HubSpot Employee Reviews about "unlimited vacation"

Updated Jan 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.7
94%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Unlimited vacation also help de-stress concerns about work life balance(in 87 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance (you're encouraged to take days off)(in 83 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work/life balance, especially in the WFH era(in 60 reviews)

  • "Small growing pains due to recent growth to bigger market(in 49 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of HubSpot and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "unlimited vacation"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Amazing place to grow your career

      Jan 22, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      amazing culture, flexible work options, commitment to diversity inclusion and belonging initiatives, unlimited vacation and parental leave, awesome benefits and stock options, loads of options and coaching around your career and continuing education (you can expense classes), wonderful teams and managers

      Cons

      A recent trend in hiring external candidates versus internal candidates.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thanks for the thoughtful review and callout on internal mobility--we are doing a bunch more hiring both internally and externally coming up so I think/hope folks will continue to see progress here, but totally fair on making sure we don't lose track of this to retain key folks. Thanks for the feedback and the callout on our lovely managers! Sincerely, Katie

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Fast-paced workplace with high expectations

      Nov 3, 2020 - Senior Software Engineer II in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Fantastic place to grow as an engineer with opportunities to move around teams, working on various technologies. - Well-developed platform stack that enables engineers to deliver value quickly. - Surrounded by lots of very driven people who want/like to work which fosters a strong sense of camaraderie - Dedicated weekly one-on-one meetings with manager to seek feedback/ask questions/raise concerns - Unlimited vacation

      Cons

      This may be seen as a pro depending on the type of person you are and what you're looking for in a job: - HubSpot is a place that values ownership and autonomy - thus, very high expectations on its engineers. The people that find success at HubSpot are those run towards the fire, go out of their way to help others, take ownership over their mistakes, identifying and working on problems without having to be asked. This theme of autonomy and ownership is baked into just about everything including who gets promoted and how salary adjustments are determined (e.g. there is no across-the-board yearly raise/bonus for every engineer like at some companies; the engineers who receive the raises are the ones that deliver the most value and act as team players). I think this culture can provide an amazing opportunity for learning and growth for those who are looking for it - but its not a place where you can easily skate by. I think to be successful at HubSpot you have to want to be there and enjoy going above and beyond.

      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Six years in, still love it and still growing

      Sep 23, 2020 - Associate User Experience Designer in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I'm writing this six months into a pandemic, and I feel so lucky to be a HubSpot employee right now. This has always been an org committed to HEART (humble, empathetic, adaptable, remarkable, transparent) but leadership has tripled down on HEART during these stressful, totally upside-down times. From the beginning, we have been kept in the loop about how our business was being impacted by COVID, whether or not our roles were in danger (they weren't), how to get our home offices set up, encouraged to take care of ourselves and our families, etc. You can read all about the nice perks that HubSpot has online (free books, tuition reimbursement, unlimited vacation, flexible work options, employee resource groups, etc) but it's really our mission and people that make showing up every day worth it. You can't manufacture this kind of genuine care for customers, candidates, and employees.

      Cons

      Every time I think of a "con" to type here it's so trivial it's not worth mentioning. Nobody's perfect (and no company is either) but everyone's trying to be better and are open to feedback. A great example of this is our stance on diversity and inclusion. While this isn't going to be "solved" any time soon, our leaders talk about it often and genuinely. While our company isn't as diverse as we want it to be, we're getting there.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      This review really boosted my mood this evening, thank you for sharing it-what I love is that you called out that our perks are great, but that ultimately empathy and care are the foundation of what makes us special--you're a big part of that too, so thanks for this thoughtful review and for all you do. Sincerely, Katie

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      The Reviews Are True!

