Hughes Network Systems Reviews | Glassdoor

Hughes Network Systems Reviews

Updated Sep 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 242 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Hughes Network Systems CEO Pradman P. Kaul
Pradman P. Kaul
113 Ratings
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Needs Major Improvement All Around..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Germantown, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hughes Network Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Paid Training and on-site technical training.

    Cons

    Working here affected my life in a very negative way... constantly facing situations that I knew were neither professional or acceptable in a work environment. I am very happy to now be away from all of that... I can honestly say that this was the most hostile work environment I have ever worked in... I have witnessed multiple employees publicly belittled by senior management, with absolutely no consequence. There... were also employees that moved up in the company quickly, even though they put their own teams through anguish, communicated with incompetency and seldom delivered on deadlines. Above all, I believe that I was overloaded with many projects and was expected to do 2 or 3 persons jobs, while only being acknowledged for a small portion of my work. The company also had a major issue with paying vendors on-time and left employees constantly on the front line to deal with very unhappy vendors, that screamed inefficiency and improper use of employees' time.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    HR: value your employees more and have a response for anonymous company-wide surveys... Instead of leaving employees in the dark, with the feeling that their concerns fall on deaf ears. It became very apparent that senior management does not care about the people who have made Hughes a success, in the past.

    Hughes Network Systems2018-12-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MTS3 in Germantown, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I like it. It's good. I hear complains in other departments, but in engineering people are not uptight and they let you work. I also feel like the company treats the employees fairly well, which is why you'll find people who have been here for a lot of years as well as young people planning to stay for a while

    Cons

    Not many cons to be honest

    Hughes Network Systems2018-11-15
  3. "Good place to work with some issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Managers in my Area

    Cons

    No Telecommuting Low Side of Average Pay for the position

    Hughes Network Systems2018-11-14
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Lead Network Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time

    Pros

    Work environment is okay but not great

    Cons

    No progress in Technology and project, very poor health care plan

    Hughes Network Systems2018-10-24
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Engineers Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hughes Network Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    At Hughes, if you want to learn and grow, you will have the opportunities to do such. The great minds that founded this company refuse to leave or retire, so you have a lot of senior management who can offer insight into the history of the industry and how it is moving forward. You can also coast here in your career, if you don't want to challenge yourself and enjoy turning off your brain at work, this is the... place for you! Working a standard 9 hour day with a 1 hour lunch will be more than sufficient to never be fired, and no one ever has been fired over their performance either. Not even employees who don't complete their work can be fired, as they are so desperate for anyone who will do any amount of work. Tech here is so far behind that if you know how to change the IP address of you computer than you're a genius. Keep in mind this is a networking company. If you lack proper documentation skills, then this is the place for you. Once a document title is created and text is placed once, you are done and never have to look back.

    Show More

    Cons

    Most everything about working at Hughes can cause one to question why they even worked there. From day one you will notice how most everyone is either looking to leave or they have no option to look elsewhere due to the small job market for this type of work in suburban Maryland. Be careful in your interview, as most managers will lie to onboard you as fast as possible. There is a fire every day here, don't let... the current fire make you feel like you need to act immediately and onboard as fast as possible. I struggle to even call the benefits by that name. Health insurance here will only keep you from dying and it seems to get worse every year. Hughes cuts costs at every level so that the VPs and above can continue to pat their own backs, and if you know anything about GM style management from the early 2000s you know how many VPs a this company has. 401k match is standard. PTO allotment is standard but the execution is horrendous, as most employees have to use PTO just to balance their work hours within the week. The standard management practice is to only allow 8 hours of work each day and if you deviate you must use PTO. Working 10 hours one day and 6 hours the next is not allowed, as flex time is highly frowned upon. You can also only use PTO for week long vacations, or appending days to a weekend, otherwise management thinks you're lazy. Employee attrition under 5 years has been an issue for the past 20 years, so you have an enormous gap between the new recruits and management, many of whom have no clue how to manage millenials or operate within a modern working environment. Management thinks all millenials are lazy, but in reality we are one of the most efficient generations ever, and efficiency is not prized here. The "Fraternity Hazing" style of career growth is strong within this company, you put in your time and you go through the struggles everyone else did and you will inevitably reach management in 15-20 years. This leads to management who were the worst of the crop, having no clue how to lead, and had no ability to move to another job, leaving them to moving up the ranks. Everything here is meant to framed such that you are a "team player", this is used to make employees feel bad if they complain about their work, even if they want to help fix the issue. If you have any sort of critical thinking skills, throw it out the window now, as they will not be prized, acknowledged, or accepted here, as management has made up it's mind by the time they ask you anything. Every manager in the middle is also powerless, leading many to question their roles, as even $1200 will need to be signed by your boss's boss's boss. Management here is designed to manipulate you, they don't practice business externally between customers and vendors, they practice it internally between employees and various other segments of the company. If you are familiar with the divide and conquer scheme of ruling a populace then you know exactly how internal politics are handled here. If you like new technology, look away from here. An engineer having a laptop is the exception to the rule, while the standard is a desktop, even when you travel between your office, coworkers offices, the lab, meetings, and reviews. If you've ever been in a design review where only the person presenting has a laptop, then you know the pain of working here. Most departments have a communal laptop that is often fought over. Lab equipment is older than most of the college recruits, some equipment too old to even have a floppy disk drive so you can transfer data. If you can manage to put up with everything above, expect low pay clocked at the 25th percentile in terms of market value, and yearly raises that will be less than inflation unless you fight back. In a region as expensive as DC, and a company as demanding as this, you think they would pay better. If you're a talented engineer, expect to have to control the worker drones from day one, you will be a manager not by title, but by how you must complete you job effectively.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Admit your faults and correct them, it seems everyone just turns a blind eye. Upper management assumes lower management will solve the issues, and vice versa. In 10 years from now, I believe this company will have either outsourced all of it's engineering or will still have the tenured pros that joined in the 70s/80s putting out most of the work still. This is not a place to grow, you need to make sure people either... get training, decent pay, or are in some other way rewarded for their contributions. If every bonus and raise is mandated by time alone, then employees are not challenged appropriately. The employee base is crumbling, as the key players are retiring and you don't offer any reason for good young talent to stay, please admit that so everyone can move forward.

