KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos
Best Places to Work 2021

HubSpot

HubSpot

Add a Review

HubSpot Employee Reviews about "growing pains"

Updated Sep 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.7
94%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Unlimited vacation also help de-stress concerns about work life balance(in 87 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance (you're encouraged to take days off)(in 83 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work/life balance, especially in the WFH era(in 60 reviews)

  • "Small growing pains due to recent growth to bigger market(in 49 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of HubSpot and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "growing pains"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Strong Community

      Sep 25, 2020 - Product Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture is front and center in everything at HubSpot. People consistently pause to recognize each other's contributions and are always eager to answer a question.

      Cons

      As HubSpot expands, there are natural growing pains in ensuring consistency across the org but the organization does a great job of being nimble and correcting.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thanks for being a product manager with us and for your lovely callout of our culture and recognizing other people's contributions-that default to compassion and gratitude is so meaningful, so thanks for noting how important it is to our culture as we scale and grow. Sincerely, Katie

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Won't be leaving anytime soon

      Jul 21, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's rare to find a company that actually walks the walk when it comes to culture. HubSpot isn't perfect, but it tries really hard to be a great place to work. Especially during a time of anxiety and confusion I've been so impressed with leadership's transparency, empathy, and communication. It's a place where everyone can have an impact, where leadership actually reads feedback, and where customers do come first.

      Cons

      Any company that is rapidly scaling faces growing pains. The company still hasn't figured out processes for everything which can lead to confusion and cause friction, especially when it relates to the operating system or yearly planning. I do think that the recent leadership hires that have been made are really making a difference and I would encourage the company to keep learning from others.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      I love that you said customers come first here and that we aren't perfect at scale, because both are so true--we have a lot of processes to improve and iterate on, but goodness it's fun to figure it all out with a team like the one we have. Thanks for the review and for your feedback, I'm extremely grateful for your candor and feedback here. Sincerely, Katie

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company. Great culture. Great mission.

      Sep 24, 2019 - Operations Specialist in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culture is absolutely amazing. Although we have the opportunity to work from home as much as we want, I find that coming to work reenergizes me because we are all focused on a central vision, to make the customer happy. Shoutout to our leaders for maintaining the culture even as we continue to grow at a fast pace. The company is at a stage where it is really able to invest in systems to help alleviate pain points that could be solved with automation. It helps make the work we do more impactful instead of making us feel like we're toiling away on administrative tasks. Management practices what it preaches in terms of unlimited vacation and work/life balance. It really makes a difference when your director tells you that unless you have extremely critical work (which my team rarely does) you should be taking at least 2 weeks off at the end of the year in addition to time off during the rest of the year. They are also very flexible and understanding that there is a life outside of work. I appreciate the encouragement to make work fit around your life instead of the other way around.

      Cons

      There are some growing pains since the company is growing so quickly. Management is used to moving very quickly, but it might be time to slow down and invest in systems and processes instead of barreling forward and troubleshooting later.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Love that you're feeling the impact of having a boss who really cares about you taking down time to rest and recharge, and that it's explicit on your team. I think on the IC front, we have some teams doing great work here and some areas where we have newer teams and thus less structure here (to be fair to you, including ops) so it's something we have to continue to keep an eye on. Thanks for calling it out and for your hard work to help us scale our operating system as a company! -Katie

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Grow Better @ HubSpot

      Sep 21, 2020 - People Operations 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Takes Black Lives Matter and social justice issues VERY SERIOUSLY - Practices what they preach - They truly take feedback seriously - Openly admits mistakes - Very transparent on the "why" behind decisions - Most thoughtful & intentional company I've worked for - I feel seen and heard in this company

      Cons

      - Transitioning from start-up to scale-up (comes with growing pains) - HubSpot is still very white male (that is slowly changing) - Need more minorities in leadership positions

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thoughtful and intentional is one of the highest compliments we could possibly get, and your callout that we need to continue to improve minority representation in leadership positions is 100% true and fair. We still have work to do to walk the walk on where we want to be, but I promise I and the rest of the leadership team are taking it incredibly seriously. Thanks for all you do and for making the time to share this thoughtful and thorough write-up. Sincerely, Katie

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Culture is the secret ingredient!

      Sep 19, 2020 - Senior Data Engineer II in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company is incredibly transparent and everyone working has a ton of autonomy to do their best work and still solve for the business. So many opportunities to grow within the company.

      Cons

      We have some growing pains and there can be a lot of changes till we figure out the org and team structure that works the best.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thanks for being a data engineer at HubSpot, and for your correct note that we are living through growing pains but making progress as we do. We are so grateful for all of your hard work and for making the time to write this up! Sincerely, Katie

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Real Change starts from the bottom up

      Feb 11, 2020 - Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As an individual contributor, you really have a lot of autonomy in the work you do and can make big plays with your team. Orders don't come down from executives -- the teams decide what they want to do and how to do it, start to finish, on their own terms. You of course get direction and insight from people higher up, but engineers, product managers, designers, and business stakeholders all work together in autonomous teams to make things happen. As a software engineer, your work is always high impact, and you get to shape how your team operates.

