Houzz "fully stocked kitchen" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Houzz Employee Reviews about "fully stocked kitchen"

Updated Feb 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
54%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Houzz Chief Executive Officer Adi Tatarko
Adi Tatarko
519 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fun place to work, hire young people, fully stocked kitchen(in 82 reviews)

  • "There is a fully stocked kitchen and fun activities that the have for employees(in 79 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management doesn’t care enough about you to learn your name(in 33 reviews)

  • "Glorified Call center calling 80(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "fully stocked kitchen"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture, growth opportunity, learned a ton"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Tempe, AZ
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture is amazing, people are friendly, management is amazing and hands on, fully stocked kitchen, and tons of office events

    Cons

    the work itself can be repetitive or boring. You are doing inside sales smiling and dialing every day, all day. This can create burnout and turnover pretty quickly.

    Houzz2019-11-13

    Houzz Response

    December 18, 2019Houzz on Glassdoor

    Thank you so much for the review! I agree wholeheartedly that the culture at Houzz is amazing, and the people are the best I’ve worked with. I’m in the process of relocating from the Orange County office to the Phoenix area to lead the sales team there. If you are up for it, I’d love to take a moment to catch up with you about how we can do better with regard to helping our teams battle potential burnout and thrive. Alex Hays, Regional Sales Manager, Phoenix (alex.hays@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (4)

    "People are amazing/ Upper management is horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SDR in Nashville, TN

    I worked at Houzz full-time

    Pros

    The people on my team and my manager were the most encouraging and supportive people that I have met throughout the company. There is a fully stocked kitchen and fun activities that the have for employees

    Cons

    The job can get really repetative. A whole bunch of us were laid off, and the way that it was done was in the most unprofessional manner. It was so unpersonal and without any real good reason why. This was super disappointing since most of us just started working in end of September, early October. We weren't even given the chance to really show upper management what we were capable of. The salary is way too low for how much work we were doing. It was very large let down and I am happy I do not work for a company like this anymore

    Continue reading
    Houzz2020-01-17

    Houzz Response

    January 24, 2020Houzz on Glassdoor

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am so glad to hear your experience with your team and manager, as we want people to feel supported and encouraged. Our Sales Development Rep (SDR) role is a starting point for a career as a sales professional at Houzz and I am truly sorry that it did not work out for you. Thank you for contributing to our team. I wish you the best on your next chapter. Peter Hoyt, Regional Sales Manager, Nashville (peter.hoyt@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Less than ideal."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They have a fully stocked kitchen, and good benefits. The people there are the best part of the job, and the direct management team, as in direct sales managers were great.

    Cons

    To begin, I have never felt more expendable than I did with this job. Upper management, as in management anywhere above the regional manager, is completely out of touch with the Nashville office, more specifically the SDRs. No matter how well you do, or how far above goal you are, it’s never enough. They lie to you during the interview process. Many of us were told it was a salary job with capless commission. It is not salary, and once you start the job you realize that you don’t get any commission unless you get promoted to an AE. Essentially as an SDR you don’t feel like the company sees any value in what you bring to the table. They just had a mass lay off of SDRs, and this is the second mass lay off they have had within the last year. If you want any sense of job security, stay far, far away from Houzz. Also any positive review you see about Houzz, I can guarantee is someone from the management team or recruiting.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2020-01-15

    Houzz Response

    January 17, 2020Houzz on Glassdoor

    First, let me say how sorry I am that you felt the way that you did. That is not how I want anyone to feel on my team or at Houzz. Second, we take compensation transparency very seriously and make sure it is listed on the offer letter and clearly communicated. If this was not the case with you, please do reach out to me directly so that I can understand what happened and ensure it doesn’t happen again. I believe in our Sales Development Rep (SDR) role as a wonderful entry point into Houzz to start a career as a sales professional and will continue to hire for this role. As the leader of the sales channel, it’s my job is to ensure that our business is set up for success, which means that we are organized in a way that best serves our customers, our employees, and drives results for the business. As part of this, I’m constantly evaluating performance across our global sales offices and wide range of departments. I believe in the Nashville office and in what our Nashville team can achieve. Our Account Executive team has doubled in size, and we are hiring. While I wish your experience with us had been better, I am really happy to read your feedback on our managers, who I agree are among the best out there. Thank you for your contributions to Houzz, I wish you the best on your next chapter. Joey Nalevka, VP of Sales (joey.nalevka@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Please do not waste your time, money or energy working for Houzz."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pros to this position are the amenities of the company. The fully stocked kitchen as well as work out events they host make work a little more enjoyable.