      Jun 16, 2020 - Customer Support Specialist in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - I've only been here for 6 months, and I'm already incredibly impressed with the company all-around, I'm so glad I accepted this role! - Timely compensation reviews (they increase your compensation per market basis, in addition to per performance basis) - No doors policy - You'll feel like a person, not a number - You're valued as you are, and feel like you belong - Incredible co-workers (by far the best part except perhaps the company itself) - The best company culture you could ask for (yes, it's real) - Remote-friendly (amazing remote team too!) - Long-term positive company outlook - Work/life balance (you're encouraged to take days off) - All upper management actually cares - Growth-mindset/mentality - Awesome on-boarding team - Personal and professional growth opportunities - Free books program - Tuition reimbursement - Unlimited vacation days (that you can actually use) - A bunch of other perks

      Cons

      - You have to be in the role for 12 months (1 year) before you can be promoted or apply for a role outside of the support rep area. - This role is hard, so it's not for everyone. Don't expect to slide by doing the minimum. If you take pride in your work, you'll succeed here. - As of spring 2020, starting salary is 40k a year, which some people don't like. - The product knowledge can be exhausting. You're not expected to know everything, but it's still a challenge. Just remember to relax, breathe, and do your best. Management understands and sees you as a human.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thanks for being such an incredible part of our team and organization-today we had a customer panel where the customers simply raved about Support, and you deserve it! I appreciate all that you do for our customers globally--you are all incredible. Totally hear you on compensation, we definitely hire folks for growth and invest a ton in training and opportunity, but more than fair push-thanks for all you do and for making the time to write a review, I appreciate it so much! Sincerely, Katie

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Lives Up To The Hype

      Sep 8, 2020 - Customer Success Manager in Bangalore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      HubSpot has a fantastic reputation that is well-deserved. Having worked at a few companies (both in and out of the tech space) prior to coming to HubSpot, I can truly say I hope to never leave. A few standouts for me: - Transparency. From the C-Suite down, everyone at HubSpot is open to sharing information, collecting and actioning feedback, and owning up to growth opportunities. - Customers. As a CSM, much of my time is spent working directly with HubSpot. My customers are fun and challenging to work with, and I've grown as a consultant in my time here. - Work-Life Balance. I'm encouraged to take time when I need to, and leadership practices what they preach here. It's helpful to see everyone take time when they need it, as that reinforces the intention behind benefits like unlimited vacation. - COVID-19 Response. You can't leave a review in 2020 without mentioning COVID, right? The support leadership has shown through thoughtful programs, WFH reimbursement, and flexibility has been next level.

      Cons

      Internal mobility within the CSM org can feel rigid at times.

      2 people found this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thanks for being a CSM and love that you feel our support in COVID 19 and in our customer and life work integration support, that makes me so happy. Fair callout on CSM internal mobility, thanks for the push and for helping our customers grow better globally, we appreciate you! -Katie

    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      The hype is real

      Jan 19, 2021 - Director in Pune
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Customer focused company - Remarkable exec team who is smart, grounded, and accessible - Unlimited vacation

      Cons

      Lots of communication which can lead to information overload

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for being a director at HubSpot, and for being a valued HubSpot alum! We will definitely keep leading with empathy and trust, thanks for the callout and the thoughtful note even after you've left! -Katie

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Really cares about its employees

      Oct 26, 2020 - Product Analyst in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fantastic work/life balance - unlimited vacation policy is actually enforced and encouraged. Overall very flexible about when you work & where you work. The company really cares about being on the right side of history - taking diversity & inclusion seriously, building a product that's a joy to use, not ripping people off.

      Cons

      A big company where you can sometimes feel like you don't have much of an impact. Definitely some politics on the Product side of the company.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thanks so much for calling out how much we care about being on the right side of history (very true and well said) and for noting that flexibility we offer and life work integration we support, that means a ton to me. I hear you on scale and politics-I think it's hard to keep all of that feeling out as we grow, but it's imperative to me that we keep an eye on it and really work hard to call it out, so if there are specific things you think we can or should do better, please absolutely send me a note so I can help. In the meantime, thanks for helping us grow our product team with your incredible insights--our Product QBRs are so much better thanks to your great work and collaboration with the rest of the product org. Sincerely, Katie

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company. Great culture. Great mission.

      Sep 24, 2019 - Operations Specialist in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culture is absolutely amazing. Although we have the opportunity to work from home as much as we want, I find that coming to work reenergizes me because we are all focused on a central vision, to make the customer happy. Shoutout to our leaders for maintaining the culture even as we continue to grow at a fast pace. The company is at a stage where it is really able to invest in systems to help alleviate pain points that could be solved with automation. It helps make the work we do more impactful instead of making us feel like we're toiling away on administrative tasks. Management practices what it preaches in terms of unlimited vacation and work/life balance. It really makes a difference when your director tells you that unless you have extremely critical work (which my team rarely does) you should be taking at least 2 weeks off at the end of the year in addition to time off during the rest of the year. They are also very flexible and understanding that there is a life outside of work. I appreciate the encouragement to make work fit around your life instead of the other way around.

