Houzz Trade Account Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Houzz Trade Account Manager Reviews

Updated Feb 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
1.8
0%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Houzz Chief Executive Officer Adi Tatarko
Adi Tatarko
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Great place to work if you are ok with not making money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trade Account Manager in Irvine, CA
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Houzz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tons of office perks. Stocked kitchen, catered breakfast and lunch once a week, team outings, birthday and baby shower celebrations, great holiday party, you will make amazing friends here.

    Cons

    The role I am in is constantly changing, including the commission plan. We don’t have enough resources to do our job to the best of our ability and management only acts like they want feedback from us. No one in upper management really knows what they are doing and they are not qualified to manage this part of Houzz. There is no way to be promoted currently. It is incredibly hard to find products on our marketplace and the quality of the products sold is really bad and no one is doing anything about it. The Trade Program is failing and everyone is just acting like everything is fine. No one wants to buy from somewhere that has cheap products and has people calling them weekly to try to get them to advertise on Houzz. The pros I work with all tell me they get way better products and pricing through other trade programs. No one in this department is making anywhere near what they were told they would make. Living in Orange County is expensive and we are paid very minimally. Most people working here have jobs on the side so they can afford rent and food.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2018-09-26

    Houzz Response

    September 27, 2018Houzz on Glassdoor

    Thank you for taking a moment to provide a review. Providing great office environments and perks is important and I’m glad to hear you enjoy that as much as I do. I’m sorry to hear you have been frustrated in your role, and I do want to let you know that we have begun regular training for our leadership teams to make sure they have the tools to help their teams grow and be successful in their roles. Our product team and leaders have been having round tables with experienced team members to gain feedback on improvements we can make as well. If you are open to providing more feedback about your experience, please feel free to reach out to me directly. Lisa Rambo, VP of Marketplace Operations (lisa.rambo@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Proceed with caution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trade Account Manager in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance Custom curated meeting rooms Catered lunch each Friday Fun monthly outings (super limited number of openings to participate)

    Cons

    CONSTANT lay-offs HIGH turnover Age discrimination Favoritism Constant moving sales targets Poor training Double standards Passive aggressive leadership Unfulfilled promises No clear career path progression With the constant job eliminations, morale is terrible.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2020-02-28

    Houzz Response

    March 4, 2020Houzz on Glassdoor

    Thanks for your feedback. You make some serious claims here that are not in line with our practice. If you are comfortable, please reach out to me directly so that I can learn more about your experience. Ana Harris-Padley, Head of People (ana.harris@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (25)

    "Career Killer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive | Trade Account Manager in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers. Stocked Fridge. True 40 hours a week. Provided parking. Downtown office.

    Cons

    If you have a college degree and experience this company is not for you. They recruited top talent and sold everyone a dream of a great company, growth and ability to make uncapped commission. That all changed when you got into the role. The leads have been worked so much, there is hardly any chance of closing deals. Management is so out of touch and told to always be positive, there is no real truth or grit to help you succeed. They changed from no quota to you must hit these benchmarks or be fired and a week later cut our base pay $10,000 and increased commission payout 10%. To be blunt, we all knew we were screwed. Everyone started to leave, sometimes even 2+ people a day. Desk cleaned off and the sales floor turned into a ghost town. I stuck it through, but things did not get better. Morale was down, management didn’t talk about the mass exit and told use to focus on hitting quota. A new department opened up, and I quickly took the opportunity to internally interview and join the team. Having to take a pay cut to do so. At this point I am making less that what I did straight out of college 5 years ago. In Trade, the team grew from 5 to 50 over night. I knew the same thing was going to happen, and I quickly started the career hunt. After I left the company, they did a mass layoff to Trade, downsized and restructured. I am lucky I left when I did, but you would hope they would learn from their mistakes and stop messing with peoples careers and money.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2019-01-22
  4. Helpful (24)

    "RUN! Stay far away from this joke of a company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trade Account Manager in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Honestly? The friends I made are the only Pros as well as the good insurance. They have fully stocked kitchens and free food which was nice, but I would have rather been paid more and not flat out lied to. Plus the powdered watery eggs made me sick more often than not when those were served

    Cons

    I don't think i will have enough space for all of these. Like another person before me I am going to list them out to make them easy to read in case you don't want to read my long essay *Pay is not what you are told it will be- they recruit and move people across the country to make less than what is told, and we aren't talking about a few dollars, I am talking THOUSANDS of dollars less per year* *They say they want help improving things, but they don't listen to anything from anyone who knows and has been in the industry* *They don't promote based on what would be smart or put people who should be in the higher positions in them. They allow the people who are the puppets on a string to be in those jobs because they don't talk back or have any sort of actual opinion (similar to a doll or robot) *There is zero sense of urgency for things that need to be handled in a short amount of time due to the way the industry works. *The way processes are done make no sense, and consistently made me want to poke my eyes out* *Don't expect them to care about you as a person, they don't. They laid us off via a video meeting in the OC office. I am not going to spend any more time on this, because you get the idea, they don't deserve another single second of my time. If you choose to ignore this.... good luck to you. I felt like i lived on the set of Office Space...... I lost my soul while i was here, I luckily have since gotten it back *They treat everyone like they are children and give you zero power to close sales, or do anything.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2019-01-04

    Houzz Response

    January 8, 2019Houzz on Glassdoor

    Thank you for posting a review, and I’m sorry that this was your experience with us. Making sure that everyone has the right tools, training, and resources to succeed is a priority for me. We have made a number of changes to the TAM role based on feedback from the team already, and will continue to focus on providing an even better experience for our team members. If you are comfortable with sharing more specifics about your experience, please reach out to me directly at tc@houzz.com. Thomas Clayton, VP Global Trade Business, Houzz

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (13)

    "Blind leading the blind, no job security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trade Account Manager in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    free snacks, food catered every Friday

    Cons

    Management has no idea how to run a sales organization, no open to feedback from experienced people, Frequently layoffs and salary cuts

    Continue reading
    Houzz2019-01-11
  6. Helpful (14)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trade Account Manager in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Houzz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fully stocked kitchen and free breakfast on Monday

    Cons

    No growth, under paid and overworked, a lot of empty promises. Very deceiving in the Nashville office. There was only one person there that I can truly say loved their job and her name is Zoe. Do not work in the trade department. Nothing but a bunch of clueless people who screw up your pay.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2018-08-07
  7. Helpful (17)

    "Please avoid if you can help it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trade Account Manager in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice to have free snacks and coffee. Pretty flexible with PTO. Team leads are awesome.

    Cons

    I could go on and on, just read other reviews for details. Basically, you won't get experience that other employers value, it's a strange/difficult environment to thrive in if you're not a perky girl younger than 26 with a cute boyfriend, and you'll do robotic and repetitive work and probably have to take inbound calls all day long regardless of role. Senior management is completely out of touch.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2018-03-23

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews