KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
Is this your company?

Hulu

Add a Review

Hulu Employee Reviews about "growing pains"

Updated Dec 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 of over 653 reviews

4.0
73%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Hulu President Kelly Campbell
Kelly Campbell
88 Ratings
Pros
  • "fun work, good work/life balance(in 35 reviews)

  • "Good work environment and good pay(in 34 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Still working through some start up -> small company -> large company growing pains, but generally heading in a direction I like(in 21 reviews)

  • "work life balance only for leadership(in 20 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Hulu and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "growing pains"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Hulu - A great place to work!!

      May 1, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people, their dedication, their positive and don't-take-yourself-too-seriously attitudes are what make Hulu a great place to work. Everyone seems as passionate as I am for the streaming video space. We love content and we love crafting a great experience to watch through. When we're making hard decisions, trying to ship against a tight deadline, it's refreshing to be around folks that can de-stress, put into perspective how our decisions will impact millions of viewers, and stay positive. In other companies, times like this turn into b**** sessions. Managers care about their team members and regularly discuss growth opportunities and career progression. We meet monthly as an organization and routinely touch on how the company is progressing on employee satisfaction initiatives - the transparency and focus is refreshing. This is not new behavior, but part of a pattern of high visibility and transparency between the various layers of management. The tech is cutting edge and we're always pushing to build an experience that differentiates us from the competition, yet still delights. We get to ship on so many different platforms, that it keeps us on our toes - the job continually refreshing.

      Cons

      We've been growing very rapidly the last couple of years, so there are some growing pains in how we effectively communicate across much larger groups as our processes, originally intended for a smaller company, show stress fractures. The positive side is this is acknowledged and folks are rallying to shore up processes to resolve some of the friction points. The impact is sometimes we're not all running in sequence, which makes shipping a very complicated experience and set of technologies challenging.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Once a great company but now tarnished with politics and toxic managers

      Dec 17, 2019 - Marketing 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Used to be fun, collaborative, "flat" org, work/life balance

      Cons

      Gotten overly political. A lot of leveling without any clear lines of communication or processes. Forget about trying to make any changes on the product and marketing side. Decisions are made regardless of what the data and research say. Projects take forever with so many decision makers. Going through a lot of growing pains, which includes promoted unqualified employees as managers. Doesn't care about Hulugans, care more about the company itself. More and more corporate everyday with Disney taking over and the CEO is not inspiring or motivating like past CEO's. Probably going to only get more corporate and political with Disney being more and more involved.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing culture

      Jul 9, 2019 - Manager in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company-wide activities and sponsored events, startup-like environment and energy in certain areas of the office, plenty of project opportunities to collaborate outside of your group.

      Cons

      Growing pains, unclear direction at times given Hulu's ownership structure.

      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      One Team

      Feb 18, 2019 - Software Developer in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great open One Team culture across the company.

      Cons

      Still working through some start up -> small company -> large company growing pains, but generally heading in a direction I like.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Best Place I've Ever Worked

      Jun 28, 2016 - Marketing in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I come to Hulu every day excited to work on amazing projects with talented, smart and just plain fun to be around people. I find myself constantly grateful for the opportunity to be part of a team -- and this is coming from someone who is honestly, not that big of a team player, naturally. It's an exciting and dynamic place that truly cares about its employees, cares about company culture and transparency and is at the helm of some terribly innovative things. I can't recommend it enough.

      Cons

      But oh boy are we bad at process and hemmed in by "collaboration." I think a lot of this is growing pains, but the fact we spend so much time on how we are doing things, rather than what we are doing is a drawback that slows us down in a very competitive industry. The company knows this is a problem and is very candid about addressing ways to improve it. Also, within my division, the salaries are really below market. If I were to leave, it'd be for that reason alone.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Was once a great company to work for...

      Dec 8, 2014 - Customer Support Advocate in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome Benefits, Great Events and Parties, Selective Hiring, Great People, Even Great Managers.

      Cons

      Hulu is currently going through a lot change with a lot of growing pains and a lot of great were people lost because of it. Midway through my career there were no spots on the floor (where about 120 sat), when I left it was like a ghost town (20, maybe 25 seats were filled at best). The employees do their best to keep their spirits up, managers are constantly giving bad news and are expected to keep morale high, the change in culture has resulted in high turnover and low morale. It no longer matters who your are as a person but how good your numbers are. Numbers determine if you can spend holidays with your family, if you'll have a decent day off. A Holiday falls on your day off? Don't worry, the metrics team will give your day off to someone who deserves it more and schedule your day off another day.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Incredible

      Aug 26, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Where to even start! Hulu is a great product and there's definitely a lot of pride that comes with working for such an amazing tech company, however, the best part about Hulu is the culture. Hulu is an open forum. No matter what level you're at you're encouraged to contribute to the conversation. All ideas are valued at Hulu, no matter what position you're in. It's also easy to tell that Hulu cares about its employees. This comes across in several different ways - benefit packages, be well, training, team events, etc. Hulu promotes a work hard play hard environment - while Hulugans work extremely hard and are results driven, they are also encouraged to have fun. Hulu really is a dream come true!

      Cons

      Hulu is growing so quickly and with that there are definitely some growing pains. Things change day so sometimes it can be a little confusing, however, management does a great job of communicating any changes.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Ambitious work and fun team

      Oct 24, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - smart, passionate, mission-oriented team members, who really do want to change TV - Interesting work, never a dull moment - really exciting to be a part of such growth - incredible culture/ perks/ benefits

      Cons

      - has not nailed down work/life balance yet... comes along with some growing pains - sometimes it feels we're too restrained by old media traditions/practices - competitive industry isn't for everyone, turn around has been incredible to be a part of but will be tough to keep going

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company To Work For

      Feb 18, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I really enjoyed my 3+ years at Hulu. It was an excellent company to work for, which really treated it's employees well. The company focuses on innovation and customer satisfaction. The company has high integrity and was a very fun, high energy place of work.

      Cons

      After the departure of senior leadership, back-filling of positions made it a little chaotic at times. The normal growing pains of a start-up, but the good certainly outweighs the bad here.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Rollercoster

      Sep 28, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hulu is growing really fast and building the future of TV, this is both exciting and scary because there is not blue print on what is the right thing to do. This is a great opportunity to impact millions of viewer and an entire industry.

      Cons

      Like all companies growing fast, we have our share of growing pains. Finding the right balance between the speed of a startup and the maturity of a larger company requires regular adjustments

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Hulu Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Hulu? Share Your Experiences

    or