HubSpot "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

HubSpot Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
95%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "Tough to strike a work life balance sometimes(in 56 reviews)

  • "Fast growth creates some growing pains -- like needing to develop new managers/leaders(in 43 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Onboarding Specialist in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I can confidently say that all the great things that you read about HubSpot are indeed true. I've been at HubSpot less than a year, but long enough to be able to get the entire experience (post new-hire honeymoon phase). 1. The best part about HubSpot are the people. HubSpot puts immense weight during the interview process to hire people that are smart, driven, and most importantly kind. I've made some great... relationships during the time I've been here, and it makes work that much more enjoyable. Everyone here is motivated to succeed and advance their careers, and it fosters an exciting environment. 2. Company values. HubSpot is a company looking to be profitable like all others, but it strives to do so in partnership with its customers. You've most likely heard all about the inbound methodology, but HubSpot truly does strive to do business holistically and in a way that makes the world a better place. This not only applies to the way HubSpot goes about business, but also the way it treats its employees. You work hard, but I've never worked somewhere that invests so much in individual growth as well as transparency. 3. Benefits and perks. Benefits are great compared to where I've worked in the past. The coffee is fantastic, snacks are good, and beer on tap is great. 4. Diversity, Inclusion, and Belonging. HubSpot puts soooo much into becoming a diverse and inclusive company, and strives to foster an environment of belonging. It admits that it's got some more work to do in this department, but it's truly steadfast in eventually becoming a leader in this category. I can go on and on about my experience at HubSpot. I can't genuinely say how grateful I am for the opportunity to work here.

    Show More

    Cons

    I don't really consider this a con, but more of a disclaimer to potential applicants: Prepare to work hard. If you want to coast in an easy 9-5 then HubSpot is not for you. If you are coming from another industry, then prepare to put in even more hours learning the ropes and becoming familiar with tech, marketing, sales, and general business acumen. You can quickly become overwhelmed (especially in the beginning).... Every employee is here to grow and make a name for themselves, so if you don't give it 100%, you will be left in the dust. This isn't to say that the work-life balance is bad (it isn't). You just need to work hard and hit your metrics in order to succeed.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in the pros I mentioned above. (I think you were planning on doing that anyway so don't stop!). Also, although the company is growing at a crazy pace, don't trade the startup feel and customer/employee centric values that you have in place of traditional corporate ones.

    HubSpot2019-11-29
  2. "Never a dull moment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Operations 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -perks & benefits: HubSpot does a great job in absorbing as much cost as a company w/o having to pass it to the employee and offers a variety of options for employees of all ages -flexibility: having the flexibility to work remotely or go to difficult to schedule doc appointment or take time off when needed is a breath of fresh air -people: you meet a lot of wonderful people who aren't afraid to be vulnerable,... empathetic but that are also incredibly intelligent, driven & dedicated

    Show More

    Cons

    -work/life balance can be difficult when trying to progress your career

    HubSpot2019-10-14
  3. "I love everything about working at HubSpot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *inclusive culture *transparency across the board *work/life balance *ability to always be learning *management is very supportive and understanding

    Cons

    *internal processes in an ever-evolving business

    HubSpot2019-10-11
  4. "Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I really like the emphasis HubSpot has made on making an inclusive and belonging environment. Compared to everywhere else I've worked, the company seems so much more accepting of people with a variety of expressions, backgrounds, and experiences. Management also acknowledges that there is always room for improvement (and continues to take action to improve). There are many opportunities to get involved in DI&B... initiatives. There are a lot of perks like free food, dogs in the office, an onsite gym, working from home, and expensed team outings. I also view my coworkers as friends. My manager keeps my career growth in mind, and I receive clear and actionable feedback to work towards an eventual promotion. I also have a lot of independence to determine my own schedule/hours and the projects I would like to work on. Initially, I was skeptical of the Unlimited Vacation policy, but I have had no difficulty taking time off. My manager suggested taking off about 4 weeks per year + holidays which is more than what other companies I looked at offer for my role. I can also extend holidays by working remotely.

