Hughes Network Systems Reviews | Glassdoor

Hughes Network Systems Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 243 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Hughes Network Systems CEO Pradman P. Kaul
Pradman P. Kaul
113 Ratings
  1. "Good company with too many internal politics and little flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Germantown, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company works on some really cool new age stuff and you will get to work on them if you are on the right team.

    Cons

    The HR policies are ancient wherein they would never allow work from home too.

    Continue reading
    Hughes Network Systems2019-03-28
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Got for starting the career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MTS2 in Germantown, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good HR, helpful hiring, can be better

    Cons

    No structure in the organization

    Continue reading
    Hughes Network Systems2019-01-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "General"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems

    Pros

    Longevity of employees Great people to work with

    Cons

    Longevity of employees challenges on opportunities

    Continue reading
    Hughes Network Systems2019-01-11
  4. "System Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Germantown, MD
    Recommends

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hugh Company, Nice Environment, Nice Canteen

    Cons

    Not satisfying work specially in artificial intelligence

    Hughes Network Systems2019-01-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "GOOD BUT OLD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
     

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems

    Pros

    Some senior employees are good

    Cons

    Other are very rude and not ready to change

    Continue reading
    Hughes Network Systems2019-01-14
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Needs Major Improvement All Around..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Germantown, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hughes Network Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Paid Training and on-site technical training.

    Cons

    Working here affected my life in a very negative way... constantly facing situations that I knew were neither professional or acceptable in a work environment. I am very happy to now be away from all of that... I can honestly say that this was the most hostile work environment I have ever worked in... I have witnessed multiple employees publicly belittled by senior management, with absolutely no consequence. There were also employees that moved up in the company quickly, even though they put their own teams through anguish, communicated with incompetency and seldom delivered on deadlines. Above all, I believe that I was overloaded with many projects and was expected to do 2 or 3 persons jobs, while only being acknowledged for a small portion of my work. The company also had a major issue with paying vendors on-time and left employees constantly on the front line to deal with very unhappy vendors, that screamed inefficiency and improper use of employees' time.

    Continue reading
    Hughes Network Systems2018-12-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MTS3 in Germantown, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I like it. It's good. I hear complains in other departments, but in engineering people are not uptight and they let you work. I also feel like the company treats the employees fairly well, which is why you'll find people who have been here for a lot of years as well as young people planning to stay for a while

    Cons

    Not many cons to be honest

    Hughes Network Systems2018-11-15
  8. "Good place to work with some issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Managers in my Area

    Cons

    No Telecommuting Low Side of Average Pay for the position

    Hughes Network Systems2018-11-14
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Lead Network Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time

    Pros

    Work environment is okay but not great

    Cons

    No progress in Technology and project, very poor health care plan

    Hughes Network Systems2018-10-24
  10. Helpful (6)

    "If They Made Some Changes, It Would Be Better...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Germantown, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company leads the way in Satellite, and supports innovation on some truly amazing platforms driving the telecom space towards the future...One-Web, Jupiter 2, Mobile Backhaul to name a few Decent offices, really friendly co-workers, and lots of on-site amenities Okay location for the area; right off the highway and plenty of downtown amenities Tech in-house is plentiful; laptop provided when you join, and more

    Cons

    Archaic internal growth layout, that does not properly support career expansion, or quality salary increases. The organization is top heavy with massive gaps in the middle, and no support to help younger engineers/employees grow from within. Very much tenured, but almost to the point where you feel management has lost touch with modern day work environments... Internal growth is supported laterally ONLY, which is a very odd policy to have, as I do not believe any other company I have worked at has had this policy in place (see not supportive of growth above). Internal promotion is slow, with the top heaviness of the organization pulling in most of the money, and I have seen multiple people leave on my team to at least get the "bump" in pay they deserve... Additionally, the organization is terrified to support remote work, flexibility for employees, or even a modern day PTO policy. The current PTO program for example only provides 3 weeks (including your sick leave), with minimal increases at 5 years, and then (absurdly) 20 years! Word of warning, the company also does not close during winter storms either...with an automated message that "offers you the option to use PTO if you do not feel safe to come in". Politics get in the way of just about everything, with a lot of closed door conversations across the board.

    Continue reading
    Hughes Network Systems2018-10-11
Found 243 reviews