HubSpot Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.7
94%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Unlimited vacation also help de-stress concerns about work life balance(in 87 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance (you're encouraged to take days off)(in 83 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work/life balance, especially in the WFH era(in 60 reviews)

  • "Small growing pains due to recent growth to bigger market(in 49 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of HubSpot and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      great company

      Jan 23, 2021 - Content Designer in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work-life balance, a lot of autonomy, and positive company culture

      Cons

      Very technical product, hard to comprehend

      2 people found this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thanks for being a content designer for HubSpot, and love your mention of autonomy. I think you're right that as our product gets deeper it's harder to wrap your head around and stay current on, thanks for the feedback and for helping HubSpot grow! -Katie

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      The Reviews Are True!

      Jun 16, 2020 - Customer Support Specialist in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - I've only been here for 6 months, and I'm already incredibly impressed with the company all-around, I'm so glad I accepted this role! - Timely compensation reviews (they increase your compensation per market basis, in addition to per performance basis) - No doors policy - You'll feel like a person, not a number - You're valued as you are, and feel like you belong - Incredible co-workers (by far the best part except perhaps the company itself) - The best company culture you could ask for (yes, it's real) - Remote-friendly (amazing remote team too!) - Long-term positive company outlook - Work/life balance (you're encouraged to take days off) - All upper management actually cares - Growth-mindset/mentality - Awesome on-boarding team - Personal and professional growth opportunities - Free books program - Tuition reimbursement - Unlimited vacation days (that you can actually use) - A bunch of other perks

      Cons

      - You have to be in the role for 12 months (1 year) before you can be promoted or apply for a role outside of the support rep area. - This role is hard, so it's not for everyone. Don't expect to slide by doing the minimum. If you take pride in your work, you'll succeed here. - As of spring 2020, starting salary is 40k a year, which some people don't like. - The product knowledge can be exhausting. You're not expected to know everything, but it's still a challenge. Just remember to relax, breathe, and do your best. Management understands and sees you as a human.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thanks for being such an incredible part of our team and organization-today we had a customer panel where the customers simply raved about Support, and you deserve it! I appreciate all that you do for our customers globally--you are all incredible. Totally hear you on compensation, we definitely hire folks for growth and invest a ton in training and opportunity, but more than fair push-thanks for all you do and for making the time to write a review, I appreciate it so much! Sincerely, Katie

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Lives Up To The Hype

      Sep 8, 2020 - Customer Success Manager in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      HubSpot has a fantastic reputation that is well-deserved. Having worked at a few companies (both in and out of the tech space) prior to coming to HubSpot, I can truly say I hope to never leave. A few standouts for me: - Transparency. From the C-Suite down, everyone at HubSpot is open to sharing information, collecting and actioning feedback, and owning up to growth opportunities. - Customers. As a CSM, much of my time is spent working directly with HubSpot. My customers are fun and challenging to work with, and I've grown as a consultant in my time here. - Work-Life Balance. I'm encouraged to take time when I need to, and leadership practices what they preach here. It's helpful to see everyone take time when they need it, as that reinforces the intention behind benefits like unlimited vacation. - COVID-19 Response. You can't leave a review in 2020 without mentioning COVID, right? The support leadership has shown through thoughtful programs, WFH reimbursement, and flexibility has been next level.

      Cons

      Internal mobility within the CSM org can feel rigid at times.

      2 people found this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thanks for being a CSM and love that you feel our support in COVID 19 and in our customer and life work integration support, that makes me so happy. Fair callout on CSM internal mobility, thanks for the push and for helping our customers grow better globally, we appreciate you! -Katie

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Finally found my place in this world with HubSpot

      Oct 28, 2020 - Customer Service Specialist in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility, Benefits, Organization, Resources, Career Opportunities, Transparency I’m so thrilled I got hired here, it’s finally a company that doesn’t treat you like just another number. My on boarding process was great, and I’m impressed with the organization and resources available to employees. With that being said, it’s not an easy job and you will feel overwhelmed with the product knowledge and tons of information you need to get accustomed to. Depending on your previous skills you might have an advantage if you know design and css well, SEO, worked with analytics before , have ever run a blog and know about networking (DNS, domain management, redirects etc). These are all possible cases you have to troubleshoot and prior knowledge will make life easier for you. My own portal to test features and use the product is a definite Pro - how awesome is that? Tip: Take advantage of the courses in the academy, these are free for everyone. Continue to grow your knowledge and don’t let the pressure get to you. Don’t sacrifice your work life balance, cut your lunch short etc. even if you may not reach your goal. Crush harder on another day.

