Hulu "growing pains" Reviews | Glassdoor

Hulu Employee Reviews about "growing pains"

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
73%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Hulu CEO Randy Freer
Randy Freer
64 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Still working through some start up -> small company -> large company growing pains, but generally heading in a direction I like(in 22 reviews)

  • "work life balance only for leadership(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "growing pains"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Hulu - A great place to work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hulu full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people, their dedication, their positive and don't-take-yourself-too-seriously attitudes are what make Hulu a great place to work. Everyone seems as passionate as I am for the streaming video space. We love content and we love crafting a great experience to watch through. When we're making hard decisions, trying to ship against a tight deadline, it's refreshing to be around folks that can de-stress, put into... perspective how our decisions will impact millions of viewers, and stay positive. In other companies, times like this turn into b**** sessions. Managers care about their team members and regularly discuss growth opportunities and career progression. We meet monthly as an organization and routinely touch on how the company is progressing on employee satisfaction initiatives - the transparency and focus is refreshing. This is not new behavior, but part of a pattern of high visibility and transparency between the various layers of management. The tech is cutting edge and we're always pushing to build an experience that differentiates us from the competition, yet still delights. We get to ship on so many different platforms, that it keeps us on our toes - the job continually refreshing.

    Show More

    Cons

    We've been growing very rapidly the last couple of years, so there are some growing pains in how we effectively communicate across much larger groups as our processes, originally intended for a smaller company, show stress fractures. The positive side is this is acknowledged and folks are rallying to shore up processes to resolve some of the friction points. The impact is sometimes we're not all running in sequence,... which makes shipping a very complicated experience and set of technologies challenging.

    Show More
    Hulu2019-05-01
  2. "Great company, but not meant for people who enjoy consistency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Viewer Experience Advocate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hulu full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Compensation, benefits, culture, and work environment are all healthy, respected and fun to partake in

    Cons

    Constant growing pains at Hulu sometimes make it seem like the changing standards are not reflecting the reality of what's happening on the floor.

    Hulu2019-10-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hulu full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company-wide activities and sponsored events, startup-like environment and energy in certain areas of the office, plenty of project opportunities to collaborate outside of your group.

    Cons

    Growing pains, unclear direction at times given Hulu's ownership structure.

    Hulu2019-07-10
  4. Helpful (1)

    "One Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hulu full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great open One Team culture across the company.

    Cons

    Still working through some start up -> small company -> large company growing pains, but generally heading in a direction I like.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the openness and cross-org communication going strong. And also please get us more parking!

    Hulu2019-02-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Senior manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hulu full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great CEO. Fun working environment and culture. Recent Emmy wins and the current state of streaming video makes this a pivotal time to be at Hulu. The company is poised to really take off. Happy I made the choice to join.

    Cons

    Some department territoriality. The company has dramatically grown in the last two years so there have been a few growing pains, but not too many.

    Hulu2017-10-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Environment, Creative and Intelligent Talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hulu full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Creative Minds - One Team Mentality - Culture is a top priority and a main focus from the start of recruiting process all the way up to leadership development work for our executives. - Benefits and perks

    Cons

    - Growing pains - Disconnect between business and tech teams

    Advice to Management

    As we've scaled so quickly don't lose sight of optimizing efficiency

    Hulu2017-10-05
  7. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hulu

    Pros

    Fun Environment, Skilled Managers, Transparency, Great C Level Team

    Cons

    Young Employees, Growing Pains, Not Public/No Stock Options

    Hulu2017-03-19
  8. Helpful (3)

    "It's great to be a Hulugan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hulu full-time

    Pros

    -Work/Life balance -Company Transparency -Ability to work WITH your leads and managers not just for them

    Cons

    -Just a few growing pains but its also exciting to help have such an impact

    Advice to Management

    Continue to grow and push innovation, without losing our culture.

    Hulu2016-12-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great company and fun team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hulu full-time

    Pros

    Great company focusing on revolutionizing entertainment

    Cons

    Going through growing pains as the company has scaled quickly

    Hulu2016-11-14
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Ambitious work and fun team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hulu full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - smart, passionate, mission-oriented team members, who really do want to change TV - Interesting work, never a dull moment - really exciting to be a part of such growth - incredible culture/ perks/ benefits

    Cons

    - has not nailed down work/life balance yet... comes along with some growing pains - sometimes it feels we're too restrained by old media traditions/practices - competitive industry isn't for everyone, turn around has been incredible to be a part of but will be tough to keep going

    Advice to Management

    - stay focused on providing vision and living up to our values; the attention has been neccesary and helpful

    Hulu2016-10-24
Found 22 reviews
</>Embed