Houzz "fully stocked kitchen" Reviews | Glassdoor

Houzz Reviews

Updated Feb 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
54%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Houzz Chief Executive Officer Adi Tatarko
Adi Tatarko
523 Ratings
  1. Helpful (11)

    "A Truly Phenomenal and Fulfilling Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Houzz full-time

    Pros

    I immediately felt at home here and am consistently amazed by the connections I continue to make every day. Houzz has successfully obtained a stellar group of employees and I know many will be lifelong friends. Positive, fun atmosphere- supportive & friendly coworkers and tons of fun activities in the office Catered breakfast on Mondays and lunch on Fridays, along with a fully stocked kitchen Quarterly birthday parties with each person's favorite dessert for everyone to try Random surprises like an espresso bar on National Coffee Day Completely covered health/vision/dental insurance and pet insurance as well Every Wednesday is Workout Wednesday and you can wear your workout gear which is awesome- office attire is already very casual and laid back Monthly Healthy at Houzz events- Past events have been aerial yoga, pilates, barre, krav maga, sparkcycle Multiple patios overlooking Petco Park- beautiful 360 windows all around the office with views of downtown Paid parking right by the office- a big win for DT SD Cold brew, kombucha on tap, nespresso machine This office is almost completely sales so you constantly hear reps cheering on each other's sales and encouraging each other to succeed- there are also lots of incentives and contests on top of the uncapped commission structure In my interview process, I was promised development and I have seen much of that take effect from a very early point. I respect and trust my manager and know he is committed to helping both me and the team succeed Work-life balance is definitely valued as all of the sales team members are hourly and never work more than a 40 hour work week and the salaried team members are also strongly encouraged to only work their 40 hours as well I am so excited to be a part of this company and can't wait to be a part of our many successes to come!

    Cons

    Frequent desk moves, that is really it

    Houzz2019-01-29

    Houzz Response

    February 6, 2019Houzz on Glassdoor

    I’m glad you found your home at Houzz. Thanks for sharing about your experience here in San Diego. This month we’re rolling out additional development courses as part of our BUILD training. I think you’ll be excited to see that too. We’re excited to be part of your success as well! Jenn Meyer, San Diego Regional Sales Manager

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Houzz"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Nashville, TN
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free breakfast on Monday - wear workout clothes on Wednesday - free lunch on Friday - fully stocked kitchen with snacks - decent pay

    Cons

    I would only recommend this job for ages 18-35

    Houzz2019-02-05
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Wonderful atmosphere and coworkers, lacking communication."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support Coordinator in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fully stocked kitchen with options for everyone. Understanding HR, sorry people services. Genuine attempts at improving work flow. They do go above and beyond when it comes to reasonable accommodations for employees.

    Cons

    Lack of communication. Things are frequently told to certain employees but not all. Changes in procedures and approved resolutions changed or were different depending on which manager/lead you spoke with. Constantly changing procedures. The steps to solve an issue and what was an approved resolution would change from week to week and it was frequently not communicated to the entire team. Steadfast, consistent employees have a tendency to be overlooked for more popular, less dedicated employees. Apart from the standard medical Issues and illnesses that come with having a young family, I was there, was late maybe twice, and always followed internal procedures. Consistent high ratings and satisfaction of my customers and yet, there were still servers other employees that were constantly distracted or neglected to do as directed, that were either allowed to continue to do so, or got stern talkings too. There was literally a meeting added to one of the many (3+)programs that have to be opened before you can even begin to work, 2 or 3 hours before it was scheduled. I was out the door within an hour of the 15 minute meeting. You can’t honestly tell me that this was a last minute decision. This is an issue for two reasons. 1) This could have been on the schedule more than a few hours before. At the very least, you wouldn’t have had entire departments stewing and talking to all of their co-workers desperately hoping it isn’t then or a friend that’s on the block. Especially when you put such emphasis on Houzz being a family. 2) Such an emphasis is placed on being a family and caring for each other as well as our customers. This situation is not indicative of a company that truly feels this way. Business is it’s own beast, that necessitates hard decisions, and I get that, but this entire situation came across as sneaky when the above atmosphere is such a priority.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2019-01-30

    Houzz Response

    March 7, 2019Houzz on Glassdoor

    Thanks for sharing your experience. I am sorry it did not end more positively, and I agree with you - communication and transparency go a long way and we are working very hard to get better at both. We operate in a very dynamic market which requires quick responses and flexibility. We are currently implementing new tools and processes that are designed to enhance communication consistency and timeliness. Please reach out if you have additional items you’d like to communicate to me. Dale Sahs, Director of Customer Support (dale.sahs@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (44)