      Cons

      Especially now, certain parts of the org are feeling some growing pains that come from scaling up. In the long term that's a good thing, but sometimes it can cause some logistical issues in the short term.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Love this review and love that you used a nautical analogy (did JD put you up to that part of this!?). I would agree with you on a few scale up growing pains (we feel them on our end too from time to time)-thanks for the thoughtful review and for building software that our customers love, it means the world to me! -Katie

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Doesn't get better: high impact work, amazing co-workers and work-life flexibility

      Oct 12, 2019 - Manager in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      At any stage of your career, this is a place where you can learn, grow, and have high impact within the company, with our customers, and through the values we live and share, beyond to our communities and across the tech industry. The people here are CARING and SMART- it's a pleasure to come to work each day and know that you will be pushed, and also that you will help push people around you. The work-life flexibility is second to none. There is an expectation you will produce great work, but you have the support and resources to do so, and very high autonomy to do so.

      Cons

      Constant change inevitably causes growing pains, and there is a lot of building the tracks while the train is already moving. You will not sit still and you can expect plenty of trial and error and lots of ambiguity, but this is ultimately not necessarily a bad thing, just not for everyone.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thanks so much for calling out the upsides and downsides of life at HubSpot--I think your points about not sitting still and building the tracks while we are already moving are really well said, and good for people to know moving forward. I also think your push on allowing folks to innovate and hiring and empowering folks ready to do so is an important one. Thanks again for writing the review and for helping HubSpot grow better! -Katie

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Work Where You Work Best

      Jul 31, 2019 - People Operations in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      HubSpot's flexible work policy and unlimited vacation are unrivaled. I feel lucky to work at a company with such a strong testament to allowing employees to work in the way they work best. It's also allowed me to follow my passions in life, like travel, and fit my work around my life instead of the other way around. That's not to say there aren't days where I work a little longer or projects that take up more time, but it all balances out and I'm thankful for

      Cons

      As HubSpot grows, naturally there are some growing pains that are going to happen. I think that leaders are really going to have to dig in to our culture and make sure we're continuing to scale that as HubSpot grows, both within the larger company, but even on smaller departments and teams. We work with amazing people, and we can't fall away from celebrating people or building relationships as HubSpot continues to grow.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thanks so much for the feedback and of course for helping our People Operations team grow and scale--it means a lot to me personally that you're part of our team, and that you took the time to write a review. I think you're spot on that as we grow there are some growing pains, and I absolutely think the management team should ensure we value POPS in both recruiting and growing great talent. Thank you for the feedback and your hard work on our team! Sincerely, Katie

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      Sep 26, 2019 - Marketing Manager in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - The people. I love my coworkers, they are the best part about working at HubSpot. I learn from my teammates every day and I truly enjoy working with them. The people at HubSpot are incredibly smart, driven and innovative and I feel lucky to work alongside them. - The flexibility. I have the freedom to work from home or take days off whenever needed. The unlimited vacation policy isn't unique to HubSpot, but it is a differentiator in the way it is truly embraced. - The autonomy. Even as an individual contributor, I own my projects and am involved in all aspects of their strategy and execution. Even though we're a growing company, there is still the startup culture where we all do what we can to improve the parts of the business we control.

      Cons

      - The systems and processes. These are typical growing pains in a scaleup. Maintaining autonomy in a growing business is tricky, especially when several departments rely on the same internal systems.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      I love that you love your teammates, nothing makes me happier, and I love that as an IC you have true autonomy. On systems and processes, I agree we have work to do, and it came out in this round of the ENPS as well, so it's doubly important we get it right. Thanks for the callout and all of your hard work to help us scale the best marketing team around! -Katie

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company with awesome people and growth!

      Sep 18, 2019 - Customer Success Manager in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      HubSpot is a fantastic place to work! It is a fast-paced environment with driven people working on solving a lot of different problems for our customers. One of the best things is seeing the growth of HubSpot. The company is remarkably transparent from the top down about how things are going for the business. There are so many reasons why HubSpot is a great place to be. The flexibility is awesome as well as many of the fun perks (unlimited vacation, free coffee, a gym, cool free events to attend, etc). Having worked at a few companies beforehand, I know that it is remarkable to be somewhere that cares about its employees as much as HubSpot does. Finally, HubSpot is a great place to be because you can really grow your career here. There are some many opportunities to grow and gain new skills. If you are interested in trying a totally different job (say you are in sales but then want to become a product manager) you can do it! It requires extra work but the fact that the opportunity exists and that people are willing to just meet with you and let you take on special projects is awesome.

      Cons

      HubSpot is still a young company with some growing pains. There is a lack of diversity (which is a priority for the company but still an issue) as well as some pain around scaling as we grow. There are times that your team will be working on an issue for a few months only to discover that another team is ALSO working on the same problem but the teams didn't speak to each other so no one knew. There is a feeling that HubSpot's salaries are on the lower end of the spectrum compared to our peers. Some of this is true, but I would also point out that HubSpot employees have stock options which is very valuable. That being said, it would be great if HubSpot made public salaries for every role.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thanks for your callout on flexibility and on internal mobility, and of course, for all that you do to help our customers grow better. I appreciate your noting that our employees have stock options as part of their overall compensation packages, alongside really great benefits, so thanks for calling that out. Great push on both our continued need to improve diversity, our need for more cross-team communication and collaboration, and clarity around overall compensation-I appreciate the feedback and all that you do for HubSpot! Sincerely, Katie

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 49 Reviews

    Popular Careers with HubSpot Job Seekers

    Customer Success Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Business Development Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Leadership Rotational Program
    Learn About the Job

    Work at HubSpot? Share Your Experiences

    or