    Cons

    Little to no opportunity for growth. The only growth potential for a SDR is moving into an Account Executive role. The management is extremely poor, they made endless promises that they were not able to keep. This is a call center role, where you are brought on with the expectations of a role that completely different than what you are doing. Turnover rate is through the roof. Management is extremely disorganized and SDR managers are young/naive. One day they will finally realize SDR's aren't making any profit for the company based purely off of their management system and this role will not exist. You are better off just not even going through the interview process for this company.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2020-02-07

    Houzz Response

    February 11, 2020Houzz on Glassdoor

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Our Sales Development Rep (SDR) position is an entry point for a career as a sales professional at Houzz. It does involve a lot of time on the phone, which I understand is not for everyone. We take our recruiting process very seriously and make sure the role and responsibilities are listed clearly on the job description. I am sorry this role was not a better fit for you, and wish you the best of luck going forward. Peter Hoyt, Regional Sales Manager, Nashville (peter.hoyt@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Looks great from the outside"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance is a huge plus - in early, out early. Fully stocked kitchen, good location right in downtown Tempe. Great coworkers. I also enjoyed the continued education; webinars, etc.

    Cons

    Your typical call center job. Not bad if you are looking to get ground level sales experience just be ready for things to change A LOT. Cold leads that have been touched over and over again. Every month career progression would change, goals would change (understandable being in sales) absolutely no consistency. I had created an individual development plan that was never gone over with me even though the importance of “helping us succeed” was such a high priority. My direct manager was great but I never felt supported at a higher level. Very little room for growth outside of the sales department despite taking advantage of every avenue.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2019-12-31

    Houzz Response

    January 2, 2020Houzz on Glassdoor

    Thanks for reaching out through your review. Glad to see some good pros here, but wish your overall experience had been better! I just recently relocated from Irvine to lead sales in the Tempe office and I would love to chat with you to talk about how we could do better going forward. If you are comfortable, please reach out! Alex Hays, Regional Sales Manager, Phoenix (alexander.hays@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Your Everyday Corporation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - I met some of the most amazing people I have ever known. Houzz does a great job at hiring intelligent, friendly, and like-minded people (only to kick them to the curb later, but I digress). - In my position, I believe I was fairly paid. I do think many positions are underpaid, but luckily my former role allowed me to earn a what is necessary to live in Orange County. - Always felt respected and cared for by my direct team leads and managers. - Stocked kitchen, you won't go hungry. - Friday lunches, holiday parties, and team bonding events were well-planned and enjoyable.

    Cons

    - No room for upward mobility. Career growth is a pipe-dream at this company. - Zero transparency. Massive decisions are made for the company with no communication. Sometimes, we were not even told of changes to software, policies, etc. ahead of time and would only know once we ran into an issue. - False promises left and right from upper management. - Upper management (by this, I mean people you most likely will never talk to or hardly see in your whole time working here) do not care about you in the slightest. I truly mean, not at all. Do not think in the long run this company cares about anything you have to say or you even you having a job. To continue on my last point, the true kicker is going to work every day and hearing "we are a family" from upper management non-stop. Sweetie, this is not the Brady Bunch. If I could compare this to any family, it would be the family from the movie "Hereditary". Why you may ask? Simply because they had no problem cutting off the heads of almost every employee. I state this figuratively, but they were the pole and I was the Charlie sticking my darn head out the window. If you have not seen the movie that will make no sense. To explain it better, hundreds of us gave Houzz all of our energy, our sanity, and years of our lives to be laid off with no reasoning or explanation. This is common in many corporations, but I find that Houzz tries to pride themselves on being different. Houzz is no different than any other corporation and you are only a cog in the machine. If you are looking to be treated well in the long run and grow in your career, please do not apply.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2020-01-16

    Houzz Response

    January 21, 2020Houzz on Glassdoor

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I’m glad to read the pros you listed here, especially how you felt treated by your team leads and managers. I agree that we have amazing people at Houzz. I’m sorry to read that what looked to have been a pretty positive experience in many areas did not end more positively for you. Changes that involve people are never easy and we do our best to support employees through any transition. I truly wish the best for you in your next chapter. Ana Harris-Padley, Head of People (ana.harris@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Bad Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - E-Commerce Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Houzz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A fully stocked kitchen. They're trying to be like a Google type of company in terms of in office (surface level) culture.

    Cons

    Poor leadership Low pay If you get verbally abused by one of the sellers they work with, they will put the seller's happiness over your safety

    Houzz2019-12-23
  8. Helpful (18)

    "Once a great place to work... couldn't get out fast enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Catered breakfast on Monday, catered lunch on Friday, stocked kitchen for every other day of the week, flexible work hours for some roles. Depending on the size of the team you’re on, you’ll probably meet some lifelong friends here. However, your friendship will likely be forged on the foundation of your mutual dissatisfaction with pay and the lack of a reliable career path, as well as the ever-present worry that your role could become unnecessary to the future of Houzz and you’ll be laid off because of it. But don’t worry, there’s cold brew on tap!

