Houzz Sales Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Sales

Create your profile to get personalized information

Houzz Sales Reviews

Updated Mar 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
41%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Houzz Chief Executive Officer Adi Tatarko
Adi Tatarko
45 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training was great, LD team really makes sure you are prepped for your role. My sales manager was dedicated and always took the time when I asked for help. Team was fun and there are lost of fun contests and encouragement and we’ acted like a family. Houzz goes above and beyond with perks. Full kitchen, fun events, and basic health care was free. It is a sales role and you are expected to hit goals, but for inside sales this company is an ideal job. Phone sales turned out not to be my strong suit so I sought a different career. Over all, I had a great experience at Houzz and still have friendships that formed from this job.

    Cons

    Like any typical inside sales job it can be frustrating but Houzz does it’s best to make a wonderful environment.

    Houzz2019-12-16

    Houzz Response

    December 18, 2019Houzz on Glassdoor

    Thank you for posting! We’ve worked really hard to create a robust training program, and I really appreciate hearing this feedback. While I’m sorry you did not find inside sales to be the best path for you, I’m glad your time with us was so positive and wish you the best! Peter Hoyt, Regional Sales Manager, Nashville

    Continue reading
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Houzz full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment and people

    Cons

    I dont have anything bad to say

    Houzz2019-12-17
  3. "Great Develeopment Role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Houzz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fully Stocked Kitchen, Good benefits, young and fun staff, lunch on Fridays, invested managers

    Cons

    Pay is low, expected to meet goals, that aren't unattainable, but are very very overworked leads, where sometimes I feel like you don't get a fair shot.

    Houzz2020-03-27
  4. "Pleasant place to work if you enjoy competition and repetition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Nashville, TN

    I have been working at Houzz full-time

    Pros

    Support from managers. Daily goals and check points to measure your success .

    Cons

    Not a high enough base pay to incentivize employees long term.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2020-03-04
  5. "Company has potential, but lacks leadership to be special"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Representative in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Houzz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Growing company and good product

    Cons

    Lack of leadership, employees don't feel valued, high turnover, and low pay.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2020-03-04

    Houzz Response

    March 18, 2020Houzz on Glassdoor

    Thanks for the review. Couldn’t agree more that investing in our employees is important! Some of the programs we have put in place in the last couple years include GreenHouzz, a full training program for new sales reps to ensure they hit the ground running, as well as a comprehensive review program for career development and career pathing. That said, we are always looking for ways to improve. If you would like to talk about how we can do more, please reach out! Jenn Meyer, Regional Sales Manager, San Diego (jennifer.meyer@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Stay away."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Lunch on Friday -Fully Stocked Kitchen -Benefits start day one

    Cons

    Well I don't have to say much because all the reviews have said it for me. Take them all into deep consideration while researching Houzz as they are spot on!! I'll try to keep it short, I don't want to take up too much of my time. Houzz has done me and others wrong in so many twisted and different ways. I started to lose hope and think all sales jobs were like that until I got laid off at Houzz, along with many others, and started working elsewhere, with better pay and commission. Did I mention as an SDR at Houzz you don't get paid commission? Which is in itself absurd. Most of the times, they have given me a little treat (a mini sample size of candy/chocolate for an appointment I've set.) The pay isn't the only thing that's terrible, the undignified treatment, the constant changing of goals, and the micromanagement make it extremely difficult to succeed. Managers will literally sit behind you in a rolling desk and watch over your shoulder for no reason and scold you like high school teachers if you talk for a little bit with your team mates. I can assure you this is not normal and not how it should be. Management has a superiority complex and likes to talk about "transparency" all the time, but don't practice it at all. It's all fake rainbows and sunshine. Beware.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2020-03-16

    Houzz Response

    March 26, 2020Houzz on Glassdoor

    Thanks for the feedback. Our Sales Development Rep (SDR) role is a great entry point into Houzz to start a career as a sales professional, which I understand is not for everyone. Changes that involve people are never easy and we do our best to support employees through any transition. I wish you all the best on your next chapter. Peter Hoyt, Regional Sales Manager, Nashville (peter.hoyt@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Less than ideal."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They have a fully stocked kitchen, and good benefits. The people there are the best part of the job, and the direct management team, as in direct sales managers were great.

