Hughes Network Systems Reviews | Glassdoor

Hughes Network Systems Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 239 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Hughes Network Systems CEO Pradman P. Kaul
Pradman P. Kaul
113 Ratings
  1. "Healthy Executive Management, work life balance, maturity, and team work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Management Specialist in Germantown, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Many self-performing teams, great management championing of ideas, great work life balance, sincere intentions across the board, and fun place to work.

    Cons

    Office space can use an upgrade

    Advice to Management

    Continue your awesomeness in balancing new ideas while celebrating the soft skills of seasoned employees.

    Hughes Network Systems2019-08-03
  2. "Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MTS3 in Germantown, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I like it. It's good. I hear complains in other departments, but in engineering people are not uptight and they let you work. I also feel like the company treats the employees fairly well, which is why you'll find people who have been here for a lot of years as well as young people planning to stay for a while

    Cons

    Not many cons to be honest

    Hughes Network Systems2018-11-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent First Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) in Germantown, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay for the first internship Selective criteria are pretty mild Caring management, who are ready to help No micromanaging Interesting projects

    Cons

    No free food, or discounts at the cafeteria Depending on your office location, not much social interaction with anyone really At the times it can get boring, because all you do is read and learn something, which can also be a pros More events for the interns would also be nice

    Advice to Management

    None really, depending on the team it might vary. However, I really do love working with my supervisor and his team. He is one of the most intelligent people I've ever met in my whole life expirience. (Ganeshan R)

    Hughes Network Systems2018-07-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good company, lots of tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Germantown, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hughes Network Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good variety of technology. Lots of opportunities for challenging work & growth. This company has survived through A Lot of challenges & keeps producing/surviving.

    Cons

    Your work/life balance varied greatly depending on which VP you were under/project you were on. Tool support for embedded SW was sub-par for most of my 20 years with them. Aside from grad school tuition help, the company was historically not good about promoting technical staff's technical development.

    Advice to Management

    Given the ups & downs this company has survived, I can't fault them for anything specifically at C-suite level. If I were still there as an embedded developer, I would like to see more tool support for debugging & analysis work.

    Hughes Network Systems2018-03-17
  5. "Cloud Software Developer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Hughes Network Systems

    Pros

    Nice coworkers, learn new things

    Cons

    communicating with offshore, variability in projects and assignments

    Hughes Network Systems2018-01-15
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Germantown, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hughes Network Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Workplace Environment, Access to training

    Cons

    System implementations take a long time.

    Advice to Management

    Regular department meetings are key to success.

    Hughes Network Systems2017-10-07
  7. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hughes Network Systems full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work. Great people.

    Cons

    None that come to mind. Good growth opportunities.

    Hughes Network Systems2017-10-06
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cutting edge of technology, flexible hours, very rewarding and respected.

    Cons

    Pay is not competitive enough.

    Advice to Management

    Raise payment

    Hughes Network Systems2017-06-21
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Germantown, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems

    Pros

    Good benefits, annual bonus, on site amenities such as a cafeteria, exercise and locker rooms, massage therapists, occupational nurse, ball field, tennis courts, exercise classes. Beautiful campus. Good commute location.

    Cons

    Everything was a bit better before Hughes was purchased by EchoStar. I really hope that Hughes continues to value their employees and their excellent work environment.

    Hughes Network Systems2017-04-23
  10. "Solid company for new hires"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Germantown, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time

    Pros

    Employee stock purchase plan, profit sharing, performance bonuses, company leagues, factory close by.

    Cons

    Strict rules in some cases, though probabaly necessary

    Advice to Management

    Be more open to changes to process, software, workflow

    Hughes Network Systems2017-02-27
Found 239 reviews