Howdens Joinery Reviews | Glassdoor

Howdens Joinery Reviews

Updated Jul 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 126 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Andrew Livingston
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good bonus scheme, training available,(in 12 reviews)

  • "The people at Howdens are fantastic(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours - always want more but that’s to be expected in sales(in 6 reviews)

  • "Depot managers will deliberately tell lies to area managers, HR and security to severely damage your credibility and reputation if they don't like you(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales rep. Varies from Depot to Depot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Sales Representative in Kent, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Howdens Joinery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Reasonable wage. Good bonus scheme. Left to work the way I want to as long as getting results. The depot I’m based in has good management and a great atmosphere. From what I can see not all depots are like this.

    Cons

    Over time not paid. Long hours including Saturday mornings. Can be a case of being thrown in at the deep end when you first start.

    Advice to Management

    Technology needs improving. The systems are clunky and reps could very much benefit from access to CRM while on the road.

    Howdens Joinery2018-04-30
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Howdens Joinery full-time

    Pros

    Good product to sell with good reputation

    Cons

    Saturday working is not great

    Advice to Management

    Give more autonomy

    Howdens Joinery2018-01-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Information Technology 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Howdens Joinery

    Pros

    Chocolate and free drinks! investment into staff

    Cons

    I can't think of any.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing.

    Howdens Joinery2014-12-08
  4. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Howdens Joinery

      Pros

      Good company to work for

      Cons

      Long hours nothing else really

      Howdens Joinery2019-07-11
    • "Amazing"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Business Development 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Howdens Joinery full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Regular meetings where you are listened to , regular 1 to 1’s , great environment, great company to progress in , yearly product show showcasing the new products , great environment to work as a team as well as solo

      Cons

      I honestly can’t think of any

      Advice to Management

      Carrying on doing what you’re doing!

      Howdens Joinery2019-07-10
    • "Just great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Business Developer in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Howdens Joinery full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Bonus, on top of very internally promoting

      Cons

      Working Saturdays, but it is only half a day

      Howdens Joinery2019-07-10
    • "Amazing company to work for and amazing people!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Recruiter in Howden, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Howdens Joinery full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great work culture and a free canteen!

      Cons

      Get busy at times but there's lots of support available

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the great work

      Howdens Joinery2019-07-08
    • "Howdenised"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Representative in Plymouth, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Howdens Joinery full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Bonus ...family atmosphere and relative gains

      Cons

      Weird at best Each depot in Cities have own rep therefore constantly standing on each others toes

      Advice to Management

      Dont allow ex reps to interfere with new employees development

      Howdens Joinery2019-07-07
    • "Unique product and dedicated people"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Howdens Joinery full-time

      Pros

      Good product which is easy to sell to our target group, being the builders. People who work there have focus on the company and the company takes good care of them. Lot's of activities are organized to feel at home.

      Cons

      Ability to adjust products to the local needs

      Advice to Management

      Setting a strategy is very important, and there is a clear focus. Involve (sr) managers more in creating the strategy. Next to that, prepare your future leaders.

      Howdens Joinery2019-07-03
    • "Great company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Shift Manager in Howden, England

      I have been working at Howdens Joinery full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Development opportunities for those who want it

      Cons

      Sow progression sometimes is an issue

      Howdens Joinery2019-06-28
    Found 126 reviews