Find jobs for Tech Lead

KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos
Best Places to Work 2021

HubSpot

HubSpot

Add a Review

HubSpot Tech Lead Reviews

Updated Jun 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 of over 1,698 reviews

4.8
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of HubSpot and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Fantastic.

    Jun 7, 2021 - Tech Lead 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Keep investing in your employees.

    Cons

    Scaling is hard, HubSpot is not immune.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Mostly Great Company to work for

    Feb 20, 2020 - Tech Lead in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Smart, helpful and friendly co-workers. Small teams grant tons of autonomy with very low process/meeting burden. Great technology platform and platform teams provide massive leverage, so you can concentrate on solving just your business problem rather than figure out many technical problems. Leadership is good- to-great across the board. Senior leadership especially continue to impress with their level of engagement and transparency. Has retained much of its small company flexibility while growing steadily. Steady growth provides lots of opportunities to grow a career. Great health plan Solid compensation

    Cons

    401(k) match is small and hasn't been adjusted in years. New dental plan has poor network, particularly for remote employees. Currently seems to be disappointing many. While increase in health insurance deductible responsibility this year from nothing to $500 was small, it makes it much more time consuming to figure out which bills need paying vs having the HRA pay. Can feel very big some times.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    HubSpot Response

    Chief People Officer

    Thanks for the feedback and for spending so many years growing with us. Appreciate the push on benefits, we will certainly do our best on this one, and hear your push on remote-first benefits, thanks for your candor here. Sincerely, Katie

  3. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good

    Jul 8, 2020 - Tech Lead in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good company culture. Enjoy working there.

    Cons

    Not many cons right now.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    HubSpot Response

    Chief People Officer

    Thanks for being a Tech Lead at HubSpot and glad you like working here, we appreciate you! Sincerely, Katie

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    As awesome as advertised

    Dec 20, 2015 - Tech Lead in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Engineering teams are fully autonomous and operate in many ways like individual startups. The teams are only given a high-level mission and not individual features or dates to achieve. The incredibly talented PAAS and FAAS teams allow product teams to narrow their focus and rely on systems just working. The pace of the product teams is unbelievable. The company puts a large focus on personal growth. There are weekly tech talks for the product team, an occasional HubTalk/Failure Forum, classes for management training, and even classes on non-work related topics. Management reads all feedback and reacts accordingly. The product blog is great and another way for employees to share knowledge. The Culture Code is real. Every employee has the HEART referenced by that code.

    Cons

    The company puts a big focus on "Use Good Judgement" and being hands off. That is a great way to operate, but it may not be for everyone. HubSpot wouldn't be a good fit for engineers who need heavy processes or need to wait for someone to tell them what to do.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    HubSpot Response

    VP, Culture and Experience

    Thanks for the feedback--I agree with you that HubSpot is not a fit for everyone and that autonomy requires a comfort level with ambiguity that isn't a great fit for some engineers. I hope long-term we continue to find ways to balance autonomy with guidance and learning in a way that attracts folks who think like founders but doesn't isolate folks who have more experience in larger or more structured settings--if you have ideas on how we can improve, let me know. And the Failure Forum came from engineering feedback, so it's your team I have to thank for coming up with the idea and providing feedback on how we can improve on humility, so thank you! -Katie

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great coworkers, big potential for impact & ownership

    Oct 16, 2018 - Tech Lead in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Sharp coworkers, healthy and supportive environment, many opportunities for growth & learning, good compensation, very low politics, comfortable office. Engineering group has a great set of tools to be productive. Product organization means each person can really have significant impact on a part of the products.

    Cons

    Small teams means real responsibility on everyone's shoulders. There has been a lot of focus and investment in D&I over last 2 years but it still a work-in-progress to be where everyone wants it to be.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    HubSpot Response

    Chief People Officer

    Thanks for spending 5+ years with our team, I'm grateful for both your time and energy and for your feedback here. I love how you articulated potential impact, and agree with your callout that with great autonomy comes great responsibility for impact. And you're spot on we still have more work to do on D&I--I think and hope people will really feel the difference in the coming year, and I know our leadership team is personally committed to moving the needle here. Thanks for the feedback and for all you do at HubSpot. Sincerely, Katie

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great vision, tons of opportunity to grow

    Apr 11, 2015 - Tech Lead in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As an engineer, you get a ton of say in the direction of the product. Your opinions are heard and not discouraged. HubSpot has a culture where "that's not my job" doesn't exist. It's refreshing.

