Houzz "fully stocked kitchen" Reviews | Glassdoor

Houzz Reviews

Updated Mar 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
53%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Houzz Chief Executive Officer Adi Tatarko
Adi Tatarko
524 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Becoming Micro Managed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive Level II in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stocked kitchen Easy to use PTO without questions

    Cons

    Limited lead pool Commission structure is not very typical Just over the course of a year the environment has become micro managed. When I started we were able to roughly choose when we come in and leave. This allowed us to worked a little bit earlier on some days and get off earlier or come in late and work late. They enforced strict times with 10 minute late rule. I understand the reasoning but it sort of feels like you are being treated like a kid or working a lower level job in retail. Also lunch is timed weird. The reduced lunch to 30 minutes which isn't terrible but they strictly enforce it. You cannot clock in a second early because the company will get charged. So you need to clock back in a minute after 30 minutes.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2019-08-26

    Houzz Response

    August 29, 2019Houzz on Glassdoor

    Thanks for sharing your feedback and your experience at Houzz. It looks like you were enjoying your sales role, but that your schedule felt inflexible to you. We have very intentionally created a consistent schedule for our team to allow for a more solid team dynamic, support from managers and infectious energy on the sales floor. Much of our team enjoys having a consistent schedule to plan around and the work life balance that comes from ending their day by 3:00 p.m. That said, I do appreciate and hear your feedback to allow for greater flexibility for our sales teams. Best of luck to you! Joey Nalevka, VP of Sales, Industry Solutions

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture, Alright company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fully stocked kitchen. Great health insurance.

    Cons

    Lackadaisical management. Ever changing pay structure and operating practices.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2019-09-12

    Houzz Response

    September 25, 2019Houzz on Glassdoor

    Great to see those pros up there! We’ve worked hard to create an amazing culture at Houzz, and I’m glad to see you mention it. Thank you for the other feedback as well. Since you mentioned it, I do want to comment on our pay structure and operating practices. Our pay structure has not changed in over a year, though we do take seasonality into account and make adjustments to our goals accordingly. And as with most sales jobs, the more you sell the more you make. I wish that you had stayed with us at Houzz. Best of luck in your next endeavor. Joey Nalevka, VP of Sales (joey.nalevka@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative 

    I have been working at Houzz full-time

    Pros

    Fun place to work, hire young people, fully stocked kitchen

    Cons

    Only a 30 min break for lunch so you can’t really leave the office

    Houzz2019-08-20
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Fun place to work but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative II in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Houzz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are great perks around the office like a fully stocked kitchen, catered meals on Mondays and Fridays. Fun people to be around and direct management that actually cares

    Cons

    All sales reps have to start at 630 am. While it is nice to be able to get off early (3pm), it was not something that I was notified of while I was interviewing. It can be tough for people who aren't morning people or have a schedule that can't accommodate working that early

    Continue reading
    Houzz2019-08-10

    Houzz Response

    August 21, 2019Houzz on Glassdoor

    Welcome to Houzz! I’m glad you’re feeling at home here so far. Yes, our Sales team does start their day early so that they are available to connect with professionals (who also start their days early) and those on the east coast. This information is typically provided during your interview process; I apologize for any oversight. Thanks for letting us know. I’ll be sure to remind the team. Susan Ferguson, Director of Talent Acquisition, Industry Solutions

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (17)

    "Pretty on the outside, ugly on the inside."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist - Level II in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Free food (fully stocked kitchen that's usually picked over, breakfast on Mondays, lunch on Friday's) - "Fun" work environment - the people you work with are young and lively (there are downsides to this). - Company pays for parking (at Nissan Stadium and you have to shuttle over to UBS... there is also a downside to this) - "Wellness (i.e. Workout) Wednesday's" - Summer and Winter Party (there's a downside) - Technically proficient office - everyone work's on Mac's (no Windows, no Microsoft Office Suite), dual computer screens, limited use of printers, "click to call" system (i.e. no dial phones). - You're whole job doesn't rely solely on you - if you go out of town or get sick and are out, other reps are there to support you/ pull the weight. - Wonderful managers - they will be like your family and they do truly care. - "Task Us" - Overseas call center representatives (pros and cons) significantly lowered the average amount of calls you get per day. - "Cool" office setting - not that you get to enjoy it, you sit in a cubical all day. - "Gifts" - Houzz "gear" (honestly, i'd rather have a raise)

