Howard & Howard Reviews | Glassdoor

Howard & Howard Reviews

Updated Sep 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Howard & Howard CEO Mark A. Davis
Mark A. Davis
2 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Howard & Howard full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to work at

    Cons

    No cons about Howard and Howard

    Howard & Howard2019-06-17
  2. "Poor Office Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Howard & Howard full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Bagels on Fridays, Free coffee.

    Cons

    Terrible, disorganized , poor management in the Chicago area. Needs an overhaul of new leaders.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff, instead of worrying about your own job, by pretending to corporate.

    Howard & Howard2019-09-07
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Poor Work Environment, Lack of Professionalism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Lawyer in Royal Oak, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Howard & Howard full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Do not work for this firm. AVOID

    Cons

    Hostile Work Environment, Shady Behavior in my years at the firm. Worst years of my life.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the shady backstabbing individuals

    Howard & Howard2019-04-18
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Legal Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Assistant in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Howard & Howard full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice office location, lots of work to be done, there's a "backup system" if you are out, decent benefits.

    Cons

    The "backup system" may not be great, if you are the one backing up everyone (you could have double the work that day

    Howard & Howard2018-04-24
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Legal Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Howard & Howard full-time

    Pros

    Good place to work for experience

    Cons

    Salary is not competitive for experienced legal assistants

    Advice to Management

    Staff is important part of organization

    Howard & Howard2017-04-19
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Legal Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Howard & Howard full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I sincerely cannot say enough about how much I loved every single person I worked with and spent my days with at Howard, right down to our CEO Mark Davis, everyone was open, kind, courteous, and genuinely a pleasure to be around, and given the opportunity, I would go back in a heartbeat. Which begs the question, why did I leave?

    Cons

    Unfortunately there is one person, who while you do not "work with them" and frankly don't see them all that much if at all even, they can make or break your time at Howard. If you are on the "list of friends" you will have no problem, if however something should occur, and this person should decide they no longer like you or want you around, believe me... they will find a way to make you so unhappy, that you will... be left with no other choice but to leave. To this day, I have nothing bad to say about Howard, but until this person is no longer a part of management, it's not a place I wish to be.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Y

    Howard & Howard2017-03-07
  7. Helpful (3)

    "It's an excellent oppertunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Assistant in Royal Oak, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Howard & Howard full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pleasant office facilities; great benefits; staff and attorneys create enjoyable workplace; flexible with scheduling; HR seems to advocate for staff; firm has excellent reputation/looks good on a resume...

    Cons

    Workloads aren't equally distributed; there is little continuity with work product and different standards/expectations from attorneys to staff; there is little socialization between attorneys and staff-bit of a class/social divide;

    Advice to Management

    More continuing education for staff; better communication from higher levels regarding expectations; individuals need be held more accountable for poor performance.

    Howard & Howard2015-07-22
  8. Helpful (2)

    "If you like working for small firms, this one is perfect!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Howard & Howard for more than a year

    Pros

    Since there's less than 5 employees, there is more day-to-day input and less conflict.

    Cons

    Having to wear multiple, unexpected hats.

    Advice to Management

    If you want to keep quality employees, pay them for the skills/jobs you assign them. Salary should compensate real duties/responsibilites/performmance/completion and not just what is defined on paper.

    Howard & Howard2014-12-09
  9. Helpful (4)

    "No Work-Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Howard & Howard full-time

    Pros

    The office location is awesome, and there are some great people here.

    Cons

    Despite what's been said, there's no real allowance of proper work-life balance. Work comes before anything else in your life - and I've been told this three times (by HR and attorneys)

    Advice to Management

    Demonstrate true appreciation to loyal employees beyond the fluffy stuff to pacify us.

    Howard & Howard2014-08-29
  10. "A great company to work for with friendly lawyers and legal assistants."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Legal Assistant in Royal Oak, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Howard & Howard for less than a year

    Pros

    Great salary and clean su rroundings. Also bagel day on Friday.

    Cons

    Some legal assistant were assigned to 4-5 attorneys.

    Howard & Howard2014-07-28
Found 12 reviews