    "Client Success Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Success Manager in Irvine, CA

    I worked at Houzz full-time

    Pros

    Exceptional people (they will continue to leave if things don’t change), great benefits and office perks (stocked kitchen, catered meals Monday and Friday etc), great hours/work life balance, and great mid level management (they will also leave if they're not heard). I experienced incredible personal and professional growth here while simultaneously forging lifelong friendships with some truly amazing, motivated and intelligent people-- for that I am forever grateful. They hire straight out of college and I appreciate this because it gives driven young people otherwise lacking years of work experience an opportunity to dive into the workforce and *hopefully* grow within.

    Cons

    Please note: this review is specific to the Client Success Management channel. I want to start by saying it saddens me to write this review. I wanted to be Houzz's number one fan through all the tough times--we were a start up, we were bound to experience hiccups and speed bumps along the way but it was exciting and we believed in the journey so we all put our heads down and pushed through it together. Towards the last year of my employment, I realized I didn't believe in what we were doing or how we were doing it. Possibly worse, I found that our feedback as reps and even the feedback of our direct managers was not being heard and addressed effectively (or with any sense of urgency) which made it very difficult for us to effectively advocate for the best interests of our clients. My moral compass told me to run in the other direction because it seemed there was a growing negative trend: many of the changes I had a hard time swallowing were to the exclusive benefit of Houzz and had a direct negative impact on reps and pros (our clients). I'm going to try to outline the issues as concisely as possible. I want to be clear, I still believe this is an incredible company that has a ton of opportunity but I was never going to have a loud enough voice from within, so I hope this review will be used to better the CSM channel. New Sales: I'll keep this brief. We are scraping the bottom of the barrel with leads and it shows in our sales. Furthermore, we've built a system that consistently rewards AEs for getting the signature and credit card and CSMs are left to clean up the mess. Major issues with new sales include: pro is truly not a fit for what we offer, they are sold into a failing category or an area that consistently under-delivers, they don't realize the importance of their involvement for their own success with it, or more broadly, the expectations were not effectively set from the start. Product: Roughly 2 years ago we completely changed the product by adding a lead gen element in. This change caused irreparable damage, not because the concept or intention was bad, but because we refused to listen to what pros had to say about the low quality/low budget and fake leads they were receiving as a result. If time is money, our pros were suddenly wasting substantial time following up with bad leads and this loss of time and increased frustration meant a loss in credibility for Houzz. This shift towards lead gen also created confusion about how to sell the product (AE side) and how to effectively manage clients through their lifecycle (CSM side)...why work on building a compelling profile when you get the same leads either way? The "data" was telling us things were going well, so the direct feedback of pros and reps was ignored for months and now we're seeing the rising volume of cancellations as a result. Process: Roughly a year ago, we were told that we were going to start exercising auto-renewal. This wouldn't be a problem, had we been transparent about the process change and sent one email out to all our clients telling them this was going to be the new way we manage renewals. Instead, we were asked to "not poke the bear" and avoid triggering conversations about renewal because we wanted to see if anyone would really even notice. There was a distinct assumption made with this decision that pros were truly happy with the program, which given the product changes and various challenges with new sales/expectations outlined above, was not the case. Now people were upset with the leads and even more upset that they have been auto-renewed without notice and CSMs were left to handle it. I and many of my coworkers experienced anxiety (literal panic attacks in some cases) about coming into work because it was so deflating to face these negative conversations day in and day out without any sign of improvement on the forefront. Lack of Professional Growth: My professional growth at Houzz was in large part due to the lack of training and structure as I entered into the role. It was trial by fire and I failed often and learned to figure it out on my own as a result. My interests and skills were not nurtured or grown in a real way, despite the mutual efforts of myself and my direct managers. Unfortunately, since it’s not really encouraged to seek out opportunities in other departments, once you hit a dead-end in CSM, the only viable option is to leave. Leadership: There are some exceptional leaders at Houzz, but unfortunately the best ones don't really have any autonomy. We have a few of what we call "right time, right place" managers who moved up the ladder rather quickly, despite their lack of experience and exemplification of any leadership skills. Some leaders rose to the occasion when given the opportunity to advance, others most certainly did not and there was nothing CSMs could do about it since we don't have an opportunity to review our leaders. It's offensive to come into sales meetings (which are largely AE focused) and be told how great things are when our job is largely comprised of cancellations and our paychecks are diminishing as a result. We do not need to be reminded of our great benefits; we need to be addressed like adults and have an honest conversation about the state of the business, victories as well as pain points and the clearly defined actions being taken to make the job and product better. As another reviewer mentioned--benefits don't pay the bills and frankly, Houzz cannot rely on their great benefits and perks to keep people around because it's industry standard in the tech boom to offer perks that keep great talent around. I would argue that reps 1) want to feel the work they do is impactful 2) want to be heard 3) want to feel valued in their role and 4) want to be compensated fairly for controllable job responsibilities. I'd bet if you ran anonymous surveys with the CSM channel, you'd see that is far from the way your reps feel today.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2018-10-08