    Show More

    Cons

    As HubSpot has grown, the culture and hubspotlife has not fully scaled. For example, the new office expansions (1C and 10C) have substantially fewer amenities and a much less social atmosphere than the main buildings. It's also been harder to sign up for traditions like Mystery Dinner and company outings. For software engineers, the work-life balance and burden of being on call can very greatly depending on the... team. For example, some teams are almost never paged, while others are paged multiple times a day.

    Show More
    HubSpot2019-10-11
  5. "The most Caring, Flexible and Supportive Company I Have Ever Worked For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior HelpDesk Technician in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    HubSpot is hands down the best company I have ever worked for. Walking in the door in 2016, I immediately felt comfortable and at home with my team. I was able to ask questions, be myself and learn everything I needed to learn how to GSD at my role. I was tossed into a fast pace environment and able to give input on how things could be better. My voice was not only heard, but valued. I was able to move up... in my role within my first year, have been given accolades for work well done. Now, almost four years later, I am still feeling fulfilled, challenged and happy to get up and work for this company everyday. I have been able to move my working site to remote in order to better address my mental health and to better figure out my life plans. And I, again, was supported in every step of that process. As a remote worker, I am given opportunities to spend time with a whole new community of people. I have the support of a remote program manager who makes sure that we are included in events and opportunities that all the other sites get. And I am able to do the things I need to do to gain a good work/ life balance. So, if you like a job that allows you to get up, live out your morning routine the way you would like, work on projects that are fast paced and exciting, and supports anytime you need... you will probably like it here. (oh, and the unlimited vacation time isn't the worst, either)

    Show More

    Cons

    The only even remotely small con I have to list would be around definition of roles. But, even then, I feel like if I want to learn something, I can just ask. If I want to try to tackle a new opportunity, I just ask. I have learned that titles do not define the human, the work and the compassion and all that other human stuff does. And I know from a clarity side, this is being worked on and will continue to... be worked on as we grow.

    Show More
    HubSpot2019-10-11
  6. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent culture, great perks, good pay for engineers, great work life balance

    Cons

    Can be a bit of an insiders club- a bit hard to break into

    HubSpot2019-09-26
  7. "Great company. Great culture. Great mission."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Specialist in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture is absolutely amazing. Although we have the opportunity to work from home as much as we want, I find that coming to work reenergizes me because we are all focused on a central vision, to make the customer happy. Shoutout to our leaders for maintaining the culture even as we continue to grow at a fast pace. The company is at a stage where it is really able to invest in systems to help alleviate pain... points that could be solved with automation. It helps make the work we do more impactful instead of making us feel like we're toiling away on administrative tasks. Management practices what it preaches in terms of unlimited vacation and work/life balance. It really makes a difference when your director tells you that unless you have extremely critical work (which my team rarely does) you should be taking at least 2 weeks off at the end of the year in addition to time off during the rest of the year. They are also very flexible and understanding that there is a life outside of work. I appreciate the encouragement to make work fit around your life instead of the other way around.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are some growing pains since the company is growing so quickly. Management is used to moving very quickly, but it might be time to slow down and invest in systems and processes instead of barreling forward and troubleshooting later.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in your individual contributors. It seems as we continue to grow the ladders used to climb through the ranks are being kicked over. I do not know how to solve this and perhaps it does not need solving, but I do wonder how the company can manage expectations moving forward.

    HubSpot2019-09-24
  8. "Best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Onboarding Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The flexibility and work life balance here is amazing. I love how challenged I am every day, nothing is ever stagnant.

    Cons

    Lots of internal changes happening all the time leads to some confusion and taking some time to figure things out.

    HubSpot2019-09-23
  9. "The engineering focused culture here is amazing. Great place to work if you want to learn from experienced engineers!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance is great. Recently HubSpot has really opened up to allowing employees to work remotely full time as well which is a really nice option.

    Cons

    Because engineering is so fast moving and there are a lot of teams it can sometimes be hard to work with other teams.

    HubSpot2019-09-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "You won't regret it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner Specialist in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Laid back environment where I'm pushed to be my best

    Cons

    Tough to strike a work life balance sometimes.. and remember that it is still actually work

    HubSpot2019-09-11
Found 120 reviews