KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos
Best Places to Work 2021

HubSpot

HubSpot

Add a Review

HubSpot Senior Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Jul 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 of over 1,698 reviews

4.4
93%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of HubSpot and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good place to work

    Jun 27, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's good. Three more words.

    Cons

    sometimes it's not that good

    2 people found this review helpful

    HubSpot Response

    Chief People Officer

    LOL to "three more words." Thanks for writing this and for helping us build great software as a Senior SWE! -Katie

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    This company cares

    Jun 8, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Raleigh, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As many others have noted, HubSpot has done a tremendous job of emphasizing good culture and working to make it a reality. It's also clear that the decision-makers care about the things they're talking about, whether it's business-related, social, or anything in between. Nothing is given lip service without the action to back it up, which is refreshing and needed.

    Cons

    As a remote employee, it takes a bit more effort and intentionality to feel connected to the company mission and my team. It's more of a disadvantage of my own circumstances than the company though. They've made every effort to make remote work a delightful experience. We're all still learning and growing as remote work becomes more prevalent.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    HubSpot Response

    Chief People Officer

    This review really warmed my heart, thank you for making the time to share it. And equally as importantly, for being a Senior SWE on our team and for joining us remotely! I think your fair push on ensuring that we need to ensure folks feel deeply connected to the company mission and team regardless of which corner of the world they reside in is an important one, so thanks for calling it out, and for all you do to build a great product our customers love. I sincerely appreciate it! -Katie

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    10/10 Engineering Org; 9/10 Company

    Jun 18, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Flat managerial structure and little red tape in engineering => Full Autonomy - Dedication to maintaining culture => Talented, fun-to-work-with colleagues - Engineering Org is a well-oiled machine with some of the best tooling I've ever seen => Writing code is fun...? - Unlimited PTO => Great WLB

    Cons

    - Relative to other top tech companies, initial compensation packages are a little low, but performing well will result in regular adjustments.

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Lots of autonomy and responsibilities

    Jan 18, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer II in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There's never a dull moment at work; there's always something new cooking around the corner, and we move quite fast. I love all the autonomy and support I get to try new things and take on large, vague projects. I'm constantly learning, and if something isn't working out or I've stopped learning, switching teams is easy and even encouraged (I've been on 5 teams, and have tried out tech leadership as well as individual contributor roles). My peers support me, and I feel like they also care a lot about the team and our success. There's physiological safety to voice your opinions and try out new things, even if you're wrong and you fail. There are a few teams where this is not true, but you can easily move off or avoid them altogether by asking around. There is a lot of emphasis placed on mental health, and taking the time you need to live your life as well as work, which is wonderful. Primary and secondary parental leave are both now 4 months, which is incredible!

    Cons

    There exist teams where there isn't physiological safety and they seem to operate contradictory to the HubSpot way. While they are far and few, I imagine if you're placed here as a new hire, you would have a very different experience at HubSpot, which is saddening.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    HubSpot Response

    Chief People Officer

    Hi there, sorry for the delay on my end, and thanks for being a senior software engineer at HubSpot! I love that you've moved around and felt encouraged to do so, and I love that you called out our parental leave change-thanks for calling that out! Helping people grow AND helping their families grow is mission critical to all we do. I think your point that psych safety has to exist on every team for it to really work is a good one, particularly as we scale-thank you for calling it out and for all your hard work at HubSpot, it's sincerely appreciated. -Katie

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Fast-paced workplace with high expectations

    Nov 3, 2020 - Senior Software Engineer II in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Fantastic place to grow as an engineer with opportunities to move around teams, working on various technologies. - Well-developed platform stack that enables engineers to deliver value quickly. - Surrounded by lots of very driven people who want/like to work which fosters a strong sense of camaraderie - Dedicated weekly one-on-one meetings with manager to seek feedback/ask questions/raise concerns - Unlimited vacation

    Cons

    This may be seen as a pro depending on the type of person you are and what you're looking for in a job: - HubSpot is a place that values ownership and autonomy - thus, very high expectations on its engineers. The people that find success at HubSpot are those run towards the fire, go out of their way to help others, take ownership over their mistakes, identifying and working on problems without having to be asked. This theme of autonomy and ownership is baked into just about everything including who gets promoted and how salary adjustments are determined (e.g. there is no across-the-board yearly raise/bonus for every engineer like at some companies; the engineers who receive the raises are the ones that deliver the most value and act as team players). I think this culture can provide an amazing opportunity for learning and growth for those who are looking for it - but its not a place where you can easily skate by. I think to be successful at HubSpot you have to want to be there and enjoy going above and beyond.