      Cons

      There are some growing pains since the company is growing so quickly. Management is used to moving very quickly, but it might be time to slow down and invest in systems and processes instead of barreling forward and troubleshooting later.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Love that you're feeling the impact of having a boss who really cares about you taking down time to rest and recharge, and that it's explicit on your team. I think on the IC front, we have some teams doing great work here and some areas where we have newer teams and thus less structure here (to be fair to you, including ops) so it's something we have to continue to keep an eye on. Thanks for calling it out and for your hard work to help us scale our operating system as a company! -Katie

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Grow with HubSpot

      Aug 22, 2020 - Senior Engineering Manager in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is an incredible feeling to work for a company with a true growth mindset. There will always be growth opportunities for the company and its engineering organization, but the company has great leadership, especially in people ops, to ensure we smartly grow from those opportunities. Even the company culture code has changed in my time at HubSpot to put greater weight on empathy. The product/engineering values, like the culture code, are powerful and accurately reflect the technical culture and how to be successful within it. There are high expectations for the performance and growth of engineers. The result of those high expectations is a group of very smart people working together to solve hard customer problems with a large amount of autonomy. There is autonomy at the team level to decide what customer problems to solve and at the individual level for how to best solve for the problems. Everyone has a lot of flexibility over when and where they do their best work or to take a break using the unlimited vacation. The company seamlessly made the transition to full-time remote during the quarantine. They provide resources and requested lots of feedback to ensure that management and onboarding can be as successful in this new environment. Once the pandemic ends, I am thankful for the ability to choose to work full-time remote or be "flexible" and only go in a few times a week without any pressure on which option to choose, and instead be able to make the decision that works best for myself and my family.

      Cons

      The technical culture will not be a great fit for everyone. There is intentionally no dedicated QA or ops teams. That requires engineers to take full ownership of their code and have a solid understanding of our customers. Writing code can be the easiest part of the development lifecycle for customer-focused engineering teams. Because of the company's size, fewer problems can be solved by engineers in isolation. It is hard to be successful with poor communication skills. The small, autonomous team model can hit friction when coordinating across teams or groups.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thanks for the feedback, for your callout of the product and engineering team's values and how you all live them, and for your candid push on parental leave. Really appreciate you making the time to share this with us, and the appropriate callout that not having a dedicated QA team isn't for everyone. I appreciate all you do-our engineering culture is remarkable thanks to folks like you, much appreciated! -Katie

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      The only job I've ever had where a couple of years in I still like to get up and go to work--every day.

      Oct 11, 2019 - Marketing Professional in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Smart people with great ideas. It's the only company I've worked for that has a surprising lack of jerks--that has to do with a carefully cultivated culture and the way that the founders/executive team think and the company is structured. The benefits are significant, but the most important, in my mind, is the unlimited vacation, flexible work possibilities, free books, great medical, and the perk of being able to use the software for personal use--which is super powerful if you have a side hustle. And that side hustle? It's supported and encouraged. Having happy, fulfilled employees make for better employees, and they get that. Oh, and it's a phenomenal tech company for women with over 50% of their workforce identifies as female.

      Cons

      Salaries trend lower than at other tech companies. This has happened because most employees are hired at a young age and work their way up through the company so they don't need to be as competitive. In particular, salaries may be difficult to swallow for older Boston high tech workers (and it may be harder to compete with younger candidates for jobs for that reason--most of the managers are not that long in their careers), but it's worth a shot, because the cool work, great managers/colleagues and the benefits DEFINITELY may offset that con for you.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      I loved this title, thank you so much for sharing your review, and for calling out that we've made progress on gender and racial diversity in the last few years--we still have a lot more work to do, but I'm delighted to hear you see and feel the progress so far. Thanks for the feedback on compensation and for coming into work every day with such joy, it's infectious! -Katie

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 104 Reviews

    Popular Careers with HubSpot Job Seekers

    Customer Success Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Business Development Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Leadership Rotational Program
    Learn About the Job

    Work at HubSpot? Share Your Experiences

    or