      Cons

      More one on one support during ramp and for new hires, resources are great, hands on support is better

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      My heart! Thanks for such a thorough and thoughtful review, and I'm delighted to hear you found your place at HubSpot, that means so much to me personally. I agree with you we can continue to provide more resources and support during onboarding, and our team is working in partnership with Support leadership to be thoughtful about how we scale the team and frankly manager and team lead bandwith to ensure employee success but also prevent mangaer/team lead burnout in the process, so I think and hope more good things to come based on the listening tour they just completed. I want to personally thank you for making the time to write this and for being part of our remote Support team growth--I continue to be floored and impressed by your team's contributions, collaboration, and impact on the company. Hope you're voting this week with your day off for Election Day, thanks for all you do! -Katie

    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Biased culture & opportunities depending on one's situation & role

      Aug 24, 2020 - Engineer in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Unlimited PTO - Supportive of different people's work-life balance. - Frequent company and team AMAs, especially since COVID - Lots of support, merit, and acknowledgement if you're an engineer, PM, or designer within the product org. Other roles, not at all. - People do care about movements such as BLM, mental health, COVID

      Cons

      - Prides themselves on the HubSpot culture code (HEART), but HubSpot really isn't "Humble". The product team has a very marketing-esque (with cheering) monthly meeting. And there's a lot of hype to promote HubSpot. Humble? Not the slightest. - No visibility into salary bands and career growth. (Hint - not Transparent; re: T in the culture code). Other tech companies do this better. - Promotions and seniority is inconsistent throughout the organization. Product org keeps changing and they promote unqualified people to management roles, but are slow to promote others. - WAY TOO much change. - Benefits don't match up to other tech companies (pre-COVID) - Product teams often don't communicate, or do so after the fact. - Performance review cycle is inconsistent for roles. It's not "peer" feedback when that feedback is optional.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thanks for the feedback and sorry to hear we've fallen short in a few key areas--we are doing a ton on career growth transparency and clarity that I think/hope addresses some of your concerns. Right now it doesn't included standardizing peer feedback, but will flag to our team for consideration. Appreciate your honesty here and will work to address some of the concerns you outlined. -Katie

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Almost perfect

      Jan 15, 2021 - Business Development Manager in Portsmouth, NH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Company takes great care of employees -Product is great and getting better -Flexible work/life balance

      Cons

      -If you are not a staunch liberal you will be ostracized here -People's merit is based on skin color, sexual orientation, and buying in to liberal ideology -Remember what MLK said about "judge people by the content of their character, not the color of their skin"? Well...we take the opposite approach here

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Best job ever

      Jan 21, 2021 - Senior Account Executive in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay, Work Life Balance, Culture, Friends, Challenging Competitive Sales Environment

      Cons

      cant think of any real cons, i love it here.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for the great review, we love having you here and appreciate your feedback always. Appreciate you helping our prospects grow, you're amazing! -Katie

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      amazing organization

      Jan 21, 2021 - Data Analyst in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      people, benefits, work culture, work-life balance

      Cons

      needs organization - but still growing. Hubspot is getting talent from outside to grow internally

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thanks for being a data analyst with us, and totally agree--we are still growing and hiring internally and externally and the balance can create a good amount of change and thrashing. More than fair, thanks for the callout here and thanks for helping our analyst teams grow! -Katie

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Stimulating, fun work environment with great work-life balance

      Dec 11, 2019 - Senior Product Designer in Milwaukee, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working at HubSpot has been a challenging, fun, and rewarding experience. I can honestly say I've learned so much in just the 1.5 years I've been here, and I've met some great people along the way. Management really listens to you and gives you honest, constructive feedback that you can put into action to grow your career. They've put a lot of energy into building out their IC track for designers—which is much appreciated since not everyone wants to grow into a management role. They also care a lot about work-life balance and are always ready to revisit priorities when things get a little too busy. From day one, I've seen this commitment from leadership when they hired me as a remote employee after I expressed a desire to stay near family. They care about their employees and have invested in technology that makes it easy to stay connected, even when you're far away. If you want to work for a company where you can travel, meet amazing people (I'm literally wowed by how talented my coworkers are on a regular basis), have a lot of good laughs and make some really great software, this is the place for you.

      Cons

      HubSpot values and empowers individual teams to have autonomy in how they approach their work. This is awesome, but as we continue to scale, has resulted in some challenges. We need more systems in place to help teams maintain a level of autonomy, but also stay aligned with other teams.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Really cares about its employees

      Oct 26, 2020 - Product Analyst in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fantastic work/life balance - unlimited vacation policy is actually enforced and encouraged. Overall very flexible about when you work & where you work. The company really cares about being on the right side of history - taking diversity & inclusion seriously, building a product that's a joy to use, not ripping people off.

      Cons

      A big company where you can sometimes feel like you don't have much of an impact. Definitely some politics on the Product side of the company.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HubSpot Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thanks so much for calling out how much we care about being on the right side of history (very true and well said) and for noting that flexibility we offer and life work integration we support, that means a ton to me. I hear you on scale and politics-I think it's hard to keep all of that feeling out as we grow, but it's imperative to me that we keep an eye on it and really work hard to call it out, so if there are specific things you think we can or should do better, please absolutely send me a note so I can help. In the meantime, thanks for helping us grow our product team with your incredible insights--our Product QBRs are so much better thanks to your great work and collaboration with the rest of the product org. Sincerely, Katie

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 142 Reviews

    Popular Careers with HubSpot Job Seekers

    Customer Success Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Business Development Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Leadership Rotational Program
    Learn About the Job

    Work at HubSpot? Share Your Experiences

    or