    Houzz Response

    October 12, 2018Houzz on Glassdoor

    Thanks very much for taking the time to provide such a thorough account of your recommendations. As I’ve mentioned in other reviews here - we are listening. We’ve just received the results of our annual employee survey and I’ve been working very closely with the CSM team this last month. You are right in that we have work to do to on the team and we’re rolling up our sleeves and getting to it. We continue to refine and make improvements, including our latest in the account hand-off process between the new business and account management teams. I am glad to read that you experienced both personal and professional growth during your time at Houzz (as you stated), though I am sorry it was not an overall positive experience for you. If you are up for a one-on-one conversation about your time with us, I would welcome that conversation. Please get in touch. Joey Nalevka, VP of Sales (joey.nalevka@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great Perks With Subpar Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Houzz full-time

    Pros

    Great Perks- fully stocked kitchen, great benefits, and flexible hours.

    Cons

    There is no room for growth. Work is mindless, you will not be intellectually challenged.

    Houzz2018-11-12
  6. Helpful (42)

    "Client Success Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Success Manager in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers, fully-stocked kitchen, efficient operations team, awesome benefits, good direct managers.

    Cons

    I have gone back and forth about writing this review for quite some time. However, since we are now actively hiring for the role, I feel compelled to let the potential candidates know what type of a company and role they’re getting themselves into. As you’re reading throughout the rest of the reviews, I think you’ll be able to find some common threads across the negative reviews, as well as the positive ones. Management has offered gift cards on multiple occasions to write positive reviews for the company….keep that in mind. First, I must discuss management at Houzz. As I had mentioned in the pros above, the CSM channel has some strong managers directly leading the teams that truly care about the success and well-being of their reps. Unfortunately, upper management is the opposite. She could care less about the extremely high turnover in our position, how low the channel’s morale is, and how the ineffective product reps are defending everyday isn’t working. She completely disregards the feedback that we have given to try and improve the role. Her lack of responsiveness in regards to all things - including our commissions/paychecks is extremely disturbing. Often times we won’t find out what we were being paid until the day before our paycheck comes...and by often...every month. If they don’t listen or respect outcries from our direct managers, how do you expect them to listen and respect us as reps? We recently brought on a new member to the leadership team. He doesn’t acknowledge problems within our department and refers to reps as lazy and spoiled. Now back to the high turnover in this position. Let me tell you a few reasons why all of the top reps are continuing to quit and look for other jobs. About a year ago, they switched the renewal process in our role to an auto-renewal model. Although pros had been having renewal calls for years, we were instructed to not inform them of their upcoming renewal and instead auto-renew their program for an entire year without warning. Although being auto-renewed for a full new term, the cancellation option we give them is paying for another 120 days before being removed. As you can imagine, this has turned our job into a customer service role, where we are no longer servicing accounts, but instead are being yelled at daily by pros demanding to rightfully cancel their programs. Due to the high turnover, our account load has tripled, which gives us even less time to effectively service our accounts. The department that is actively selling the accounts is so desperate to make sales at this point (because all of the leads left are so overworked and awful) that they have resorted to dishonest sales practices in order to hit their goals for the month. They are selling to people that aren’t a fit for the program and then wiping their hands clean once the pro requests to cancel two months in. The pro has already given their billing information, so once they’ve signed on the dotted line, it doesn’t matter to the initial sales rep. Guess whose paycheck it then affects? The CSM that was unfortunately assigned that account. This isn’t few and far between. This happens everyday. We are the only department that is held accountable for anything within this company, including blatant snake oil sales and beta tests where the product ultimately ends up failing. Overall, the program that we’re defending everyday is a completely confused product. It’s not being managed the way it’s being sold, and not performing the way that it’s being sold. The disconnect is evident and continues to go unaddressed. The unethical business practices do not help. They coach us not to discuss renewals with the pros and the auto-renewal is hidden and buried within the fine print of the agreement. Run if you have any moral compass. If you come into the office for an interview and are directed away from certain areas of the pods, it’s because there are so many empty desks and the poor recruiters don’t have a good excuse as to why so many people have left.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2018-09-21