    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work

    May 22, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer II 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Smart people, interesting problems, great platform.

    Cons

    Low 401k match and comp not always competitive.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Best employer!

    Mar 23, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer I in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture-first company; focusses on personal growth of employees; very inclusive workplace; plenty of trust on all levels, from management to team leads

    Cons

    Diversity could be a little better, but it's been improving significantly thanks to major efforts and an inclusive culture

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    HubSpot Response

    Chief People Officer

    Wow, thanks for this lovely review, and I would agree that we can continue to improve on diversity. Thank you so much for calling out trust and our culture, I'm so grateful to you for both your work on our engineering team and for making the time to share this review! Sincerely, Katie

  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    "Marketing themselves as best company"

    Mar 23, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company culture is good as far as an external person in concern. Some of the people are pretty talented.

    Cons

    - Absolutely pathetic team leads. - Absolute micro-management - Since they try to show off that they have the best culture, the only way they can do the opposite is by being passive-aggressive. Leads retract on their own statements and have partial and targeted behavior. Giving a code review at midnight and expecting it to be addressed the next day before 8 am meeting. Since they are easily replaceable, they have an incentive in setting you up for a failure. - Doing the same work every day (this is true for most teams). You cannot change the teams until a year if you do not like the work. And even after a year, you are at the mercy of the reviews of the same people you are trying to get away from to change the team. - If you are smarter than your superiors, you are absolutely screwed (when I say seniors, they can be the same age as you or even younger, since they can make anyone a TL) - WFH is a joke. I am scrutinized even if I take lunch break more than half hour, or fail to reply to slack within 5 minutes. Really wish we were in office because I can at least go to the bathroom and may not be perceived as underperforming or just not attentive to work. - Adhering to best software practices is a forgotten thing I have survived for some time now but under absolute torture. No use reaching out to higher level management because the person higher up the food chain always wins. You cannot show the truth, if everyone hates it. Do not know when they will fire me, but expecting it sooner rather than later because this has happened to numerous other people., in the same way.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful

    HubSpot Response

    Chief People Officer

    Sorry to hear that you've had such a horrible experience--I would love it if you were open to chatting with someone from my team more about this so we can help, but if you aren't comfortable doing that, I totally understand. This isn't the culture we built or stand for and I would love to help us learn from it and improve it working with eng leadership, so I'm working with our HRBP team to flag this to eng leadership and hear more on this one. -Katie

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    High room for growth - Ample internal opportunities

    Jan 18, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Incredibly supportive and motivating teams - Engaging work with options to move around internally when you want to experience new challenges, or work on new products - High level of ownership for products due to small teams and high level of trust

    Cons

    - Some growth pains due to increased hiring within engineering. Title structure feels somewhat confusing, but are actively being updated to make them more clear and concise.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    HubSpot Response

    Chief People Officer

    Thanks for being a senior software engineer at HubSpot, and for your callout on supportive and motivating teams. I really like your note on ownership, I'm so glad it feels that way to you because it's paramount as we scale. Totally fair to callout that hiring plans and rapid growth don't always make things easy, and your fair push on career leveling-thanks for the notes and for helping our engineering team scale and grow! -Katie

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Company

    Jan 15, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Autonomy, Growth, People, Mission, Product

    Cons

    Things change fast! This isn't really bad, but be prepared to pivot.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    HubSpot Response

    Chief People Officer

    Thanks for being a Senior SWE at HubSpot! Also the fact that you've been here 3-4 years isn't lost on me-I hope you're getting excited for your sabbatical at five years! Thanks for writing this review and for helping our team grow and scale, I appreciate you! -Katie

Viewing 1 - 10 of 65 Reviews

Popular Careers with HubSpot Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at HubSpot? Share Your Experiences

or