    Cons

    - You will never grow - sure you might get a "promotion" but 99% of the time its a "lateral move" (i.e. no raise) or you'll get a joke of a raise - Internal positions very rarely come up and if they do, its a vertical move monetary wise. - You will never be compensated for the hard work you do. - Customer service is on the bottom of the totem pole of importance (you will be last to get anything, last to be thought of, last to be cared about, etc.) - they call our floor "the forgotten floor" - This is many people's first job out of college and you can tell - a lot of unprofessionalism, immature whiny attitudes, temper tantrums, etc. - Your PTO is your sick days, so I hope you're a healthy person. - When applying for an internal position, they don't care how qualified you are. All they care about is if you interview well. Great people have been looked over for internal positions and given to people who are garbage at their jobs. - No yearly raises (this may have changed, but I was there for almost 2 years and never got a penny more for my tenure). - New (and lower level) representatives were getting paid more than the reps who have been in the office longer/ higher level - in one case management's "fix" to this problem was to give someone a pay cut. - No security - massive lay-offs (entire departments were required to "re-apply" for their own jobs or leave and take severance. Some didn't have that choice). - You live an die by your bonus stats (average handle time, average customer satisfaction score, "schedule adherence") - Your Quality Assurance team (who checks your calls, reviews your "tickets" and gives you a score based on how they think you did) are under qualified and don't understand what each position does that their scoring for. - "Task Us" - Overseas call center representatives (pros and cons) - to put it lightly, they don't know what they're doing. Examples: Customer spoke to one who informed her that he "doesn't know English". They would keep "tickets" until the customer issue was so escalated that by the time it was transferred to you, it was an absolute mess. Incorrect call transfers (because what customer doesn't love being transferred 20 times). - Higher level management could give two craps about you - they'll "show face" when it doesn't matter (i.e. monthly meetings), but when it does (i.e. employees being laid off), they are nowhere to be found. - Required to take lunches and breaks at specific times or you get penalized - have fun rushing to the bathroom and eating alone. - Management's excuse for any complaint or issue you have is, "well, we are a new company and still figuring things out" - Summer and Winter Party (2-3 drink max - because they like to treat us like children) - Working weekends (not all the time, but you do. They claim everyone works the same amount of weekends a month, but in the beginning that was not true). - You're opinion doesn't matter - your manager will listen to your concerns, but if you are looking for change, trust me it will never happen and management doesn't care what you think. - Don't be fooled by the "fluff" - Houzz thinks by giving you goodies you'll be content enough where you are at and will never want to move up.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2019-07-15

    Houzz Response

    July 22, 2019Houzz on Glassdoor

    Thanks for sharing your experience. There’s quite a lot here, though first and foremost I want to let you know that our management team is listening and I agree with you that we do have a great group of managers who really care. I’m not sure when you left Houzz, but we’ve recently made some changes to our compensation structure which has been well received by the team. We also have annual performance appraisals and potential for merit increases. We do have entry level roles in Customer Support, and it is also important to note that we provide many opportunities for advancement. For example, 15% of the Customer Support team received a promotion during the first 6 months of 2019 and 80% of the Customer Support Managers were promoted from within. Houzz has a number of great benefits which you listed and our PTO plan is one of them. Having a single pool of PTO hours provides our team members greater flexibility and control of their time off. I must be honest that I disagree with your assessment of the importance of the Customer Support organization - it receives significant attention, focus and resources. We recently made a significant investment in our CRM and knowledge tools that enhance our team members’ ability to provide consistent, great service. I wish that your outcome had been different. Wishing you best of luck in the future. Dale Sahs, Director of Customer Support (dale.sahs@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (12)

    "Only thing that came out of working at Houzz was that I met some awesome people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a fun workplace with a stocked kitchen and they serve free breakfast and lunch once a week. Great operations team that is always putting on office-wide events.

    Cons

    There is not much opportunity for growth in the company and you are constantly reaching out to companies/ leads from years ago that have constantly said that they are not interested, which leads to my next issue...it is very hard to make any money due to the leads being very old and overly contacted. One lead actually told me, “I feel like I’m being stalked by Houzz. Please take me off of your call list.” It is also very very cliquey at Houzz. I had an issue with a manager and was worried about the consequences if I went to HR, due to how close of a relationship they had. I ended up actually having an issue when I left and was going back and forth with HR and after THEY asked If I would like to talk on the phone about the issue, to which I responded yes. They stopped responding to the emails I was sending and never reached out to me. Essentially, it was a slap in the face and basically seemed like they were saying you are no longer employed here anymore; therefore, we don't really care about what you have to share. An additional con is the constant revolving door, due to a lot of people being forced to leave quarterly, because they couldn't hit their unrealistic goals/ numbers. From the time I started, until I left; there were promises of better leads, which were never fulfilled. This is the direct correlation to salespeople not being able to meet their goals. No joke, 80% of the hires are gone 1-2 quarters after training ends. My co-workers went on to find something better, essentially employment opportunities where upper management actually cares about the employees as individuals, instead of as disposable numbers.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2019-08-29

