KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos
Best Places to Work 2021

HubSpot

HubSpot

Add a Review

HubSpot Business Development Representative Reviews

Updated Jun 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 of over 1,698 reviews

5.0
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of HubSpot and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Best place to work

    May 3, 2021 - Business Development Representative in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Best place on earth. An extremely supportive and collaborative environment. Cares about their employees!

    Cons

    None. Truly can’t come up with any.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    HubSpot Response

    Chief People Officer

    Thank you so much for being a BDR at HubSpot, and for the callout on how supportive and collaborative folks are. It means the world to me that you're growing your sales career in a supportive environment, thanks for the thoughtful review! Sincerely, Katie

  2. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great Company

    Jul 7, 2020 - Business Development Representative in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome benefits, work culture, and pay. Overall great company

    Cons

    None as of right now!

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    HubSpot Response

    Chief People Officer

    Thanks for being an alum of HubSpot and for helping our prospects grow better--we are grateful for both your time here and for the feedback! Sincerely, Katie

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good place to be a BDR

    May 1, 2020 - Business Development Representative in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Solid product to sell, can sell everything not just a specific product - Shortest BDR Tenure I could find - Promotion based on metrics

    Cons

    None that I could think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    HubSpot Response

    Chief People Officer

    Thanks for your review and for your feedback--our BDR team is indeed wonderful, we are lucky to have you on our team! Sincerely, Katie

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Sep 18, 2019 - Business Development Representative in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interactive community - everyone is always willing to help. The atmosphere is positive, I walk in whistling and walk out whistling! The training HubSpot provides throughout your career in Sales in unmatched. They are constantly evolving while keeping everyone in the loop. Big open floor so everyone is always able to help and provide advice, etc. Overall an awesome place to work!

    Cons

    Base pay at first is rough - every promotion from the ‘base BDR’ pay however is great!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    HubSpot Response

    Chief People Officer

    "Walk in and walk out whistling" is one of the highest possible endorsements we could hope for, this made me smile, thank you for writing it! Thanks for calling out that the promotions from BDR are meaningful, and for all you do to help our prospects grow with HubSpot! Sincerely, Katie

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    I love HubSpot!!

    Aug 21, 2019 - Business Development Representative in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    All of HubSpot leaders give you the autonomy to work despite your position. This creates a very supportive culture and makes you feel safe to make mistakes and quickly learn on the job. The company also invests a ton in the culture, making sure everybody feels welcome and creating a sense of belonging regardless of your culture, race, gender, backgrounds, etc.

    Cons

    There's not enough time during the day to attend all events and seminars!

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    HubSpot Response

    Chief People Officer

    Thank you so much for sharing your perspective, for calling out our commitment to diversity, inclusion, and belonging, and for noting that it's hard to keep up with all the good stuff happening, I feel the same way! Thanks for helping our prospects grow! -Katie

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Jun 20, 2019 - Business Development Representative in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture. Everyone there wants you to succeed

    Cons

    A lot of work, none besides that

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    HubSpot Response

    Chief People Officer

    Thank you for being a Business Development Rep at HubSpot, for your nice advice, and for helping our prospects make informed decisions on growing better. Sincerely, Katie

  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work/but not perfect

    Dec 29, 2018 - Business Development Representative in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture, benefits, allows an easy work/life balance. They generally try to make it a fun place to work and I can't tell you the number of restaurants I wouldn't have spent the money to try if it wasn't for HubSpot the amount they spend on their employees.

    Cons

    Below average market salary, only outbound position in an increasingly inbound organization, success can be a product of territory and management and doesn't necessarily translate to skill and effort.

    1 person found this review helpful

    HubSpot Response

    Chief People Officer

    Thanks for the feedback-I would agree that we are not perfect, but hopefully we are always growing and improving as we evolve as an organization globally. I'll ensure that the BDR team sees this feedback and partner with them to ensure it's heard, thanks for sharing and for helping HubSpot grow. -Katie

  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Buckle your seat belt!

    Jul 5, 2013 - Business Development Representative in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - People are amazing. Everyone is extremely nice and friendly. It feels like one giant family. - Thought Leaders in a Growing Field - Energy is always buzzing - New Kitchen is awesome and makes everyone happy - Tons of support - Dress Code - easy parking and access to T

    Cons

    - Salary is very low. Some people are just managing to survive with their expenses. Boston is the 3rd most expensive real estate in the US. Apartments for someone out of college range from ~$1000-$1500 a month. With half the salary being commission and the other being based its hard to tell how your going to do for that month. On average you'll make $2000 month in first level sales. It's not fun to count ever penny. - Sales is out of your hands. You depend on someone else for your commission. - Unlimited vacation policy is almost impossible with needing each second of the day to hit numbers - Work 60+ hours a week - Fear of always getting fired if you don't hit numbers in 60 days. - Always working and wishing there were more time - White Collar Sweat Shop - Cramped Space - 1600 Calls a Month

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good learning experience, frustrating due to lack of structure

    Dec 18, 2014 - Business Development Representative in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing product and some of the coolest and smartest people I have ever met. It is so easy to get passionate about the future of marketing and work on your skills here.

    Cons

    Worst BDR program out there. There is no structure to how we operate and no clear direction. The metrics encourage laziness and hinder sales development(which is all self driven). If you want to pick off hot leads and not really build your skills then this is the place to do it. If you want to build loyal reps that come from the BDR level then work closely with those who are eager to learn and stop trying to slow them down. Main problem here is that it is not a sales driven organization, so a lot of the sales people here are not true salesmen, but instead are working off of who finds the best leads first. That's frustrating if you are talented, especially at the BDR level.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    HubSpot - Slave Labor

    Jul 17, 2013 - Business Development Representative in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice people Free food in kitchen beer

    Cons

    -They tell you pay is 50,000 a year- its really ~ 36,000 after taxes. -HR will tell you that quota is always hit. The BDR team has come close to hitting quota once in 7 months...which equates to pay being painfully low. -Lots of cool events happening around the office "Hubtalks" that you have to miss to still hit numbers -Unlimited vacation is the biggest hoax in the world. No one takes days off because you still have to hit numbers. -Everyone on team is miserable and talks about quitting at every paycheck and almost everyday at lunch. -Prepare to work 50 hrs a week (No work-life balance). -About 2 people in this role quit a month (they bring on 4-5/mo) -Unlimited vacation can only happen once you hit a certain promotion (for a week) and you can only take it off if no one else has already asked to take it off.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 34 Reviews

Popular Careers with HubSpot Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at HubSpot? Share Your Experiences

or