad to see some very strong pros listed, despite what sounds like a disappointing experience. In terms of our sales leadership, we’ve invested a great deal in new training over the last couple years to help grow strong managers and provide them the tools to help their teams succeed, and we are seeing great results. Our goals now also take seasonality into account, which is likely responsible for the adjustments you noted here. We do believe in creating a winning culture with our sales teams with realistic and achievable goals, and working with seasonality is part of that. Communication can be challenging within a company that has grown as fast as Houzz, and we continue to work on ways to make sure people understand the product and what other teams are involved in - including ongoing large brand advertising initiatives, that it sounds like you may not have been aware of. That’s on us! I do appreciate the feedback, and if you are comfortable talking one-on-one, please do reach out. I would love to hear more about your personal experience with us. Joey Nalevka, VP of Sales (joey.nalevka@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
Found 111 reviews