Hughes Network Systems "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Hughes Network Systems Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 243 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Hughes Network Systems CEO Pradman P. Kaul
Pradman P. Kaul
113 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very smart and talented people - Management is open and promotes positive work-life balance(in 26 reviews)

  • "Work environment is okay but not great(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "constantly facing situations that I knew were neither professional or acceptable in a work environment(in 14 reviews)

  • "Waayyyy too top heavy in management(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Not a happy work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - S/W Developer in Germantown, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company does provides stability

    Cons

    The work environment is not productive, work-life balance is disrupted with lot of overtime depending of the team you would work for. Micro Management can be expected .Development environment is not great. Benefits are not that great, fewer PTOs and no WFH option.

    Continue reading
    Hughes Network Systems2019-06-05
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Needs Major Improvement All Around..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Germantown, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hughes Network Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Paid Training and on-site technical training.

    Cons

    Working here affected my life in a very negative way... constantly facing situations that I knew were neither professional or acceptable in a work environment. I am very happy to now be away from all of that... I can honestly say that this was the most hostile work environment I have ever worked in... I have witnessed multiple employees publicly belittled by senior management, with absolutely no consequence. There were also employees that moved up in the company quickly, even though they put their own teams through anguish, communicated with incompetency and seldom delivered on deadlines. Above all, I believe that I was overloaded with many projects and was expected to do 2 or 3 persons jobs, while only being acknowledged for a small portion of my work. The company also had a major issue with paying vendors on-time and left employees constantly on the front line to deal with very unhappy vendors, that screamed inefficiency and improper use of employees' time.

    Continue reading
    Hughes Network Systems2018-12-13
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Lead Network Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time

    Pros

    Work environment is okay but not great

    Cons

    No progress in Technology and project, very poor health care plan

    Hughes Network Systems2018-10-24
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Bad place to work - a sweatshop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member of Technical Staff II -software in Gaithersburg, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Nothing really good about this company

    Cons

    - Bad management - HR is the worst i have seen so far - Lot of managers i have seen have no managerial skills so far - Hostile work environment - Many managers micro-manage - No concern towards employees - bad benefits - low pay

    Continue reading
    Hughes Network Systems2018-03-08
  5. "HNS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time

    Pros

    Hi-tech feel. Relatively stable work environment.

    Cons

    Stagnant promotion path, especially for engineers. Salary scale lags behind competitors.

    Continue reading
    Hughes Network Systems2017-07-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Financial Analyst in Germantown, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems

    Pros

    Good benefits, annual bonus, on site amenities such as a cafeteria, exercise and locker rooms, massage therapists, occupational nurse, ball field, tennis courts, exercise classes. Beautiful campus. Good commute location.

    Cons

    Everything was a bit better before Hughes was purchased by EchoStar. I really hope that Hughes continues to value their employees and their excellent work environment.

    Hughes Network Systems2017-04-23
  7. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hughes Network Systems full-time

    Pros

    They have the talent, expertise, good work environment, involve employees in various fitness activities

    Cons

    no telecommute. period. need better health benefits

    Hughes Network Systems2017-04-11
  8. "Applications Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Stable company - Job security - Good at what they do, Satellite Technology

    Cons

    - Very formal work environment, workaholic, no fun, very stressful and depressing, not at all cheerful or motivating like any other big companies - Poor employee value - HRs are rude and not very supportive in case of any incidence.

    Continue reading
    Hughes Network Systems2017-04-24
  9. "Solid company for college graduates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Germantown, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most employees share an office with another so there is some level of privacy at Hughes, not like startup employees sitting in cubicles back to back; benefits are fair; work environment is extremely diverse and coworkers are helpful in general.

    Cons

    It is a big corporation so there is a complex department structure and sometimes it can be hard to get things done.

    Hughes Network Systems2017-03-08
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Good for entry level engineers but dont plan on sticking around too long if u have a family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Germantown, MD
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Hughes Network Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Laid back work environment 2. salary so-so 3. good for beginners

    Cons

    1. too old fashioned, dependent on documentation/work that was done 10-20 years ago 2. new ideas are not always encouraged 3. disorganized 4. sub-continent style work culture, you will feel like you work in a government office in india 5. no work from home, no flexibility, you have to maintain the work hours, your work doesn't matter, but if u are just sitting there all day chatting and FBing, that's ok 6. Horrible health benefits, tiny gym 7. Not enough opportunities for learning

    Continue reading
    Hughes Network Systems2016-04-06
Found 243 reviews