    Houzz Response

    October 1, 2018Houzz on Glassdoor

    I’m not even sure where to start with your review. I’m sorry that you’ve had such a negative experience. One thing I can say for sure is that we are listening. There is always room for improvement and I think that you would find that we’ve already made progress on some of the things you’ve highlighted, including rolling out a full lifecycle management program to elevate our level of customer support; increasing communication and improving the feedback loop with our product team; and extending our product offerings. There are a few things you mentioned that I wanted to call out. We will always ask every employee to put the customer first, and have no policies or practices to do otherwise. As for providing gift cards for Glassdoor reviews, we have never, and will never, offer incentives for submitting reviews. We always encourage honest feedback whether through our employee survey or here, as you’ve done. If you’d like to share more detail about your experience, please don’t hesitate to reach out to me directly. Joey Nalevka, VP of Sales (joey.nalevka@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Houzzer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Houzz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Best work environment - Amazing people to work with. - Well stocked kitchen. - Team building events. - No politics. - Less formal meetings.

    Cons

    - No 401k match - Some people are less approachable (Unfortunately, true for any company)

    Houzz2018-10-23

    Houzz Response

    October 29, 2018Houzz on Glassdoor

    Thank you for taking time to write a review. I’m glad that you’re enjoying the work environment and the people. We’re trying hard to build a good culture with great people where everyone is approachable and valued. If you have ideas on how we can improve, feel free to reach out directly to me as well. Jerry Krikheli, VP of Engineering, Houzz (jkrikheli@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Marketplace Customer Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Level II in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Houzz full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Catered breakfasts on Monday, lunches on Friday. Fully stocked kitchen. Company events. Creative work environment. Hard work is rewarded, lots of growth opportunities. It is said that “we are a family” and truly feels like so.

    Cons

    The business is still relatively new (2009), and Marketplace didn’t start until 2014 so there are little quirks about the company that they are always working on improving. While there is a reason behind it change can often cause frustration for employees, and feel that this frustration can be the biggest con. Again though, it is all warranted and valid reasons to try to improve the business.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2018-09-29
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Houzz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Houzz cares about it's employees. It has done A LOT recently and have made A LOT of changes to show that. I personally am someone that got to experience some of the turbulent times at Houzz and feel that was largely due to being a start up and figuring out the direction to take the team. Recently we have brought on some great leadership with great experience and now have a clear vision. Whether you want sell and make 100k+ or you want to learn and grow as a leader/professional, Houzz truly has that available to you. Great benefits (you pay 0) Great perks (catered breakfast and lunch and a full stocked kitchen)

    Cons

    The only Cons I can think of is that sometimes its hard to get to communicate with every employee in the SD office because we are on two floors.

    Continue reading
    Houzz2018-09-05

    Houzz Response

    September 10, 2018Houzz on Glassdoor

    Thanks for sharing! We are listening, and our team is proud of the progress we are making and will continue to seek opportunities to do more. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if you have more feedback you would like to share along the way. Joey Nalevka, VP of Sales (joey.nalevka@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (18)

    "Amazing coworkers, good office, decent compensation - but may not be worth the stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSM 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Houzz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely amazing coworkers, beautiful office with a well-stocked kitchen, fun office initiatives (wellness Wednesday’s for example)

    Cons

    Little no opportunity for career growth out of this position, failing internal processes, compensation plans change often and not always for the better, account load is overwhelming

    Continue reading
    Houzz2018-09-20

    Houzz Response

    October 1, 2018Houzz on Glassdoor

    Thank you for sharing. Since I joined a few months ago, we’ve really been digging in and making meaningful changes for our CSM team. My focus has been to put more structure to the fundamentals for the CSM role, of which compensation is one, and we will be rolling out a new, well-defined career progression plan at the start of Q4. If there is anything more you’d like to share with me, please don’t hesitate to reach out. Joey Nalevka, VP of Sales (joey.nalevka@houzz.com)

    Continue reading
Found 81 reviews