Houzz "fully stocked" Reviews | Glassdoor

Houzz Employee Reviews about "fully stocked"

Updated Feb 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
54%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Houzz Chief Executive Officer Adi Tatarko
Adi Tatarko
519 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fun place to work, hire young people, fully stocked kitchen(in 82 reviews)

  • "There is a fully stocked kitchen and fun activities that the have for employees(in 79 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management doesn’t care enough about you to learn your name(in 33 reviews)

  • "Glorified Call center calling 80(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "fully stocked"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture, growth opportunity, learned a ton"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Tempe, AZ
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture is amazing, people are friendly, management is amazing and hands on, fully stocked kitchen, and tons of office events

    Cons

    the work itself can be repetitive or boring. You are doing inside sales smiling and dialing every day, all day. This can create burnout and turnover pretty quickly.

    Houzz2019-11-13

    Houzz Response

    December 18, 2019Houzz on Glassdoor

    Thank you so much for the review! I agree wholeheartedly that the culture at Houzz is amazing, and the people are the best I’ve worked with. I’m in the process of relocating from the Orange County office to the Phoenix area to lead the sales team there. If you are up for it, I’d love to take a moment to catch up with you about how we can do better with regard to helping our teams battle potential burnout and thrive. Alex Hays, Regional Sales Manager, Phoenix (alex.hays@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (4)

    "People are amazing/ Upper management is horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SDR in Nashville, TN

    I worked at Houzz full-time

    Pros

    The people on my team and my manager were the most encouraging and supportive people that I have met throughout the company. There is a fully stocked kitchen and fun activities that the have for employees

    Cons

    The job can get really repetative. A whole bunch of us were laid off, and the way that it was done was in the most unprofessional manner. It was so unpersonal and without any real good reason why. This was super disappointing since most of us just started working in end of September, early October. We weren't even given the chance to really show upper management what we were capable of. The salary is way too low for how much work we were doing. It was very large let down and I am happy I do not work for a company like this anymore

    Continue reading
    Houzz2020-01-17

    Houzz Response

    January 24, 2020Houzz on Glassdoor

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am so glad to hear your experience with your team and manager, as we want people to feel supported and encouraged. Our Sales Development Rep (SDR) role is a starting point for a career as a sales professional at Houzz and I am truly sorry that it did not work out for you. Thank you for contributing to our team. I wish you the best on your next chapter. Peter Hoyt, Regional Sales Manager, Nashville (peter.hoyt@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Less than ideal."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They have a fully stocked kitchen, and good benefits. The people there are the best part of the job, and the direct management team, as in direct sales managers were great.

    Cons

    To begin, I have never felt more expendable than I did with this job. Upper management, as in management anywhere above the regional manager, is completely out of touch with the Nashville office, more specifically the SDRs. No matter how well you do, or how far above goal you are, it’s never enough. They lie to you during the interview process. Many of us were told it was a salary job with capless commission. It is not salary, and once you start the job you realize that you don’t get any commission unless you get promoted to an AE. Essentially as an SDR you don’t feel like the company sees any value in what you bring to the table. They just had a mass lay off of SDRs, and this is the second mass lay off they have had within the last year. If you want any sense of job security, stay far, far away from Houzz. Also any positive review you see about Houzz, I can guarantee is someone from the management team or recruiting.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2020-01-15

    Houzz Response

    January 17, 2020Houzz on Glassdoor

    First, let me say how sorry I am that you felt the way that you did. That is not how I want anyone to feel on my team or at Houzz. Second, we take compensation transparency very seriously and make sure it is listed on the offer letter and clearly communicated. If this was not the case with you, please do reach out to me directly so that I can understand what happened and ensure it doesn’t happen again. I believe in our Sales Development Rep (SDR) role as a wonderful entry point into Houzz to start a career as a sales professional and will continue to hire for this role. As the leader of the sales channel, it’s my job is to ensure that our business is set up for success, which means that we are organized in a way that best serves our customers, our employees, and drives results for the business. As part of this, I’m constantly evaluating performance across our global sales offices and wide range of departments. I believe in the Nashville office and in what our Nashville team can achieve. Our Account Executive team has doubled in size, and we are hiring. While I wish your experience with us had been better, I am really happy to read your feedback on our managers, who I agree are among the best out there. Thank you for your contributions to Houzz, I wish you the best on your next chapter. Joey Nalevka, VP of Sales (joey.nalevka@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Please do not waste your time, money or energy working for Houzz."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pros to this position are the amenities of the company. The fully stocked kitchen as well as work out events they host make work a little more enjoyable.