    Houzz Response

    September 18, 2019Houzz on Glassdoor

    I appreciate you taking the time to share about your experience and write a review. I’m not sure when you left Houzz, though I do want to share that we do continually evaluate our goals, as well as provide ongoing training and support to set our team members up for success. I am concerned about your reference to an issue with a manager and the experience you had working with HR to get this resolved. Please reach out to me directly if you feel comfortable sharing. Ana Harris-Padley, Head of People Services (ana.harris@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Fun place to work, not much career growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Houzz full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -amazing benefits -fun company culture - work with great people... everyone they hire really is young, nice and fun - no college degree required - free breakfast/lunches , fully stocked kitchen -amazing schedule (east coast hours) - always encouraged to use PTO - VP of sales is fun with great energy - great operations team that is always putting on team and office-wide events

    Cons

    - no opportunity to work from home - for orange county and the type of position, its low pay (not making money like the "good old days" (4-5 years ago at Houzz) - daily "huddles" where you have small talk with your team - overly recycled leads - goals often seem out of reach (there are new plans in place to help with this) - management (sales managers/director) are very clicky... same type of people always seem to get promoted - not much diversity within the office

    Continue reading
    Houzz2019-07-29

    Houzz Response

    August 8, 2019Houzz on Glassdoor

    Thank you for submitting a review! I really appreciate the feedback on your experience in our sales org. I’m glad to see so many amazing pros listed, and appreciate the personal shout out. Diversity is important to us at Houzz, and we've overhauled our hiring and promotion interview processes to continue to ensure fairness. We are seeing positive results with this so far, and I'm troubled that you aren't seeing the same. Some of what I’m reading here is a wish for more autonomy in deciding how best to focus your time at work, and I hear you. I’d like to hear more if you are comfortable reaching out. Please feel free to shoot me an email. Joey Nalevka, VP of Sales (joey.nalevka@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Thankful to work at the best company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative (Formerly Known As Account Executive) in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Houzz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have worked for other companies and let me tell you -- There truly is no place like Houzz. In addition to the fun perks (like a fully stocked kitchen, workout events, and team outings), I have grown so much in my career as a sales professional. I have been here for 2 years and have been promoted twice. The leadership team (specifically in the Irvine, CA office) has invested in me and provided the resources, tools, and opportunities to succeed as a Sales Rep / Account Exec. & I'm so grateful for the managers I've worked under - They are the best of the best. Inside phone sales can be challenging, but I'm so much more confident, efficient, and effective on the phone because of the time they spend strategizing and working with me. The environment is collaborative, fun, and exciting! I love working for a company that's continually evolving and innovating. There is big opportunity to earn money and no doubt you will meet some of your life-long friends here. Highly recommend Houzz to anyone!

    Cons

    In my experience working at Houzz - There are no cons.

    Houzz2019-06-26

    Houzz Response

    June 28, 2019Houzz on Glassdoor

    This is incredible! Thanks for sharing. I am so glad you are having such a great experience, and I look forward to even more success to come. Joey Nalevka, VP of Sales (joey.nalevka@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Happy New-Hire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Houzz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fully stocked kitchen Office Culture Work/Life Balance Benefits Catered breakfasts, lunches, and treats

    Cons

    401K-match - but I think that will change when Houzz goes public.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2019-06-23
  10. Helpful (10)

    "There is LOTS of room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    High base/benefits day 1/stocked kitchen/good people

    Cons

    Mediocre training. SDR's (appt setters) are trained better then the sales reps. Hot leads not evenly dispursed. The largest revolving door I have ever seen in sales. Way too many fish in a small pond. 17 in my training class 6 left. 4 out of 6 left all have write ups. This company will not hesitate to write you up for whatever reason especially if you get on more tenured reps/management bad side for whatever reason. Attendance policy needs updated especially for those with children. In terms of the program your selling.... Pro plus can be a great fit for some pros however it is way over priced. Fudging user numbers to pros in theyre market area is not cool in my book as well as not providing inaccurate lead details to pros. They dont record calls so some reps say whatever to get the sale. Too many reps not enough managers and way too much favoritism. Way too many meetings that take away from management time for the reps.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2019-07-02

    Houzz Response

    July 3, 2019Houzz on Glassdoor

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. I’m not sure when you left the team but we’re constantly enhancing the training we provide, including most recently through our Greenhouzz program. Something you mentioned is extremely concerning to me - your reference to market data and lead details for pros. The integrity of our data is of paramount importance to us and the pros we work with. If you would be comfortable discussing what you encountered with me, please do reach out as it’s not something I would tolerate. Best of luck with your future endeavors. Joey Nalevka, VP of Sales (joey.nalevka@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
Found 83 reviews