Hughes Network Systems MTS-2 Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Hughes Network Systems Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 243 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Hughes Network Systems CEO Pradman P. Kaul
Pradman P. Kaul
113 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent First Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) in Germantown, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay for the first internship Selective criteria are pretty mild Caring management, who are ready to help No micromanaging Interesting projects

    Cons

    No free food, or discounts at the cafeteria Depending on your office location, not much social interaction with anyone really At the times it can get boring, because all you do is read and learn something, which can also be a pros More events for the interns would also be nice

    Advice to Management

    None really, depending on the team it might vary. However, I really do love working with my supervisor and his team. He is one of the most intelligent people I've ever met in my whole life expirience. (Ganeshan R)

    Hughes Network Systems2018-07-26
  2. "Healthy Executive Management, work life balance, maturity, and team work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Management Specialist in Germantown, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Many self-performing teams, great management championing of ideas, great work life balance, sincere intentions across the board, and fun place to work.

    Cons

    Office space can use an upgrade

    Advice to Management

    Continue your awesomeness in balancing new ideas while celebrating the soft skills of seasoned employees.

    Hughes Network Systems2019-08-03
  3. "it is a good place to gain experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer in Germantown, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Global Business and diverse environment

    Cons

    Management styles some times are in conflict

    Hughes Network Systems2019-08-15
  4. "Family Oriented"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family oriented, smart people, interesting/cutting edge technology.

    Cons

    Missing ability to telework. Lacking of flexibility by upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Incorporate teleworking

    Hughes Network Systems2019-08-01
  5. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great place to work, successful company.

    Cons

    Not a lot of room for growth!

    Hughes Network Systems2019-08-12
  6. "MTS 3"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time

    Pros

    Good company for career begineers

    Cons

    Career growth can be challenging

    Hughes Network Systems2019-07-29
  7. "Terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SMT Technician 

    I worked at Hughes Network Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Work itself was pretty easy

    Cons

    Terrible management, a lot of downtime that's not your fault but they blame you anyway

    Advice to Management

    Get better

    Hughes Network Systems2019-08-12
  8. "You will solve tough problems but they may not be cutting edge."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fantastic people. Smart, empathetic and industrious.

    Cons

    High risk aversion. Incrementalist approach.

    Advice to Management

    Unlock greater potential of your people. Look for opportunities to use their strengths.

    Hughes Network Systems2019-07-21
  9. "Good place to start, but not to stay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Germantown, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work and personal life balance.

    Cons

    No growth in terms of salary/promotion. Depressing work culture.

    Hughes Network Systems2019-07-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Enjoyable Co-Workers but Mediocre Compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Germantown, MD

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Many good co-workers. I have a good work/life balance with my manager almost never asking me to work overtime (only twice in my five years) and always willing to let me take time off for a variety of reasons (even on short notice provided there isn't an important deadline coming up). Hughes provides the opportunity for engineers to either move into a management path or a technical expertise path, and both are... highly valued within the company. This decision is entirely up to the employee and you can dabble a bit in both before making it final. Was willing to work with me to increase my compensation package when I asked (I did have another offer in hand from another company that they beat).

    Show More

    Cons

    Compensation seems slightly lower compared to other companies in the area (I base this off of the reports of co-workers who have left Hughes). I know for a fact that Hughes doesn't take a government security clearance into account when calculating pay, so if you have a clearance, you can get better offers at other companies. Limited amount of leave (15 days for first 5 years, 20 for next 15, then 25, no sick... leave) "Flexible work hours" means you can arrive between 7:00 and 9:00 and leave 9 hours later (with one hour unpaid lunch) at your manager's discretion. There is no policy for working extra time for part of the pay period in order to take extra time off during the pay period. HR doesn't allow employees to input actual time worked, but requires that you put in 8 hours per day worked, even if you work 10 hours. You are also not allowed to put in hours for weekend work. Since there is no overtime pay for salaried employees, you aren't losing any compensation. However, Hughes is losing access to data that could be used to better plan deadlines. Outside of my sub-group, I know of at least a few teams that expect decently regular overtime work. Again, this is without compensation, or even records, so management cannot better plan future deadlines, which means that the next deadline will likely require overtime work as well. No telework option

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Allow employees to record the actual number of hours worked, at least so management can properly calculated man-hours needed for a project. Allow telework as an official option at manager discretion. Provide an alternative health care option with a lower deductible and lower out-of-pocket maximum. Provide better compensation package that is comparable to other companies in the area.

    Hughes Network Systems2019-06-21
Found 243 reviews