    Cons

    Little to no opportunity for growth. The only growth potential for a SDR is moving into an Account Executive role. The management is extremely poor, they made endless promises that they were not able to keep. This is a call center role, where you are brought on with the expectations of a role that completely different than what you are doing. Turnover rate is through the roof. Management is extremely disorganized and SDR managers are young/naive. One day they will finally realize SDR's aren't making any profit for the company based purely off of their management system and this role will not exist. You are better off just not even going through the interview process for this company.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2020-02-07

    Houzz Response

    February 11, 2020Houzz on Glassdoor

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Our Sales Development Rep (SDR) position is an entry point for a career as a sales professional at Houzz. It does involve a lot of time on the phone, which I understand is not for everyone. We take our recruiting process very seriously and make sure the role and responsibilities are listed clearly on the job description. I am sorry this role was not a better fit for you, and wish you the best of luck going forward. Peter Hoyt, Regional Sales Manager, Nashville (peter.hoyt@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Looks great from the outside"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance is a huge plus - in early, out early. Fully stocked kitchen, good location right in downtown Tempe. Great coworkers. I also enjoyed the continued education; webinars, etc.

    Cons

    Your typical call center job. Not bad if you are looking to get ground level sales experience just be ready for things to change A LOT. Cold leads that have been touched over and over again. Every month career progression would change, goals would change (understandable being in sales) absolutely no consistency. I had created an individual development plan that was never gone over with me even though the importance of “helping us succeed” was such a high priority. My direct manager was great but I never felt supported at a higher level. Very little room for growth outside of the sales department despite taking advantage of every avenue.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2019-12-31

    Houzz Response

    January 2, 2020Houzz on Glassdoor

    Thanks for reaching out through your review. Glad to see some good pros here, but wish your overall experience had been better! I just recently relocated from Irvine to lead sales in the Tempe office and I would love to chat with you to talk about how we could do better going forward. If you are comfortable, please reach out! Alex Hays, Regional Sales Manager, Phoenix (alexander.hays@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Bad Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - E-Commerce Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Houzz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A fully stocked kitchen. They're trying to be like a Google type of company in terms of in office (surface level) culture.

    Cons

    Poor leadership Low pay If you get verbally abused by one of the sellers they work with, they will put the seller's happiness over your safety

    Houzz2019-12-23
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great company sales goals were very aggressive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Houzz Representative in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time

    Pros

    Fully stocked kitchen, new employee training is awesome!

    Cons

    Goals were way too high, they expect you to make over 100 calls day

    Houzz2019-11-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture, Alright company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fully stocked kitchen. Great health insurance.

    Cons

    Lackadaisical management. Ever changing pay structure and operating practices.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2019-09-12

    Houzz Response

    September 25, 2019Houzz on Glassdoor

    Great to see those pros up there! We’ve worked hard to create an amazing culture at Houzz, and I’m glad to see you mention it. Thank you for the other feedback as well. Since you mentioned it, I do want to comment on our pay structure and operating practices. Our pay structure has not changed in over a year, though we do take seasonality into account and make adjustments to our goals accordingly. And as with most sales jobs, the more you sell the more you make. I wish that you had stayed with us at Houzz. Best of luck in your next endeavor. Joey Nalevka, VP of Sales (joey.nalevka@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (14)

    "Do NOT work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Fully stocked kitchens -Catered breakfast on Monday -Catered lunch on Friday -Nice, young coworkers -Beautiful office -Free parking and nice benefits

    Cons

    Where should I start? Well first, if you applied for the SDR position and you have a degree and some decent experience stay way. Recruiters promise you a career with full growth opportunities. However, they’d rather hire talent from outside of the office than actually promoting people from within. They expect you to make 150 calls a day and hit unrealistic monthly goals with a horrible software and leads. I was hitting my numbers for 4 months straight until they changed the software and you couldn’t even get somebody on the phone that hasn’t been called by other reps 100 times. You basically do the same boring job every single day. Managers love to micromanage you which make the job function even more miserable. The pay is not that great for how they expect you to perform. I worked at houzz for 7 months and saw more than 10 coworkers quit.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2019-08-26

    Houzz Response

    August 29, 2019Houzz on Glassdoor

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of being part of the team in Nashville. Our Sales Development Rep (SDR) role is an absolutely essential and important role that works with professionals to introduce them to Houzz and determine if their business would be a fit for our solutions. Since it is considered an entry into sales role at Houzz, there is some training and management involved. It is not the intention of our managers to “micromanage” the team, but rather to provide guidance and support for SDRs to be as successful as possible in the role and starting out in sales. I’m sorry this did not turn out to be a great fit, and wish you well! Peter Hoyt, Regional Sales Manager, Nashville

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative 

    I have been working at Houzz full-time

    Pros

    Fun place to work, hire young people, fully stocked kitchen

    Cons

    Only a 30 min break for lunch so you can’t really leave the office

    Houzz2019-08-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 79 reviews