    Cons

    To begin, I have never felt more expendable than I did with this job. Upper management, as in management anywhere above the regional manager, is completely out of touch with the Nashville office, more specifically the SDRs. No matter how well you do, or how far above goal you are, it’s never enough. They lie to you during the interview process. Many of us were told it was a salary job with capless commission. It is not salary, and once you start the job you realize that you don’t get any commission unless you get promoted to an AE. Essentially as an SDR you don’t feel like the company sees any value in what you bring to the table. They just had a mass lay off of SDRs, and this is the second mass lay off they have had within the last year. If you want any sense of job security, stay far, far away from Houzz. Also any positive review you see about Houzz, I can guarantee is someone from the management team or recruiting.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2020-01-15

    Houzz Response

    January 17, 2020Houzz on Glassdoor

    First, let me say how sorry I am that you felt the way that you did. That is not how I want anyone to feel on my team or at Houzz. Second, we take compensation transparency very seriously and make sure it is listed on the offer letter and clearly communicated. If this was not the case with you, please do reach out to me directly so that I can understand what happened and ensure it doesn’t happen again. I believe in our Sales Development Rep (SDR) role as a wonderful entry point into Houzz to start a career as a sales professional and will continue to hire for this role. As the leader of the sales channel, it’s my job is to ensure that our business is set up for success, which means that we are organized in a way that best serves our customers, our employees, and drives results for the business. As part of this, I’m constantly evaluating performance across our global sales offices and wide range of departments. I believe in the Nashville office and in what our Nashville team can achieve. Our Account Executive team has doubled in size, and we are hiring. While I wish your experience with us had been better, I am really happy to read your feedback on our managers, who I agree are among the best out there. Thank you for your contributions to Houzz, I wish you the best on your next chapter. Joey Nalevka, VP of Sales (joey.nalevka@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Please do not waste your time, money or energy working for Houzz."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pros to this position are the amenities of the company. The fully stocked kitchen as well as work out events they host make work a little more enjoyable.

    Cons

    Little to no opportunity for growth. The only growth potential for a SDR is moving into an Account Executive role. The management is extremely poor, they made endless promises that they were not able to keep. This is a call center role, where you are brought on with the expectations of a role that completely different than what you are doing. Turnover rate is through the roof. Management is extremely disorganized and SDR managers are young/naive. One day they will finally realize SDR's aren't making any profit for the company based purely off of their management system and this role will not exist. You are better off just not even going through the interview process for this company.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2020-02-07

    Houzz Response

    February 11, 2020Houzz on Glassdoor

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Our Sales Development Rep (SDR) position is an entry point for a career as a sales professional at Houzz. It does involve a lot of time on the phone, which I understand is not for everyone. We take our recruiting process very seriously and make sure the role and responsibilities are listed clearly on the job description. I am sorry this role was not a better fit for you, and wish you the best of luck going forward. Peter Hoyt, Regional Sales Manager, Nashville (peter.hoyt@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Trash"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time

    Pros

    You’ll make friends for a life time here

    Cons

    I don’t even know where to begin. For starters, you could probably make more money working full time at McDonald’s. Upper management doesn’t care enough about you to learn your name. The job is as repetitive as it gets. Your day to day includes calling 135+ people a day. Yes everyday. Your goals change probably twice a month, nothing is consistent. And to top it off, they have a history of laying people off without any sort of notice.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2020-01-16

    Houzz Response

    January 22, 2020Houzz on Glassdoor

    Our Sales Development Rep (SDR) role is a great entry point into Houzz to start a career as a sales professional, which I understand is not for everyone, and does involve a lot of time on the phone. Our goals take seasonality into account, which is likely responsible for the adjustments you noted here. I am sorry this was not a great fit in the end, and wish you the best of luck going forward. Peter Hoyt, Regional Sales Manager, Nashville (peter.hoyt@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Houzz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great office atmosphere, weekly gatherings/catered events, great employees, solid benefit packages, truly care about their employees, lots of opportunities for promotions within the company.

    Cons

    The Sales Development Representative role is cold-calling people all day. If you don't like the idea of calling random people you don't know, getting hung up on, or having few responsibilities, this job won't be for you.

    Houzz2019-10-08

    Houzz Response

    October 15, 2019Houzz on Glassdoor

    Wonderful! I’m so happy to read this! Thank you for spreading the word about what Houzz has to offer. I’m glad you have had such a great experience with Houzz and look forward to more! Peter Hoyt, Regional Sales Manager, Nashville (peter.hoyt@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
Found 59 reviews