Houzz Customer Service Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

Houzz Customer Service Representative Reviews

Updated Feb 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
72%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Houzz Chief Executive Officer Adi Tatarko
Adi Tatarko
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Houzz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Overall moral in the office is high at all times. Great employees, great benefits, office is always stocked with food and snacks, always room for growth and in house promotion

    Cons

    There are no cons that I can think of at all

    Houzz2020-01-13
  2. "Stressful but worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Houzz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, kitchen, catered lunch every Friday, good pay, good management, overall good work environment

    Cons

    As a customer service rep, it can be very stressful. There are not enough reps to handle the volume of calls.

    Houzz2020-02-16
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Too much money spent on "perks""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Young work culture, beautiful offices, newest tech, has a kitchen

    Cons

    Micromanaging, poor balance of workload between CSS and CSR reps, high stress environment with little emotional support, pay is too low for the stress.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2019-10-04

    Houzz Response

    October 18, 2019Houzz on Glassdoor

    Thank you for the feedback. I agree, the office is beautiful and we are well taken care of here in Nashville. I hear you on the stress that can come with working in customer service and problem solving. It is such an important job! If you are comfortable reaching out, please get in touch with me directly. I would love to hear more about how we can do better for our reps. Dale Sahs, Director of Customer Support, (dale.sahs@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (17)

    "Terrible place that will burn you out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Houzz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lunch on Fridays . Breakfasts are hit or miss. They’ll feed you something good one week then three weeks later turn around and serve oatmeal or cold cereal or fruit.

    Cons

    Everything. Low pay, no opportunity for advancement, makes you compete for 1 promotion every year and a half. Houzz fixes everything with food instead of actual resolutions . They’ll feed you doughnuts till you die instead of hiring managers with experience and personality and the ability to lead through inspiration. I cannot tell you how drained I am after trying my best for so long only to be turned down for promotions and opportunities for some arbitrary canned reason. This place is extremely cliquey . They are like high school girls who decide who is cool and who isn’t. Congratulations if you get to be the prom queen, but in the real world the people who get promoted are promoted on merit, integrity, and performance. Not at Houzz though. Just pretend you love The Office and can’t wait to show everyone pictures of your dog and you’ll be a shoe in for a promotion in no time. Just smile and nod and never ever question anything. They want people who drink the koolaid, they’re not interested in actual feedback.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2019-03-25

    Houzz Response

    April 1, 2019Houzz on Glassdoor

    First, thank you for submitting a review. What you are describing here is not in line with the experience we strive to create for our team. As you may be aware we have implemented leadership training to help ensure our managers are best equipped to help their teams develop. We have also begun a structured process for annual reviews, providing a framework to help people grow in their careers with us and reach their goals. If you are comfortable please reach out to me so that I can better understand your experience and how we can help. Dale Sahs, Director of Customer Support (dale.sahs@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Houzz"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Nashville, TN
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free breakfast on Monday - wear workout clothes on Wednesday - free lunch on Friday - fully stocked kitchen with snacks - decent pay

    Cons

    I would only recommend this job for ages 18-35

    Houzz2019-02-05
  6. Helpful (14)

    "There’s no reason to work here when there are better jobs in the same market"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friday lunch, snacks, nice computers

    Cons

    Socialization is heavily discouraged amongst lower level employees, fear based management, they spin negative things for the employees as positives for the company

    Continue reading
    Houzz2019-02-16
  7. Helpful (16)

    "By far the WORST company I’ve ever worked for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They draw you in with free snacks and aesthetically pleasing office decor, but once you realize most of the people there gossip like teenagers and they barely pay enough to get by, the excitement fades. I met some great people here, but that doesn’t erase the fact that the company is a dumpster fire. If you like being consumed with anxiety, talked about by management, and harassed to the point of quitting, this is the place for you!

    Cons

    The company is clearly going under. They’re laying people off faster than wild fire and their excuses for it are hardly convincing. I find it hard to believe they’re making any money at all considering the amount of irate customers you have to speak to on a daily basis. The complete lack of diversity and professionalism is another huge issue. It’s nearly impossible to get a raise, there is barely any room for growth, and the benefits really aren’t that great. They make you use vacation time if you’re sick and offer no sick days. Honestly I could go on, and on and on.......

    Continue reading
    Houzz2019-01-30

    Houzz Response

    April 3, 2019Houzz on Glassdoor

    Thank you for taking a moment to submit a review. I am sorry to read that your experience was not a more positive one. The environment you describe is not what we work to create in our offices, nor what we expect of our managers. We have implemented leadership training for our managers to help ensure they are able to empower their teams and grow new leaders, and an annual review program that helps our employees stay on track to grow their careers with us. The feedback for this has been tremendously positive. If you would be comfortable sharing more about your time with us, please feel free to reach out directly. I am always eager to learn how we can improve. Lisa Rambo, VP of Marketplace Operations (lisa.rambo@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (16)

    "Incredible Work Environment and Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Houzz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I never expected to be working as a customer service agent for a company like Houzz, but I'm glad that I am. The management and leadership really value employees and I feel like there is a lot of potential for growth in my personal career path and as a company.

    Cons

    It's hard work. You are ON for 8 solid hours a day, sometimes more. But I'd rather be working hard and making good numbers, showing my worth, than just lolly-gagging.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2017-03-14

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 8 reviews