Hudson's Bay Company Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
42%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Hudson's Bay Company CEO Helena Foulkes (no image)
Helena Foulkes
133 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Have to apply for credit card to use discount(in 128 reviews)

  • "Long hours standing at the store is very tiring(in 35 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Reviews"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Hudson's Bay Company full-time

    Pros

    A retail industry empowered by big data

    Cons

    so far so good! very creative

    Hudson's Bay Company2020-03-14

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    May 6, 2020

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts about the company!

  2. "Great people"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst 

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Worked as a team.

    Cons

    Trying to be buy more 'property' versus making what they had work.

    Hudson's Bay Company2020-06-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Tough to work at"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart people, decent discount to shop

    Cons

    Political, territorial, paying a new round of consultants each year

    Hudson's Bay Company2020-05-20
  4. "Past experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Construction Project Manager 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very busy at the time alot of work

    Cons

    projects were so busy it was hard for some to take time off our to project status

    Hudson's Bay Company2020-03-27

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    May 6, 2020

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts about your experience with HBC. We will be sharing your feedback with the appropriate leaders.

  5. "Discount is great, but at some cost"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hudson's Bay Company full-time

    Pros

    -The company discount is such a great and fun perk -It's a huge company so there is a lot to learn -Lots of history and there is definitely some pride for the different banners (Bay, Saks, etc.)

    Cons

    -The culture is not great. Lot's of people seem stuck in old habits -It can be difficult to communicate across departments -Roles change very often making career paths not clear -Not always the best work life balance

    Continue reading
    Hudson's Bay Company2020-03-19

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    May 6, 2020

    Thank you for bringing this concern to our attention. We encourage you to get in touch with your manager and/or your HR business partner to discuss this issue in more detail.

  6. "Protocol during Covid-19 unacceptable"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Digital Technician in New York, NY
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hudson's Bay Company

    Pros

    Great coworkers, flexible PTO, relaxed dress code

    Cons

    The studio environment has become increasingly hostile and employees are often overworked and grossly underpaid. This has become more frustrating through the protocol that HBC and Saks 5th Avenue has been enacting during the Covid-19 pandemic. We have been told that we are on the “front lines” and need to continue to keep production going even though this forces us to be in constant contact with large groups. Risking our health and that of the NYC population. The whole studio feels unsafe while the corporate office has been closed (again another instance that the corporate office is favorited over our studio) and executives are able to work from home.

    Continue reading
    Hudson's Bay Company2020-03-17

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    May 6, 2020

    Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We will be sharing your feedback with our leaders. We encourage you to also reach out to your HRBP to discuss this in more detail.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Management and cultural trends in general were shifting towards a legacy enterprise"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager in New York, NY
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company

    Pros

    - Casual dress code - unlimited PTO - flexible WFH

    Cons

    - shifting priorities per new leadership - lofty goals with inflexible delivery expectations - annual layoffs - top heavy management - rotational leadership - understaffed/overmanaged - poor medical coverage

    Continue reading
    Hudson's Bay Company2020-03-14

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    May 6, 2020

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We will be reviewing your feedback with the appropriate leadership team to better address these issues in the future.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Energetic and smart coworkers but bad management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing CoE in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great location, flexible PTO and work time, and coworkers are smart and energetic. Benefits are ok.

    Cons

    The company reconstructs a lot and lays off people brutally.

    Continue reading
    Hudson's Bay Company2020-03-11

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    March 25, 2020

    Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We will be sharing your feedback with our leaders.

  9. "Do not value employees"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wilkes-Barre, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hudson's Bay Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    HBC DC in Wilkes-Barre,Pa has a great location and the hours are pretty good.

    Cons

    If you are an hourly employee at HBC in Wilkes-Barre, PA you are truly just a number. No matter your years of employment, you are a number.

    Continue reading
    Hudson's Bay Company2020-03-28

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    May 6, 2020

    Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We will be sharing your feedback with our leaders. We encourage you to also reach out to your HRBP to discuss this in more detail.

  10. "Overworked, Underpaid, Poorly Managed and No Job Security"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company full-time

    Pros

    If you want to coast through life, you will undoubtedly enjoy the unlimited PTO, okayish discounts, sample sales (70% luxury brands) and a nice location

    Cons

    -Constantly changing managers who offer no professional support and treat you like their assistants -Zero training since day one -No promotion standard, favorites get promoted 5 months into a job and you might say in the same role for years -Procedures keep changing and you will only be rushing to catch up to what is the latest whim of the senior leadership

    Continue reading
    Hudson's Bay Company2020-03-26

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    May 6, 2020

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We will be reviewing your feedback with the appropriate leadership team to better address these issues in the future.

Found 1278 reviews