Humana Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor

Humana Specialist Reviews

Updated Jan 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
48%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Humana President and CEO Bruce  D. Broussard
Bruce D. Broussard
103 Ratings
  1. "Hcpr quality auditor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Specialist in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Humana full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from home opportunities, good benefits, overtime pay, good team spirit.

    Cons

    Mandatory overtime can be a bit much to deal with

    Humana2019-08-20
  2. "Grueling work after 3 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Hardware Specialist in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Humana full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The other employees are great and they do little things like bring around treats to try and keep up moral. It pays the bills and the first year wasn't so bad.

    Cons

    The work is terrible and grueling. After several years I am miserable and would do anything to get out. There is no advancing in position/pay. You are a working bee with no momentum. I get yelled at a lot by people on the phone when I'm doing everything I can to help.

    Humana2020-01-16
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "High Turn over rate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Billing Specialist in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Humana full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is wonderful and the perks are endless

    Cons

    EVERYTHING ELSE, they structure the company to where you basically live there.

    Advice to Management

    Rehire a whole new management team on the 3rd, 4th, and 5th floors.

    Humana2020-01-24
  5. "Grievance and Appeals Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Grievance and Appeals Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Humana full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very Flexible Schedule Work from home

    Cons

    Mandatory Overtime during peak season

    Humana2019-11-18
  6. "Humana, Inc."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Billing Specialist in Roswell, GA

    I have been working at Humana full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to work to support and listen to Customer in the health journey.

    Cons

    Great place to learn to support and listen to Customer.

    Humana2019-11-10
  7. "Claims"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Work Content Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Humana full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility to work at home, quarterly bonuses based on work performance, flex schedule

    Cons

    Unable to advance unless your a "favorite", don't receive annual raises consistently

    Advice to Management

    Not everyone is meant to be in leadership roles. Good employees don't just leave its the faulty managing that drives them away

    Humana2019-10-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Nice place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Billing Specialist in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Humana full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work from home is a good perk

    Cons

    Micromanaging and constant changing QA standards per team.

    Humana2019-10-11
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Unreasonable write ups. Actually fired due to outsourcing and/or budget cuts."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Grievance and Appeals Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Humana full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay. Work from home. Flex schedule.

    Cons

    There is no benefit to working hard. Promotions are not based on performance. Mass hiring and mass layoffs are a yearly occurrence. Organizational structure is in constant flux resulting in a workforce who barely knows who they report to. Fired on 7 year anniversary. This happened literally 30 minutes after a department meeting where it as announced that 40 new associates in Puerto Rico will be hired on. Termination reasons were true at surface level, but dont tell the full story. Fired for: -Not responding to an email within 24 hours. Which email? one of the 15 sent daily of which it is unclear whether or not a response is required? -Missed production this month. First time in 7 years missing production. Production was only missed because I was working right from a work list provided by management. In fact, this was the first month I said to heck with my own way or doing things and worked strictly from the list they provided. -Idle time too high. I do agree idle time is high, but no matter how consistently work is getting done idle time is always over their expectation. The idle time counter is ill understood by management and is micromanagement at its finest. How can idle time be 3 hours a day, yet production goals are far exceeded? Hours worked are more important than work done. -Case out of compliance. An aged case was found nearing the compliance deadline. Email was sent to management about said case. Management said they would take care of it. This was all documented via email. Case was not taken care of by management. The case eventually aged out of compliance and resulted in a write up. After 7 years of service and never missing a performance bonus or a day of work, there was no acknowledgement of the good. Only mention of the final month where new systems are creating chaos within the department and mistakes were being made.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Cut it with the reports and the reports of reports. Cut it with the EXTREME micromanagement. If the work is getting done and is satisfactory, then do not hound associates with emails and report requests. -Drop it with the idle time metric. Its a joke. If you hire the right workers and train them appropriately, then the only metrics that should matter are production and quality. -Do not create opportunities to write associates up just so you can fire them without a compensation package. -Do not release new software that is not ready for service and expect associates to maintain performance. -Your workforce is going to diminish in quality and reliability as you continue to micromanage, squeeze pennies and drive your top associates to work for the other team.

    Show More
    Humana2019-09-17
  10. "Good learning, competitive environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Market Specialist in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Humana full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    HUMANA offered me the opportunity to learn more about the insurance business specifically the medicare industry. I was part of a team of positive hard working people and we worked well together for the most part.

    Cons

    Communication did not flow well down to our area and when the company sold part of its medical centers we were laid off without much of a plan in place for next steps.

    Advice to Management

    It's important to treat your employees with genuine care so they continuously want to give back to you. Communications is key and you have a lot of area for improvement in this area.

    Humana2019-08-27
  11. Helpful (1)

    "Present Day Plantation position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enrollment Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Humana full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    If you don't have a life...the hours

    Cons

    Every person in HR and management positions

    Advice to Management

    Do Better... Grown people NOT your children to dictate to and threaten punishment

    Humana2019-09-03
Found 210 reviews