    Show More
    Hughes Network Systems2018-10-13
  6. Helpful (6)

    "If They Made Some Changes, It Would Be Better...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Germantown, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company leads the way in Satellite, and supports innovation on some truly amazing platforms driving the telecom space towards the future...One-Web, Jupiter 2, Mobile Backhaul to name a few Decent offices, really friendly co-workers, and lots of on-site amenities Okay location for the area; right off the highway and plenty of downtown amenities Tech in-house is plentiful; laptop provided when you join, and... more

    Show More

    Cons

    Archaic internal growth layout, that does not properly support career expansion, or quality salary increases. The organization is top heavy with massive gaps in the middle, and no support to help younger engineers/employees grow from within. Very much tenured, but almost to the point where you feel management has lost touch with modern day work environments... Internal growth is supported laterally ONLY, which is... a very odd policy to have, as I do not believe any other company I have worked at has had this policy in place (see not supportive of growth above). Internal promotion is slow, with the top heaviness of the organization pulling in most of the money, and I have seen multiple people leave on my team to at least get the "bump" in pay they deserve... Additionally, the organization is terrified to support remote work, flexibility for employees, or even a modern day PTO policy. The current PTO program for example only provides 3 weeks (including your sick leave), with minimal increases at 5 years, and then (absurdly) 20 years! Word of warning, the company also does not close during winter storms either...with an automated message that "offers you the option to use PTO if you do not feel safe to come in". Politics get in the way of just about everything, with a lot of closed door conversations across the board.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Really consider if you want to be a technology player in the modern future. Look at your company policies in place, support internal growth, and lighten up a bit on the stringent factors around flexibility being the devil. I have lost 3 colleagues in this year alone to better paying salaries, remote work, and companies that support them internally. I think I speak for most that have a good view of Hughes, but really... think you need to consider changing a few things to bring us forward to modern day (I am tired of losing colleagues due to compensation or better benefits).

    Show More
    Hughes Network Systems2018-10-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Order Admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time

    Pros

    Very mild company environment Flexible schedules

    Cons

    Cubicle setting Less growth in company Health insurance

    Hughes Network Systems2018-09-22
  8. "Good to start your career. Lot of learning opportunities."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Engineer in Germantown, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lot of good college crowd and some of them in the upper management are really good and get the best out of their employees.

    Cons

    Work life balance sucks as we are always understaffed due to high attrition rate.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees what they deserve so that you can retain them.

    Hughes Network Systems2018-09-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Just Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MTS-2 in Germantown, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance (depending on department) Lots of opportunities for younger employees Decent Salary & ESPP Intelligent, friendly coworkers (again, depending on the department) Flu Shots/Wellness Screenings free every year

    Cons

    401k is just okay PTO is odd, jumps from 3 weeks to 4 weeks at year 5 but doesn't jump again until year 19.... Keep bad employees around far too long Odd promotions, certain people seem to be overpromoted A LOT of politics, seems like every "team" is working for themselves and not the overall good of the company "Flexible Hours" feel more like slave labor--won't let you leave for a doctors appointment (even on... salary) but will make you stay late 3+ hours if the work requires it

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to your employees and recognize real talent Catch up to the rest of the world with PTO--not everyone stays at companies for 20+ years anymore Be more flexible with hours--the only concern should be that goals are met--People will work harder. Get rid of terrible, lazy employees and promote hard working employees

    Hughes Network Systems2018-08-30
  10. "Monolith of a company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Member of Technical Staff II in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems for more than a year

    Pros

    Very smart coworkers. Work on software that is used worldwide and has great potential.

    Cons

    Unit testing is not complete for all projects, change is extremely slow to come if at all, and internal tools/software is outdated.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate better, be open to newer/improved ideas, and care for those working beneath you.

    Hughes Network Systems2018-08-29
Found 242 reviews