    Cons

    Through rapid growth, cross-team communication can be difficult at times. It also takes ambitious people do truly excel at HubSpot. Non-go-getters will have a hard time standing out in a sea of talented peers.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    HubSpot Response

    Founder and CTO

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Thrilled that you're happy at HubSpot. Promise to do our best to continue to provide engineers (and everyone else) autonomy and listen intently when concerns creep up. As an engineer and introvert myself, I know we're not the most vocal bunch. If you happen to be shy, remember that my inbox is always open. My door would be open too, if I had one. :) Cheers.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Fantastic place to learn and grow - amazing coworkers and ability to make an impact

    Mar 27, 2015 - Tech Lead in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I work on the product team so my experience is definitely shaped by that part of the company. - The people here are really fantastic. Super smart and very friendly. Having been at early stage startups previously it is wonderful to have a deep bench of people to learn from -- whether about engineering, product design, growing a product, etc. If you want to start your own startup someday, this is a fantastic launching pad. - While marketing/sales software doesn't immediately sound thrilling to some, HubSpot is way more customer focused than most software companies and really engages with them. Even as an engineer you can have a lot of interactions with customers in direct feedback, user testing, Inbound, etc. They are truly appreciative of the work that goes into building the product. - The company doesn't rest on its laurels, and that is true about launching new products, settling for outdated technology or anything else. It is fast-paced and always look to improve. - The culture is very oriented about learning and growth. The product team structure gives employees meaningful responsibility early and coaching along the way. It is well-suited to people who really want to grow/learn (which can sometimes mean operating outside of your comfort zone). - The management team is smart and overall the company is really good at course-correcting when something doesn't work out. It has a very experiment-driven culture and will double-down when it works, and try again when it doesn't. - It is far from perfect but it is an organization that comes closer to truly living its values than most. And strives to do better over time.

    Cons

    - The environment puts a lot of responsibility on people's shoulders. People get to choose their own level of engagement. It is definitely not required to work heavy hours, but some do. Similar some people opt-out of most cultural/fun outing (and that is fine) but others have a lot of friends at work. There isn't a single answer to how much people work. - A lot of focus is put on the small teams which can mean things feel a little chaotic. There isn't always an obvious central plan and so requires talking across teams and engaging with communities to make sure teams stay appropriately in sync.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A strong engineering culture

    Oct 2, 2017 - Tech Lead in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    HubSpot has a great engineering culture. There is a strong platform for engineers to focus on building great software instead of infrastructure. The heavy investment in the platform team makes HubSpot a joy to work for. HubSpot also has talented engineers who are patient and willing to mentor. I've been impressed with the breadth and depth of work HubSpot engineers have mastered.

    Cons

    It doesn't always feel like there's strong buy-in on getting a project across the finish line, which leads to some project churn.

    1 person found this review helpful

    HubSpot Response

    Chief People Officer

    HubSpot does indeed have a great engineering culture, thanks for calling that out. As you noted, our platform team is pretty incredible, both in terms of their technical expertise but also the business acumen they are using to help drive our corporate strategy forward. I really love that you call out that so many folks have been willing to mentor and support you, so glad to hear that. I agree with you on project churn--I think that's a bit of an issue company-wide. Ultimately, it's a good thing we try a lot of new things but seeing more things to completion (or at least explaining why we switched gears) would likely be more productive long-term. Thanks for taking the time to write a review, and for building a product our customers love-really appreciate it! -Katie

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great place for both new and seasoned engineers.

    Oct 20, 2017 - Tech Lead in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - IMPACT!!! - You will be pushed hard on interesting projects. - Smart, hardworking people to work with and learn from. - Immense amount of trust put in you on Day 1. - Tons of investment in platform and tooling, allowing developers to move fast. - Plush office & fun events

    Cons

    No job is perfect, but I can't think of anything unique to HubSpot.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    HubSpot Response

    Chief People Officer

    Thanks so much for spending five years with HubSpot and for the thoughtful review--I love that you call out the trust and impact people get as part of working here, it's one of my favorite things about working here too. Regarding management training, we are working really hard to make folks proud there--keep the feedback coming, and thanks again for the review and all you do to make HubSpot great. -Katie

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A great place to learn and grow as an engineer

    Aug 24, 2017 - Tech Lead in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great co-op / intern program Small teams with complete ownership over your team's part of the product Amazing co-workers to learn from and have as mentors Great culture of learning from mistakes Can work from home multiple times a week

    Cons

    Work life balance can be a little rough at times depending on your role but being able to work from home and unlimited vacation definitely help.

    1 person found this review helpful

    HubSpot Response

    Chief People Officer

    Thanks for the review, and for building a product our customers love. I agree that the life-work fit side of things is a juggle here, but to your point my hope is that the flexibility helps balance that out--with that said, there's always room to improve there. Either way, thanks for the feedback and for all you do for HubSpot. Cheers, Katie

Viewing 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews

Popular Careers with HubSpot Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at HubSpot? Share Your Experiences

or