    Cons

    For the sake of time, space, and the attention span of those reading, I’m only going to expand on what I believe are the two most significant cons of working here: 1) Horrible pay and 2) Lack of trust in the employer/loss of self-worth as an employee Let me preface this part of the review by stating that I worked at Houzz for over 3 years with the majority of my tenure spent in a more specialized role. This isn’t a review based on the ups and downs associated with a less consistent position like sales or customer service, or a review of a company that wasn’t what I expected it to be. It’s a true reflection of how things have changed drastically over the course of my time at Houzz (which was a place I saw myself staying long-term) and why I honestly would not feel comfortable recommending a job here to anyone. Houzz was the first company I worked for post grad, so it was easy to show up on day one wide-eyed and bushy tailed. The ~culture~ Houzz prides itself was on apparent at every turn. I’m not the first to say that the excitement of a fully stocked kitchen, catered meals, and team events doesn’t last very long. You quickly start to see the surprise coffee cart and holiday décor as less of perks that come with working at a fun company and more as non-essential fluff that’s coming straight out of your paycheck. Speaking of your paycheck… or lack thereof. A quick comparison on Glassdoor will show you’re probably being underpaid in comparison to the salary average of your title in whatever city you work in. There are sooo many employees here that work another job in addition to their job at Houzz in order to afford living comfortably in the expensive cities Houzz decides to open up shop in. In my humble opinion, if someone is working 9-5 in a corporate environment at a “well-respected”, “successful”, and GLOBALLY recognized company, they shouldn’t have to have a side hustle or second job to make ends meet. Know that if you work at Houzz, it’s possible that a time might come where you have to consider picking up hours as a server or hostess on the side. If that’s the case though, I’d instead consider picking up and moving to another company — countless others are hiring with better pay. (Edit: I’ve heard through the grapevine that since I left pay has gotten an inch better… still not worth it in my opinion) As far as feeling like you’re important to the company and its mission... you’re not. Unfortunately, you’re entirely replaceable (even managers/team leads who aren’t top-tier are). And this comes from someone who had been promoted and survived layoffs, so I’m not being spiteful by saying this. After over 3 years at Houzz with plenty of praise and encouragement by managers that my contributions were above and beyond, I was somehow still left feeling that the work I’d done and the impact I’d made weren’t worth anything if they were going to cost Houzz an extra dollar to keep me around. Case in point: A series of lay-offs at the end of 2018 left me with barely any team, a much larger workload, less support, and little guidance as my manager was one of those let go (told you no one’s safe). Though I was lucky that I survived those cuts, the entire framework of my job had shifted as an outcome. Against my better judgement I ended up staying, working hard to prove my worth and attempting to remain hopeful that in the coming months things would change and I’d get the raise I deserved given the circumstances. Nope. Even after my annual review at the end of Q1 where I was told in so many words that I had excelled on almost every front, I still was left questioning my value to Houzz when a substantial raise or a promotion wasn’t put on the table (they offered me less than 5% increase on a low hourly wage — something like an extra $0.60 per hour — for going “above and beyond what was expected of me”). Unfortunately, this was the last straw and what led me to look for work away from this company. In conclusion to this well-informed rant, if you’re simply looking for a job, by all means, go for it. But if you’re looking for a career with a company that supports your professional growth and wants to see you succeed within their doors, this ain’t the place. Note: I gave 2 stars instead of 1 because while I do believe Houzz can do much better in pretty much every facet (don’t get me started on their lack of 401K match and the Big Brother mentality), the individuals I met along the way were fantastic. They deserve(d) much better than what Houzz provided and then took away from them.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2019-10-29

    Houzz Response

    November 13, 2019Houzz on Glassdoor

    Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback about your time at Houzz. It sounds like you were here for a substantial amount of time, and I am sorry to read that it was not a better experience for you. I’m not sure when your tenure with us ended, but it sounds like your compensation was the biggest issue for you. I do want to let you know that there have been many changes internally in the last 18 months, including a comprehensive annual review program, with salary increases where indicated. You were a part of Houzz during a time of rapid expansion and experimentation, so it is correct to say that there were a couple instances where teams were restructured to better support business growth, as you indicated in your review. I’m sorry that your time with us did not end more positively, but I wish you great success going forward in your career. Ana Harris-Padley, Head of People Services (ana.harris@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great company sales goals were very aggressive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Houzz Representative in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time

    Pros

    Fully stocked kitchen, new employee training is awesome!

    Cons

    Goals were way too high, they expect you to make over 100 calls day

    Houzz2019-11-15
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Becoming Micro Managed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive Level II in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stocked kitchen Easy to use PTO without questions

    Cons

    Limited lead pool Commission structure is not very typical Just over the course of a year the environment has become micro managed. When I started we were able to roughly choose when we come in and leave. This allowed us to worked a little bit earlier on some days and get off earlier or come in late and work late. They enforced strict times with 10 minute late rule. I understand the reasoning but it sort of feels like you are being treated like a kid or working a lower level job in retail. Also lunch is timed weird. The reduced lunch to 30 minutes which isn't terrible but they strictly enforce it. You cannot clock in a second early because the company will get charged. So you need to clock back in a minute after 30 minutes.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2019-08-26

    Houzz Response

    August 29, 2019Houzz on Glassdoor

    Thanks for sharing your feedback and your experience at Houzz. It looks like you were enjoying your sales role, but that your schedule felt inflexible to you. We have very intentionally created a consistent schedule for our team to allow for a more solid team dynamic, support from managers and infectious energy on the sales floor. Much of our team enjoys having a consistent schedule to plan around and the work life balance that comes from ending their day by 3:00 p.m. That said, I do appreciate and hear your feedback to allow for greater flexibility for our sales teams. Best of luck to you! Joey Nalevka, VP of Sales, Industry Solutions

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 82 reviews