Howard Fischer Associates Reviews

Updated Apr 27, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
77%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Howard Fischer Associates President and CEO Howard Fischer (no image)
Howard Fischer
10 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Love it !

    Apr 27, 2021 - Director in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ability to work from home.

    Cons

    Looking forward to a return to the office.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Nov 13, 2019 - Research Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Unparalleled work/life balance and flexible vacation time. Friendly, smart coworkers. Great culture, not a competitive atmosphere. Diverse searches/projects. Partners/management are invested in everyone's career growth

    Cons

    Great training ground, so we have lost some people to top VCs and startups

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    A great place to learn how to be approach search the right way and become a respected Executive Recruiter

    Nov 14, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    + Approaches search as an apprenticeship without the pressures of BD early in career + The focus of the firm is all about finding a great candidate for the client. + Instills a strong process and discipline in every recruiter from how to make the initial call to how to reference, to the best way to facilitate a close + Culture of collaboration, team work and low ego + With rare exceptions, everyone rolls up their sleeves and calls candidates + Early and direct involvement with clients ... even as a Consultant + The place to build a foundational expertise that is held in high regard by the VC community throughout Silicon Valley. + HFA Alumni can be found as leading members of VC recruiting teams at Andreessen Horowitz, Greylock, Accel, KPC&B and Norwest.

    Cons

    + Have to be comfortable with a black-box bonus model

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great home over the last 10 years

    Dec 18, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Cupertino, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Over the last 10 years, I've had the opportunity and good fortune to lead, work on and contribute to searches that cover literally every functional leadership area from CEO, engineering, product, sales, marketing, finance, operations, and HR and across every technical sector from enterprise software, to social media, to semiconductors. Short of working in an analyst or venture capacity, it's the best education and exposure to the world of silicon valley technology I could imagine. More importantly, I've had the opportunity to do all of this with people who I consider family and personal friends, in a supportive and thoughtful culture. We also have more than our fair share of fun around the office.

    Cons

    We make decisions carefully. In the end that reduces a lot of churn and waste which is a good thing, however, I'd still like to see us push the envelope more.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great Place To Learn Executive Search, Bad Culture

    Nov 7, 2017 - Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to learn executive search. Very thorough process that teaches you how to execute and do best in class executive search work. Collaborative culture with your peer group. No in fighting since it's not a commission structure. Work with top companies in F500 and VC/PE world. Access to C-suite executives.

    Cons

    The two owners are challenging people to work for. They have a nasty way about them. Edgy, sometimes mean, mercurial. One owner doesn't do any work but grills you if you don't have candidates for his searches. If you're willing to put up with their nonsense, it's fine. Compensation will never align to market rate. Bonuses tend to be based on company profitability and target budgets (which are pulled out of thin air by ownership), even if you have a great year compared to others in firm or other offices.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    HFA - great place to work!

    Mar 4, 2014 - Executive Recruiter in Los Gatos, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I explored a broad spectrum of companies to join when I was exploring making the transition from an operating exec role to that of executive recruiter and decided on HFA because the culture and the level of integrity here was exceptional. I've had the opportunity to work on great searches from SpaceX, GitHub, Cloudera, Couchbase...and we have a lot of fun here (I've laughed more and harder here than in any other place I've worked in the past). Culture, integrity and quality of searches have been exceptional.

    Cons

    Career pathing - not a con, just figuring it out

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Research Associate

    Sep 16, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Thorough process and best in class in evaluating candidates. Many HFA alumni have gone on to top VCs and firms

    Cons

    Bad culture that refuses to adapt to modern times - still do paper updates in a tech-driven sector. Overstaff projects and too many pointless internal meetings. Terrible management. I saw countless things that could have been a lawsuit if someone wanted to pursue. Determination for consultants to be generalists means more ramp up time per search compared to specializing and creating a network, leading to a less ideal client experience than specialization.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    I thought I did, but in reality - I didn't know what search was, until I worked here

    Nov 2, 2017 - Current Or Past 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some of the best, most dedicated minds in the industry. Culture is completely collaborative and focused on the client and doing great search work for the client company. Period. It's all repeat and referral business because of that. The people are fun, don't take themselves too seriously and move fast but you don't come here to play Foosball and drink IPAs.. you come here to build a career. And the exposure you get to do just that is just not possible at those other 'bullpen' firms.

    Cons

    you need to put the time in and work hard.

    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to learn, execute and thrive as a world class Executive Recruiter.

    Dec 7, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing organization to learn best in class fundamentals of executive search and then be able to execute at the highest levels within established F500, Venture Capital & P/E and Board searches. Ability to engage and be part of all aspects of search dealing with C-Suite and Board no matter what level you are at the firm. Highly Collaborate across all three offices (Philadelphia, Boston & CA). Hard working and smart culture where you will constantly learn about new industries, sectors and functions no matter what level you are at the firm.

    Cons

    could make internal decisions quicker.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Exceptionally talented recruiters across the board

    Mar 6, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked for several search firms, but none with this caliber of cross-the-board great recruiters. There isn't a weak link to be found here. Great teamwork, relentless effort put towards searches, and low to zero corporate politics.

    Cons

    Really nothing negative at all.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews

Popular Careers with Howard Fischer Associates Job Seekers

Search Consultant
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Howard Fischer Associates? Share Your Experiences

Howard Fischer Associates logo
or