Huitt-Zollars Reviews | Glassdoor

Huitt-Zollars Reviews

Updated May 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Robert L. Zollars
15 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Location and Decent Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Civil EIT in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huitt-Zollars full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with, many opportunities in different sectors if you want to learn different tools, decent health benefits.

    Cons

    Depending on which sector you might have a lot of projects to juggle when some groups don’t have as many, so it can cause a difficult work/life balance. But not all groups are like that.

    Huitt-Zollars2019-05-14
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Surveyor in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huitt-Zollars full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive wage. Competitive benefits. ESOP program. Great Core Values. Laid back work environment. Great atmosphere. Will reimburse for any higher education pursued once course/class is proven to be passed.

    Cons

    Yet to find any. So I’m going to ramble so that I can reach this twenty word minimum. Keep it up!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work.

    Huitt-Zollars2018-02-23
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Positive work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer-In-Training in El Paso, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huitt-Zollars full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Overall, staff and coworkers are very easy to work with and knowledgable in their respective fields. Project managers provide ample opportunities for training and work experience. Salary and benefits are also competitive.

    Cons

    Obtaining training and professional development can be difficult, but not impossible. IT and computer issues can be a hassle at times.

    Advice to Management

    Never neglect employee development and always encourage EIT's to be involved in all levels of projects.

    Huitt-Zollars2017-11-05
  4. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Civil Engineer in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huitt-Zollars full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fair, integrity, opportunity to grow, you have the ability to go as far as you want to go. Great signature projects.

    Cons

    Typical engineering company, work flow can ebb and flow .

    Huitt-Zollars2017-06-27
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Huitt-Zollars full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Best company i have worked with

    Cons

    none that i can think of

    Huitt-Zollars2016-05-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer In Training in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Huitt-Zollars full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management and coworkers are very nice and knowledgeable. Pays well along with full benefits from the first day.

    Cons

    Training style is learn as you go and somewhat of a throw in the lions den style. Everyone is more than willing to help but sometimes its tough when everyone has so much work to do. Not really much of a con but some weekends are worked. It was more choice and overtime is paid. Seems like overtime is a common thing in this industry.

    Advice to Management

    Offer more training towards common practice in the industry. Give more feedback towards performance.

    Huitt-Zollars2016-01-26
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Thoughts after almost one year of employment...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President, Human Resources in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huitt-Zollars

    Pros

    Excellent company with great benefits. HZ prides itself on quality engineering and architectural work and has some great engineers and architects to lead our efforts. Cannot go wrong by joining this team. There is room for growth and we operate in 19 different locations in 8 different states.

    Cons

    We could probably work more diligently to keep up with some technological advances.

    Advice to Management

    Keep mentoring our new hires well so that they are ready for that next step in their career!

    Huitt-Zollars2015-08-13
  8. "No complaints"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Plumbing Designer in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Huitt-Zollars full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people i worked with

    Cons

    I won't say anything negative about this company

    Advice to Management

    Thanks for the memories

    Huitt-Zollars2019-04-12
  9. "Great Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Project Manager in El Paso, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Huitt-Zollars full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers Good Pay Life and work balance P.T.O.

    Cons

    Not many I can think of

    Huitt-Zollars2019-02-08
  10. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transportation Engineer in Rowlett, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huitt-Zollars full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work environment, relaxed environment, opportunity to work on large scale known projects

    Cons

    Lack of structure thoughtout the organiznation, QC process is generally an afterthought, no work plan or communication between groups,

    Advice to Management

    There should be at least some sort of employee performance review

    Huitt-Zollars2016-02-04
Found 28 reviews