HubSpot Reviews

Updated Aug 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.7
94%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
  1. COVID-19
    Helpful (1)

    "Not everything is as it seems"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - I Would Prefer Not to Say 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HubSpot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture is great... if you are liberal... and you agree with management. There are a lot of wonderful accommodations and perks.

    Cons

    The pay is horrendous. The "cult-like" culture rumors are completely true. While the culture claims to be the "best", I have seen managers padding results with fake posts on Glassdoor, and I reported this internally only to find nothing was done. The culture is extremely liberal. It is very closed minded in terms of opinions that aren't in line with the company bureaucracy. I'm liberal, but I'd prefer to leave my political opinions and religious beliefs at the door. The work-life balance is somewhat hit or miss. Some teams have more challenging work than others, but the expectations aren't adjusted accordingly. Managers tend to play favorites, allowing personal feelings to impact productivity. Management is a bit underhanded at times. There was a RIF during covid. It wasn't announced, and it was carried out in an extremely underhanded way. The interview process is ok, but they've let a lot of good talent slip through the cracks based on a process that is weighted towards college graduates and being restrictive in terms of compensation.

    Continue reading

    HubSpot Response

    July 21, 2020Chief People Officer

    Sorry to hear you feel this way-honestly we don't see eye to eye on this one at all, so it's hard for me to respond or engage in a productive way other than to say I'm sorry you feel that way and thank you for your time and feedback here. -Katie

  2. "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time

    Pros

    - Unlimited vacation - Great culture, love my coworkers

    Cons

    None so far! Only a couple months in :)

    HubSpot Response

    June 22, 2020Chief People Officer

    Welcome! We love you right back-thanks for being a software engineer on our team, and I hope your next few months and years are even better. Sincerely, Katie


  3. "just ok"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Technical Lead in Boston, MA

    I worked at HubSpot full-time

    Pros

    you can get lucky and end up on a great team

    Cons

    or you can end up in a sweatshop

    HubSpot Response

    July 21, 2020Chief People Officer

    Sorry to hear that you feel that way about your time here-open to any feedback you have here, but sounds like your experience wasn't great and for that I'm sorry. -Katie

  4. Helpful (5)

    "Know what you're getting in for"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are excellent. This is a standard mid-sized tech company that's performing well. You'll get excellent medical , dental, & vision, excellent stock options, above-average base salary, a beautiful office, unlimited PTO, and more. The company has done an excellent job of becoming a best place to work for women, and this shows, from the high number of women in top management positions. The company hasn't achieved this by taking a radical feminist stance of trying to encourage women to be more like men and then driving them away in the process, but rather, by valuing women for who they are and creating special benefits that women will enjoy. On site you'll find manicures and pedicures available, and the company offers flexible hours and other benefits so that women with children won't feel they have to choose between their children and their careers. The managers have created a positive environment by genuinely listening to their employees (en masse). This is a company that understands how to hire developers. Developers are given freedom to suggest and implement new projects, attention is given the removing processes which can impede developers, and so on. You really will be working with the best of the best. Your colleagues will be alumni from the best names in the industry, such as Google. Having this company on your resume will improve your job prospects. The company is recognized as being one that hires the best of the best. However, this comes with a caveat that if the job doesn't work out, it can also hurt your prospects because many employers assume that if it didn't work out for you at HubSpot, you must not be a good developer. This is especially concerning given the above-average chance of it not working out for you, which is something I will cover in the cons.

    Cons

    The company has done an excellent job of creating a positive environment for women, but this can lead to double standards. In the office, women make sex jokes of the same nature that you'd expect most women only to make in private with their female friends. It's generally understood that if a male employee were to make similar jokes, he'd be fired. Most tech companies err on the side of not hiring an employee they're on the fence about, in the belief that it's more detrimental to the company to make a bad hire, than it is beneficial to make a good one. HubSpot wants to ensure it doesn't miss out on a rockstar developer. The way it reconciles these two competing interests is by hiring anyone the company could go either way on, but also firing them if, for any reason, it isn't working out after 3-6 months. What this means is it's possible to be hired by the company, placed in a situation in which it's impossible for you to succeed through no fault of your own, and fired three months later. In my case, I was placed on a team in which the tech lead was out recovering from surgery and the person who was supposed to be helping me was unavailable. After six months I was fired without the company ever trying me on a different team. What Dan Lyons wrote about the company only caring about the bottom line is very true. The managers do listen, but only to large numbers. As an individual, you matter very little. I worked 10 hour days and on weekends to compensate for the absence of management I was given. I suggested pairing me to work with someone from another team for just a few days and it was ignored. People knew I was struggling, but not a single one ever offered to help me. The only management I was given was being told that anonymous members of my team had assumed I wasn't doing work, and because the team is more important than the individual, it was my job to figure out how to get them to stop. When I was fired, I saw a very different side of one of my managers. This was someone who was largely respected in the company and regarded as a sensitive, helpful manager. I was told I didn't have common sense and that I didn't belong in the field. I've since gone on to lead projects at major companies and be courted by some of the biggest names in tech, but once the company decides it doesn't need you, you see its real side. The company's approach to management is very passive aggressive. They might hold a meeting telling everyone they don't want them to feel they have to work too long, but privately you'll be told you're underperforming and you need to get your productivity up. Even though the company does take steps to create a feeling that you're around friends, the truth is many of the people will show a different side of themselves once you're no longer with the company. Only one person from the company has kept in touch. The reputation about being the best place to work in Boston is largely hype that the company has created. During the years I've worked in Boston, the only people I've met who wanted to work for HubSpot were college students who bought into the hype. By contrast, I know several seasoned developers who know about this company's reputation and don't want to work here. Everyone in Boston knows someone who knows someone who got overworked by the company and either was fired, or quit. Once you leave the company you'll meet multiple people who tell you they felt the same way as Dan Lyons but were less vocal about it, etc.

