Huitt-Zollars Reviews | Glassdoor

Huitt-Zollars Reviews

Updated May 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Robert L. Zollars
15 Ratings
  1. "WORST COMPANY AND WORK CULTURE EVER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Accountant in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Huitt-Zollars full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I met some people that were good workers.

    Cons

    Where do I start. They will talk to you in a very rude manner. They expect you to learn the work yourself without proper training if you’re new. The management wants you to fear them. Pay and benefits are below average. Management is very UNPROFESSIONAL.

    Advice to Management

    Learn better management skills.

    Huitt-Zollars2019-05-23
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Location and Decent Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Civil EIT in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huitt-Zollars full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with, many opportunities in different sectors if you want to learn different tools, decent health benefits.

    Cons

    Depending on which sector you might have a lot of projects to juggle when some groups don’t have as many, so it can cause a difficult work/life balance. But not all groups are like that.

    Huitt-Zollars2019-05-14
  3. "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Architectural Designer in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Huitt-Zollars full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Competitive salaries Industry standard benefits Good location No too much to say

    Cons

    Where to begin management, management and 1000 times management.... in paper the company seems like dream job with exciting projects, although once hired reality hit hard, managers specially are the worst part, hire practices of of offering false pretenses and empty promises, certain VPs should not be allowed to manage teams, some of them are extremely abusive, disorganized , bullys and rude, that quickly turn in the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Need serious and urgent attention, get ridge of abusive and bad managers and VPs... The company feels as if is about to go out of business, engineers need to keep their hands of architectural practice they are ruining the company, make sure everybody have the same set of rules and responsibilities, more communication.

    Huitt-Zollars2019-05-01
  4. "No complaints"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Plumbing Designer in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Huitt-Zollars full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people i worked with

    Cons

    I won't say anything negative about this company

    Advice to Management

    Thanks for the memories

    Huitt-Zollars2019-04-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architectural Designer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Huitt-Zollars full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great People to work with

    Cons

    very corporate in their infrastructure

    Advice to Management

    Overall great place to work

    Huitt-Zollars2019-04-02
  6. "Great Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Project Manager in El Paso, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Huitt-Zollars full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers Good Pay Life and work balance P.T.O.

    Cons

    Not many I can think of

    Huitt-Zollars2019-02-08
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Huitt-Zollars full-time

    Pros

    The company is great with benefits and compensation. The company understands that life comes first and some things you cannot help, however, do not abuse this.

    Cons

    Issues with employees and management. Seems that if you work hard, you get your hand swatted more, while brown-nosing and slacking off keeps you in the green.

    Advice to Management

    Stop taking "teacher pets" and treat all employees equally. Do your own investigations rather than listening to biased complaints. If you punish one employee for one thing and do not punish another for the exact same thing, how does that make you look?

    Huitt-Zollars2018-08-10
  8. "Good company to start with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I have been working at Huitt-Zollars full-time

      Pros

      - Uptown Dallas location - Open work space - Nice office on 2 floors - Lots of learning!

      Cons

      - Not much room for advancement - Strict hours (8:30-5:30)

      Huitt-Zollars2018-08-09
    • "Awful Management-Orlando"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Landscape Designer in Orlando, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Huitt-Zollars full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great office hours, we had half days on Friday. Mid level and entry level employees created a positive culture. Keep these people around they are the bases for your company being what it is. Lunch and learns were held almost weekly, great way to learn about new technologies in the field.

      Cons

      Oh where do I begin. The management, the management, the management. This will be the downfall of this company. My boss was quite possibly the worst supervisor and vice president I have ever worked for. He lacked the comprehension to communicate with his one employee to the point where we had two negative interactions within my first 90 days. He stated he wanted to teach, but couldn't even communicate effectively to attempt...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Never hire people when you do not have the work in place to sustain them for longer than 4 months, it looks bad on your part. Oh and never allow for anyone to work for Vice Presidents who have worked alone for longer than 6 months to hire people, they should only work alone.

      Huitt-Zollars2018-04-23
    • "Great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Surveyor in Dallas, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Huitt-Zollars full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Competitive wage. Competitive benefits. ESOP program. Great Core Values. Laid back work environment. Great atmosphere. Will reimburse for any higher education pursued once course/class is proven to be passed.

      Cons

      Yet to find any. So I’m going to ramble so that I can reach this twenty word minimum. Keep it up!

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the great work.

      Huitt-Zollars2018-02-23
    Found 28 reviews