    Continue reading

    HubSpot Response

    June 22, 2020Chief People Officer

    Ouch, tough one to read here and sorry to hear you had such a negative experience at HubSpot. It's hard for me to tell from your review when you worked here, so I am very hopeful that a lot has changed since you left. But since I can't tell that for sure, let me just say that sexist, non-inclusive behavior is not acceptable here (regardless of the gender of the person making the comments or jokes) and that we really pride ourselves on a strong partnership between our team, legal, and the business to ensure we enforce those commitments with every team throughout HubSpot. If you're open to sharing your feedback directly with our team, we'd love to hear it and work to understand and address what may have gone wrong here. If not, totally understand that and will work with our engineering team and with our team to ensure we learn from this, whether it was six weeks ago or six years ago. Sincerely, Katie

  5. "Good company"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time

    Pros

    Very autonomous in the department of engineering

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    HubSpot Response

    June 22, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thanks for being a senior SWE, and for calling out the autonomy you're giving in coming here. Hope you continue to love it, thanks for the feedback! Sincerely, Katie

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Best place to be a support rep"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Customer Support Specialist 

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time

    Pros

    - Great customers who rarely (if ever) abuse the support reps trying to help - Incredible leadership that is always looking for ways to improve you experience and make sure you perform your best

    Cons

    - Huge product that you will be expected to know the ins and outs of quickly - Case quotas can be tough to hit consistently and there is constant pressure to take on the expected number of cases with lower emphasis on ensuring that you have helped your current customers to the point of being delighted

    HubSpot Response

    June 22, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thanks for being a Support rep at HubSpot, we are lucky to have you. Totally hear you that the product has gotten deep and wide in nature and that that creates a lot for Support to work on and through, thanks for the feedback and for making the time to leave a review. Sincerely, Katie

  7. Featured Review
    Helpful (36)

    "The Company You've Been Looking For"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been working at HubSpot for less than a year and these are the things that I've loved since starting - Flexibility: Just be sure to communicate with your team and managers and flexibility of schedule is offered to you if you need it. It makes you feel like you're in charge of your schedule as long as you're producing the expected amount of work. - Autonomy: At first, coming from a different company/culture, this was an adjustment. But, I can honestly say that I love being in charge of making my own day to day priorities while driving towards an overall set goal. It makes me feel empowered and I take pride and ownership over the work I'm doing each day. - Great People Work Here: Amazing people ready to welcome anyone that is new and help with any questions. - Creative Freedom/Everyone's Opinion Matters

    Cons

    The only con I have would be the sense of being overwhelmed a bit at the beginning of my career here. There is a lot of information available to new employees and it can be hard to determine where to start. The learning and development team does a great job of trying to set you off on the right path though.

    HubSpot Response

    February 12, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thank you so much for your thoughtful review and for being an engineer at HubSpot, we are lucky to have you. I think your feedback on feeling overwhelmed at the start is important, both to encourage our team to continue to keep an eye on that with new folks, but also for new folks to realize they aren't alone on that front, so thanks for calling it out! I also love you feel Creative Opinion and that everyone's voice here matters-it's mission critical that folks feel that way, so it brings me great joy that you do. Thank you for your thoughtful review and for all you do for HubSpot! -Katie

  8. "I have heard of this business it would be good for People that have disability to get this job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HubSpot full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and easy to work

    Cons

    When it come with clients or phone call to deal with angrily customers

  9. "Great Company to work for"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Customer Support Specialist 

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time

    Pros

    unlimited paid time off. Overall benefits

    Cons

    Difficult to find promotion opportunities; salary

    HubSpot Response

    July 21, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thanks for the review and for helping our Support team grow--on promotion opportunities I think we can always do more there, but fair push, thanks for sharing your feedback and for your world-class efforts to support our customers! -Katie

  10. "Good place to be a BDR"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time

    Pros

    - Solid product to sell, can sell everything not just a specific product - Shortest BDR Tenure I could find - Promotion based on metrics

    Cons

    None that I could think of

    HubSpot Response

    July 21, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thanks for your review and for your feedback--our BDR team is indeed wonderful, we are lucky to have you on our team! Sincerely, Katie

Found 1150 reviews